Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf

    Average Rating:

    1,062 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 1,062

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2014

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      Best. Meatloaf. Ever. I've always wished i could really love meatloaf since it was so easy to make. It would turn out 'just ok'. I will definitely be putting this into the weekly rotation.<br/>I had to make one substitution because I didn't have any bread...i used a little bit of boxed cornbread stuffing that we already had on hand. I also grilled the onions. I'm a big believer that grilled onions will improve everything :) <br/>I don't know if it made any difference in the final product, but i mixed everything together and put it in the loaf pan the day before so I could just throw it into the oven the next day for dinner when I got home from work. <br/>I really was the best meatloaf we ever had!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2014

      I am not much of a meatloaf eater, but decided to try this recipe. It was FANTASTIC. Was a little Leary about using apple cider vinegar, great results. The only thing I added was some grated carrots. I like the crunchiness and health benefits of carrots. OUTSTANDING recipe and would definitely make it again. As I said, I was never much of a meatloaf eater, my mom made the worst awful meatloaf you could imagine, so I never ate it as an adult.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2014

      well, my local grocer did not happen to have any 'country bouquet', so I just picked up a small packet of meatloaf seasoning and added a couple teaspoon of that instead. I also put 2 strips of bacon on the bottom of the baking loaf dish, and 1 strip of bacon on each side for a total of four bacon strips. The rest of the recipe I followed as per the directions. It is baking as I write this and sip on my Earl Grey tea. The baking dish is on a small tray, in case anything spills over, and it is sitting on the middle oven rack of a gas oven. the temperature of this oven fluctuates between 365 and 385. there may be something wrong with this oven but I recently dropped 250.00 on various parts and labour for it, so I continue to keep it. to monitor the temperature I am actually using a remote monitor that is measuring the inside of the oven temp. the oven comes on at about 365 and then rises to 385 and then it cuts off and the temp. starts to drop back down again. that goes on right thru the whole time. I have not made a meatloaf in a long while, and the last one I did was called Meatloaf Italiano and it was topped with a healthy portion of mozzarella cheese and was just delicious. I used to freeze it in portions and then eat them as an easy meal after a long shift at the police station where I worked as a radio operator. now I am retired, and I only have one son left at home and have been separated from my wife for many years. to speak to this dish, I will have to edit this review and make an addendum to write some more about the actual taste test. at this time, I am just beginning to get the smell wafting thru the house and it is quite pleasant so far....stay tuned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2014

      Wonderful meatloaf. The aroma while cooking is heavenly.<br/>This is my new favorite meatloaf recipe and I love that it's so easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2014

      Very moist and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      This was so yummy ! I have never made meatloaf before but now that I have I will make it more often. It did have a lot of liquid but I just poured it out after baking 1 hour then I baked 30 minutes more for a toasty glaze. It came out perfect. So moist and delicious . I didn't have milk or cream so I used evaporated milk. Also I used rolled oats instead of bread . I substituted powder sugar for brown sugar because its all I had and added about a 1/4 powder sugar to the meatloaf mix. I really didn't have. a lot of ingredients So even with all the similar substitutes it was awesome. I added a tsp of brags seasoning which was so good. Thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      What a great recipe! I did as others did and sautéed the finely chopped onions in garlic and than added to the meat mixture. To the meat I also added 1 tbps of wostershire sauce and one tablespoon of spicy brown mustard and cooked for 1 hr which was perfect. Came out so moist. I used 85/15. Half way thru I took it out and drained the grease. For the sauce I used 3 tablespoons of the vinegar and brown sugar and it came out perfect I wish I made more to dip in. Wonderful recipe and I will keep making it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      If the Apple Cider Vinegar is too acidic and sour, can substitute Italian Dressing + one Tablespoon of the Vinegar. I often substitute Italian Dressing for Vinegar in many recipes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      This was close to what I usually do with the exception of the milk in the meat mixture. I only used 3 tablespoons each of vinegar and brown sugar. I used dry breadcrumbs instead of bread, so probably 1/2 cup breadcrumbs to prevent the mixture from being too loose. Also, The size of the loaf pan would have been too small to fit the meat and the sauce without making a huge mess, so I just shaped it into a log and put it in a medium Pyrex pan.<br/><br/>The texture of the meat was perfect and the flavor was just what we wanted. My three year old - who is a VERY light eater - had 2 pieces! The sauce was the perfect compliment - better than plain ketchup but not too fancy for meatloaf. Will definitely make again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2014

      I can't believe I have not reviewed this recipe yet! I have made this recipe about 12 times now. Actually it is the only meatloaf recipe I make. I use 2 lbs of lean ground beef, 2 slices of bread and 1/2 cup of milk. Perfect every time. We love it! I always double up on the sauce because we like to use it on top of the mash potatoes I server it with. By far the BEST and a KEEPER. tyvm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      4 stars only because mine didn't hold together at all and was very greasy... like it was almost bathing in a loaf pan full of grease when I took it out. I'm sure it didn't hold together because (keep in mind, I'm a terrible cook) I forgot to put in the egg and didn't realize until it was already in the oven for a couple minutes. I took it back out and mixed in the egg as best I could and returned it to the oven. It cooked all the way through but you couldn't slice it, it just crumbled apart. After draining off the grease though, it sure did taste damn DELICIOUS!! Extra sauce was a must, and I loooved the sauce's flavor even more than ketchup! And I've always added lots of ketchup on my meatloaf since I was a kid. :) Definitely going to remake this one (with the egg next time)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      I have made this so many times, I couldn't count! It is just the best recipe...period! Look no further!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2014

      Gonna try this tonight,ty r the recipe:))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      WOW!!!! Delicious. I did saute the onions and added some green peppers, garlic and cheddar (I'm a cheese freak). Seriously though, out of the 5 of us eating it, there was NONE LEFT! It was so delicious and my husband is actually looking for the next time I make it. He says that it's the best meatloaf he's ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

      cant wait to try it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      My family loved it. The sauce reminded me of sweet &sour sauce, but it went very well with the meat. I used 1 part ground pork and 2 parts ground beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      This was deeeelicious. My only concern (as I am diabetic) was thee sweetness of the sauce. My husband missed the spiciness of garlic and so forth. This are easily fixed though so ty for a meatloaf my family loves!<br/><br/>Jo Ann

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      I think this meatloaf was awesome. (blueypie must have been a horrible cook)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2013

      2 of 4 boys thought this was great. The other 2 did not care for it. I liked it and it was easy to make. Next time I might try some of the substitutes in some of the other reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 493.0
     
    Calories from Fat 252
    51%
    Total Fat 28.0 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 165.2 mg
    55%
    Sodium 1260.5 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 18.9 g
    75%
    Protein 35.4 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites