Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf

    Average Rating:

    1,074 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 1,074

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2010

      very good. added some red and green pepper for color. thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2010

      Very great meatloaf! I do not normally like meat loaf, but this recipe looked great. I only added 1/4 of a small vidalia onion. More than that would have been overkill with my family. It turned out great. We also loved the sauce. My 18 month old was eating it with his hands! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      Delcious, that is all I can say...delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      This made me a meatloaf lover! My favorite is the apple cider vinegar sauce. YUMM...and my kids will eat it also!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

      Great meatloaf. I altered a bit with dried onions, skim milk, and didn't quite have 1 1/2 lbs of meat but it still turned out wonderful with no leftovers! **Update** made this again tonight without adjustments and it was even better! Soo good! Thanks for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      I made this one night for my in-laws and they loved it so much!!! Great taste and I loved the dressing over top!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      As far as meatloaf goes, this was a pretty good recipe. My husband, a meatloaf connoisseur of sorts (sadly) enjoyed it very much. The four star rating is due to the fact that we both have had/made meatloaf recipes before that we liked more. I also felt like my meatloaf was kind of flat compared to other recipes I've made.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      I have been trying for years to duplicate my children favorite meatloaf, but up until now with no luck, until I tried this recipe! I am delighted to say that this is it....I added a touch of yellow mustard to the sauce and there it was! Thanks a bunch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      My husband wanted meatloaf one night and found this recipe. I thought my meatloaf was good but when I got home and supper was done I was thrilled. Then I took a bite and was blown away--AMAZING! My hubby loves it, I love it, my kids love it. Thank you for posting this incredible recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      My nearly six year old daughter hardly eats a thing. She ate every bite! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      Easy to make and tastes great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      I thought this was really good, i'm not usually a fan of meatloaf but I will be sure to make this one again. it was super moist with a great texture. I will change a bit in the sauce though i will use less vinegar and more ketchup as i did think the vinegar was a little overpowering. thanks for the great recipe! OK scratch that so I had some leftovers I WILL NOT CHANGE A THING IT WAS AWESOME!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Simple ingredients=sublime meatloaf. Other than softening the onion in the microwave, I made this exactly as stated (including the sauce). The result was a flavourful, moist meatloaf that is destined to become a family favourite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      Great! I used ground turkey and sauteed the onion and garlic (as other reviewers suggested). It was wonderful! Next time I'll cut the apple cider vinegar back just a little as personal preference. Didn't make the extra batch of sauce and didn't need it - the meatloaf was wonderful just the way it was. As an extra boost of confidence - my toddler ate it up and asked for more and she's not a meat fan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2003

      Made this meatloaf for DH and myself for dinner tonight, I thought it was awesome, DH thought it was a little Tomato Sauceee. (Just a Little) I will certainly use it again. Thanks Nita. Jess96

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2014

      I made this and got rave reviews with the few changes I made. <br/>1. I used about a half sandwich bag of crushed croutons. The croutons are easier to use and don't absorb as much liquid, so it holds together a little better than bread. <br/>2. Using a loaf pan rather than a pan that allows for drainage means you've got a lot of grease and juice mixing i with your sauce, especially if you use cheaper hamburger. There's a simple solution for that that will also make a great sauce to spoon over the meatloaf. Halfway through the cooking process, I used a turkey baster to suction off most of the sauce/fat/juice mixture in the pan- don't worry about your meat getting dry because your meatloaf will produce more and you'll be adding half of it back in anyway; if you've got a higher quality meat, you should probably suction off a little less juice, maybe about 2/3. <br/>3. I mixed about 1 cup of cornstarch and a jelly glass of cool water (its absolutely imperative that the water is cool), added 1/2 of the removed juice, and added back to the meatloaf. This may seem like a lot of cornstarch, but it gets diluted when more fat and juice come out of the meat. It makes a nice little sauce for your meatloaf, and at the same time keeps it from swimming in grease. <br/>4. I turned the oven up to about 400, and put the meatloaf back in for 15 to 20 minutes to give the cornstarch/juice mix some time to thicken. Don't worry about your it burning- its covered in a lot of liquid. <br/>5. Get rave reviews from your family and take a nap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2014

      WOW! always wanted to make one of these, so after all done I found myself licking my plate then saw my wife doing the same. I caramelized the onion with about a cup of both red and green peppers for colour, then added Worcestershire to the sauce. I put it on a bed of mashed sweet potato and potato blended with sour cream, butter, chives and chicken salt. <br/>Heavenly Divine....the kids couldn't get enough either, we'll make double next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2014

      This was so good!! The best meatloaf recipe I have ever made!! The sauce that you put on top of the meatloaf would make a great topping for hamburgers!! It is easy & so delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2014

      Very very good! I added Challah bread and I think it added a great flavor. Will definitely make again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2014

      I don't normally even like meatloaf, but I made this for my boyfriend. It was AMAZING. I should note that I may have inadvertently done a couple things "off" but not really on purpose. I think I made too much sauce (I did 3 T vinegar and 2 T brown sugar and 1/2 c ketchup) and when I took it out of the oven, it was SWIMMING in sauce. So that was a little weird but it did not affect anything except I served it in pasta bowls :) Also I used a white hamburger bun for my bread since that's what we had. Thanks for the recipe-- I've already recommended it to my best friend and I can't wait to make it again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 493.0
     
    Calories from Fat 252
    51%
    Total Fat 28.0 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 165.2 mg
    55%
    Sodium 1260.5 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 18.9 g
    75%
    Protein 35.4 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites