Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf

    Average Rating:

    1,090 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 1,090

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2014

      My ultimate "go-to" meatloaf recipe!! It has turned ho-hum meatloaf into a superstar. Only one complaint... no matter how much I make, there is never any leftover! Even the kids ask for more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2014

      I am a professed meatloaf hater but I made this and have to admit it was good. It was actually really good. Very easy to make and actually tasted like meat and not sopped up hamburger fat. The dressing really helped and I liked it not just being catchup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2014

      Really excellent. Tangy, moist, and perfect. We used 1/2 and 1/2 and it was just the best meatloaf I've ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2014

      Delicious! This was very easy and quick to prepare, and my brother and I really enjoyed it -- it's a few days later and he already wants to make it again, so it looks like we're adding it to our regular meal rotation. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2014

      Easy and Delicious !!! I used 1/2 cup half and half, sauteed onions & 1 minced clove of garlic before hand. <br/><br/>For the sauce 1/2 cup ketchp with 2 tablespoons O & Co Balsamic vinegar. (If you like balsamic vinegar, this is absoulutely the best ever. $32 a bottle, but worth every dime) This really added to the flavor of a great basic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2014

      Our family loved this meatloaf! I made a few changes, based on other reviewer comments and it turned out wonderfully. I used only 1/3 cup milk (I think any more would have been too much) and I lightly sauteed the onions. I also made the sauce 2 days ahead to allow it to 'meld'. The flavor of the sauce, when first made, was 'vinegary' but after 2 days, it became sweet and tangy. Next time, I will make another batch of sauce to serve with the loaf. Also, a bit of worcestershire sauce will add some depth, I think.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2014

      Terrific meatloaf! I have made this recipe three times, thus far, and my super picky hubs eats it greedily! I have tried it using the slice of bread, as well as with bread crumbs, and my preference is the slice of bread. My one change was to saute the onions before combining to make them nice and soft. Tubular stuff! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2014

      So this is my first review on this site after using many of the recipes for years. This is my go to meatloaf recipe, having never made meatloaf before I initially followed the directions verbatim and got rave reviews from hubby. Better than his moms was the comment which is high praise. What is great though is how versatile this is. Used home made bread crumbs, store bought, red wine vinegar, subbed half the ketchup for steak sauce etc etc love it. I do recommend saut

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2014

      Made this tonight. The only thing I didn't add was brown sugar because I didn't have any. My hubby is not a big fan with meatloaf so this is my first attempt . I will be updating this review after we eat.. But it already smells yummy. Update: omg u have made my non meatloaf eater hubby love meatloaf he had 4 helpings and wished there was more.....thank you thank you this is a def keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2014

      This was a really easy..and tasty dish. Good recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2014

      Thumbs up from the entire family, even my kid who isn't normally a fan of meatloaf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2014

      Great Recipe! Reminds me of my Mom's.<br/>I added some finely chopped green bell pepper. My 8 year old daughter went through two nice slices of it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2014

      Excellent Meatloaf! Moist, firm, Delicious and Easy!!! My mom won't even make meatloaf anymore, she will oly eat mine!!! (That is huge) I always make extra sauce because it is in demand!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2014

      Good base recipe, the first time I made it I followed the recipe to the T but it was a little boring for my family. 2nd time making it I added mushrooms, a jalapeno, Worcester, and horseradish sauce. Rounded 1/4 teaspoon of paprika, fennel, oregano, thyme, and rosemary. For the sauce instead of cider vinegar, I used 2 tbsp balsamic and 1 1/2 tbsp of brown sugar. I ended up making it 2 times in 1 week. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2014

      I don't know maybe I made it wrong but this meatloaf was terrible. I'm not a big fan of meat loaf to begin with but this was just as bad as any other meatloaf I've ever had. The meat was so so and the sauce was terrible. Way to vinegary and way to sweet. I have to say I was excited to make this cause of all the positive remarks. I did have to substitute bread for plain bread crumbs but still yuk!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2014

      I've been cooking for well over 35 years, and I had never made meat loaf. Strange, right? Mostly because all the meat loaf I had in my life tasted gamy or rotten in the middle. Only my grandmother's meat loaf was edible for me, and I was foolish enough not to get her recipe before she died. :( Fast forward to today, and my husband was craving meat loaf. We're also on a tight budget and I'm always looking for things to make that don't break the bank. Meatloaf has long had a reputation for budget friendliness, so I bit the bullet and I looked up some recipes online. This one just clicked for me as soon as I read it. I'm so glad I chose it, because my husband loves it so much that it's now in my regular repertoire of wallet-friendly meals.I used Whataburger spicy ketchup, which was all I had at the time, and that gives the loaf a terrific flavor. The recipe is solid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2014

      Best meat loaf - my family loves it!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2014

      I've been using this meatloaf recipe exclusively for the past 3 years or so. It is simply the best. I omit the onions as my boyfriend is allergic, and use skim milk instead of the whole. We adore vinegar, so I make sure and add plenty of it. I typically cut back slightly on the brown sugar, as well. If you like a little bite to your meatloaf, please try this! I will never make another ever again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2014

      This meatloaf is pretty good and really good with Potato Buds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2014

      Bad bad bad

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 493.0
     
    Calories from Fat 252
    51%
    Total Fat 28.0 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 165.2 mg
    55%
    Sodium 1260.5 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 18.9 g
    75%
    Protein 35.4 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes