1194 Reviews

EXCELLENT!!! Loved this meatloaf, the sauce is wonderful. I Adapted only slightly by wrapping the sides only with bacon. Also used 2% milk & it was very moist & succulent, beautiful texture!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelleco May 08, 2011

This is pretty close to the Hunts Barbeque meatloaf I grew up with. The only things I did different was to add some French's mustard to the sauce as the Hunts recipe and also I added bacon because I wanted to try it and I loved it. I'll be retiring the Hunts version and start my own tradition for my family with this one with the changes I made.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizjmassie August 18, 2011

Review #848, so why bother - because after reading all the reviews I HAD to try this for myself and I must say all the reviews are well earned. Yes Virginia, this is truly one this is truly one great meatloaf! I made a few minor changes but I think it only added to the taste. Took another reviewers advise and carmilized the onions (adding celery and garlic to them) prior to adding to the mix, added 1 teaspoon of liquid smoke as we love that smoky flavor and 1 tablespoon of worchester sauce for flavor. Added another 1 teaspoon of liquid smoke to the sauce and then baked as directed in one of those special meatloaf pans that has 2 layers and drains off the grease. The end result was a lovely meatloaf that was firm when cutting and tasted awesome, took your advise and made extra sauce to use for dipping on the side. YUM!! Served with homemade potatoe chips and sesame spinach with a glass of Washington's fine red wine. Lovely.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 June 30, 2011

A nice and moist meatloaf . I liked the addition of the half & half . It added richness and made this meatloaf very moist . The only thing I did not care for was the sauce for the top . It was kind of sweet for our taste . I think I will try straight ketchup next time . Thank You for a great recipe !

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa P September 20, 2003

I make my meatloaf ALMOST (hence, the 4 stars) just like this. The only difference is that instead of the milk or half and half, I take 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, spoon out 1/2 of the can of soup (undiluted) into the meatloaf mixture, and I use bread crumbs, instead of the slices. The rest of the soup I dilute slightly to a kind of 'saucy' consistency and pour that over the meatloaf and top that with a little ketchup,and then bake as directed. Yummy, moist, and makes a delicious gravy,even though you may have to skim off the grease first, but it's well worth it. I have never made the sauce recipe included in this post,so I can't comment on it, except to say it looks a little too barbecue-ee for my tastes. Note: I always make my loaf free standing, in a slightly larger pan, and then pour enough water in to surround it at it's base, which will give me enough liquid to make the gravy, after baking.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arroz241_11561377 January 10, 2012

I had a meatloaf craving, and both my fiance and I agree that is was the best/easy meatloaf we've ever had. Mine took a lil longer to cook, and I made a few substitutions. (1) I did not have milk so I used a small can of evaporated milk. (2) I sauteed the onions in a heaping scoop of smart balance butter, all the while preparing the mixtures. (3) I did not have bread, so I used half of a large wheat pita. (4) I did not have quite enough of the ketchup for the sauce, so I used 3 of both the brown sugar and apple cider.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie Julie Julie August 20, 2011

Great, Easy recipe to make! I made it with my 8 year old son. I pretty much followed the recipe as written. I trimmed the salt back by 1/3, no problems, and also used 2% milk (what I had on hand) with no issue. After reading many of the posts about excess liquid (juicy grease), I checked mine with about 5-6 minutes to go and found the same. I drained about 90% out and placed back in the oven. This seemed to firm up the loaf and give a little more of the "crust". The Sauce: In reviews this seemed to be a hit or miss. I really liked it as did my kids. I served the extra as a garnish on the plate, to be dipped in. The plates were clean!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HighRollerPat May 30, 2014

This was by far the best meatlof we have ever had! My kids loved it, DH loved it. i followed the recipe exactly (always do the first time) and it turned out perfect. there was a lot of grease in the loaf pan when it had finished cooking, so i simply drained it off into a saucepan, and made gravy with flour (made a roux) milk and even though it sounds gross, ketchup it was awesome. this is definitely a keeper! thanks so much for posting.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glory to God! November 05, 2011

I HATE meatloaf, but this one was actually really good. I only gave it a four star rating because the topping was so sweet, it tasted like icing. Of course, my 7 year old loved that. BTW, I used 2% milk and bread crumbs, and it turned out super moist.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
libbyajax September 27, 2011

Made this for dinner last night. The taste was great, but it was swimming in grease that I had to pour off. Didn't realize hubby had gotten 80/20 meat, so it was probably my fault. I will make this with lean ground beef and see if that fixes it. Will update my review accordingly.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TracyReid June 07, 2011
Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf