1123 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I tried this tonight , my grandson has been asking me for meatloaf so thought I would try something new instead of the same old one I always make. He loved it and he is 5. I thought it was really good myself. Like a few I thought it was a little too vinegary so I added more brown sugar and that worked. Next time I think I will try making it a little earlier myself too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustLisatn May 03, 2011

This is a wonderful recipe. My family thourally enjoys it everytime. I do find it a bit liquidy, however, I mix a tbls of flour with a tbls or two of water to make a paste, then i add it to the liquid and bring the liquid to boil in a small sauce pan to make a thick gravy or sauce for on top of the loaf. Nice and tangy. We make this alot in my house and love it very time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Curvycook March 09, 2011

Excellent and easy. We did make a second batch of sauce to serve with it too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tahiti Girl September 13, 2010

I have been using a ML recipe like this for years--not quite exactly the same, but same basic foundation. This is the only ML I will ever eat any other ML again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbee2 July 21, 2010

Oh My! We loved this because we loved the sauce. I do believe you must love the sauce for this to be a 5 star recipe to you. After going through all the reviews, I started to saute the onions or make some additions- Glad I didn't, you don't need to. If you "finely" chop the onions as stated, they work fine. If you cover the "top and sides" of your meatloaf with the sauce as stated, you don't need to add any spices to your meatloaf because the sauce is the maker of this meatloaf. Again- We Loved It!!! Thank you Nita!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mommie October 30, 2014

I can't understand why ANYONE would put ketchup on top of a meatloaf. We're not 4th graders<br/>eating at the golden arches..It ruins an otherwise decent meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magicpat38 October 02, 2014

I made this and got rave reviews with the few changes I made. <br/>1. I used about a half sandwich bag of crushed croutons. The croutons are easier to use and don't absorb as much liquid, so it holds together a little better than bread. <br/>2. Using a loaf pan rather than a pan that allows for drainage means you've got a lot of grease and juice mixing i with your sauce, especially if you use cheaper hamburger. There's a simple solution for that that will also make a great sauce to spoon over the meatloaf. Halfway through the cooking process, I used a turkey baster to suction off most of the sauce/fat/juice mixture in the pan- don't worry about your meat getting dry because your meatloaf will produce more and you'll be adding half of it back in anyway; if you've got a higher quality meat, you should probably suction off a little less juice, maybe about 2/3. <br/>3. I mixed about 1 cup of cornstarch and a jelly glass of cool water (its absolutely imperative that the water is cool), added 1/2 of the removed juice, and added back to the meatloaf. This may seem like a lot of cornstarch, but it gets diluted when more fat and juice come out of the meat. It makes a nice little sauce for your meatloaf, and at the same time keeps it from swimming in grease. <br/>4. I turned the oven up to about 400, and put the meatloaf back in for 15 to 20 minutes to give the cornstarch/juice mix some time to thicken. Don't worry about your it burning- its covered in a lot of liquid. <br/>5. Get rave reviews from your family and take a nap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosalyn B. September 24, 2014

Very very good! I added Challah bread and I think it added a great flavor. Will definitely make again!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
palmbayflo_9404039 September 15, 2014

Made this tonight. The only thing I didn't add was brown sugar because I didn't have any. My hubby is not a big fan with meatloaf so this is my first attempt . I will be updating this review after we eat.. But it already smells yummy. Update: omg u have made my non meatloaf eater hubby love meatloaf he had 4 helpings and wished there was more.....thank you thank you this is a def keeper

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssej1078_1251510 June 19, 2014

Good base recipe, the first time I made it I followed the recipe to the T but it was a little boring for my family. 2nd time making it I added mushrooms, a jalapeno, Worcester, and horseradish sauce. Rounded 1/4 teaspoon of paprika, fennel, oregano, thyme, and rosemary. For the sauce instead of cider vinegar, I used 2 tbsp balsamic and 1 1/2 tbsp of brown sugar. I ended up making it 2 times in 1 week. Very tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
analram2000_13053064 May 11, 2014
Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf