1198 Reviews

This was by far the best meatlof we have ever had! My kids loved it, DH loved it. i followed the recipe exactly (always do the first time) and it turned out perfect. there was a lot of grease in the loaf pan when it had finished cooking, so i simply drained it off into a saucepan, and made gravy with flour (made a roux) milk and even though it sounds gross, ketchup it was awesome. this is definitely a keeper! thanks so much for posting.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glory to God! November 05, 2011

I HATE meatloaf, but this one was actually really good. I only gave it a four star rating because the topping was so sweet, it tasted like icing. Of course, my 7 year old loved that. BTW, I used 2% milk and bread crumbs, and it turned out super moist.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
libbyajax September 27, 2011

Made this for dinner last night. The taste was great, but it was swimming in grease that I had to pour off. Didn't realize hubby had gotten 80/20 meat, so it was probably my fault. I will make this with lean ground beef and see if that fixes it. Will update my review accordingly.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TracyReid June 07, 2011

I thought this was totally outstanding. I could eat it every night, and that's saying a lot because I don't usually eat much meat! I used ground turkey instead of beef and bread crumbs instead of the slice of bread. My dh thought it was just ok, which is a bummer for me but I might try using a little less vinegar next time and see if he likes it that way more. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deanna Kyre April 14, 2011

I'd personally give this recipe a 3 but my meatloaf fanatic friend was crazy about it. This recipe did help me relize that I prefer packaged bread crums to bread slices when it comes to meatloaf.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smarahcakes August 20, 2010

oh my! what a moist, delicious treat! thank you for sharing. The sauce was the best part!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skssandy September 02, 2003

Nita, My husband and I really enjoyed this meatloaf receipe. The sauce was what set this apart and added so much flavor. Thank you, Connie

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Peterson July 11, 2003

I have made this meatloaf several times now and it comes out great. Per other reviewers suggestions I change a few things: sauté onions first, add worcheshire sauce, heat the sauce on the stove briefly before pouring on top of the loaf, and use seasoned bread crumbs instead of slice of bread.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica C. February 26, 2016

BEST MEATLOAF EVER! I've tried to make meatloaf 10+ times and each time it turns out disgusting. I love meatloaf though but can never seem to get it right. This recipe was easy to follow and turned out beautifully! It was so delicious, my 8 yr old daughter asked for seconds!!! WOW!!! She is so picky about food but loved it!!! The whole family enjoyed this meatloaf. I feel like I've finally cracked the code on Meatloaf. THANK YOU!!!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alison B. August 21, 2015

Wow this is a great very simple recipe and so tasty!!!!! A few notes......after reading many of the other reviews my meatloaf turned so delicious it made my mother in law jealous haha. 1. Use only 1/3 half and half or milk 2. I used stovetop chicken and grind it with magic bullet (food processor) 3. Add 1/2 tsp worshire sauce 4.used red onion and sauteed it with garlic in olive oil before mixing it 5.For the sauce you'll read that it taste vinegary only use 3 Tbls of vinegar and 3Tbls of packed brown sugar I also added a splash of soy sauce AND make sure you make ahead of time to allow sauce to marinate and set....mine came out super super delicious!!!!!! I baked meatloaf for an hour and 20 minutes......Great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda R. November 03, 2014
Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf