1115 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is pretty close to the Hunts Barbeque meatloaf I grew up with. The only things I did different was to add some French's mustard to the sauce as the Hunts recipe and also I added bacon because I wanted to try it and I loved it. I'll be retiring the Hunts version and start my own tradition for my family with this one with the changes I made.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizjmassie August 18, 2011

A nice and moist meatloaf . I liked the addition of the half & half . It added richness and made this meatloaf very moist . The only thing I did not care for was the sauce for the top . It was kind of sweet for our taste . I think I will try straight ketchup next time . Thank You for a great recipe !

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa P September 20, 2003

EXCELLENT!!! Loved this meatloaf, the sauce is wonderful. I Adapted only slightly by wrapping the sides only with bacon. Also used 2% milk & it was very moist & succulent, beautiful texture!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelleco May 08, 2011

I make my meatloaf ALMOST (hence, the 4 stars) just like this. The only difference is that instead of the milk or half and half, I take 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, spoon out 1/2 of the can of soup (undiluted) into the meatloaf mixture, and I use bread crumbs, instead of the slices. The rest of the soup I dilute slightly to a kind of 'saucy' consistency and pour that over the meatloaf and top that with a little ketchup,and then bake as directed. Yummy, moist, and makes a delicious gravy,even though you may have to skim off the grease first, but it's well worth it. I have never made the sauce recipe included in this post,so I can't comment on it, except to say it looks a little too barbecue-ee for my tastes. Note: I always make my loaf free standing, in a slightly larger pan, and then pour enough water in to surround it at it's base, which will give me enough liquid to make the gravy, after baking.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arroz241_11561377 January 10, 2012

I had a meatloaf craving, and both my fiance and I agree that is was the best/easy meatloaf we've ever had. Mine took a lil longer to cook, and I made a few substitutions. (1) I did not have milk so I used a small can of evaporated milk. (2) I sauteed the onions in a heaping scoop of smart balance butter, all the while preparing the mixtures. (3) I did not have bread, so I used half of a large wheat pita. (4) I did not have quite enough of the ketchup for the sauce, so I used 3 of both the brown sugar and apple cider.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie Julie Julie August 20, 2011

Made this for dinner last night. The taste was great, but it was swimming in grease that I had to pour off. Didn't realize hubby had gotten 80/20 meat, so it was probably my fault. I will make this with lean ground beef and see if that fixes it. Will update my review accordingly.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TracyReid June 07, 2011

I thought this was totally outstanding. I could eat it every night, and that's saying a lot because I don't usually eat much meat! I used ground turkey instead of beef and bread crumbs instead of the slice of bread. My dh thought it was just ok, which is a bummer for me but I might try using a little less vinegar next time and see if he likes it that way more. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deanna Kyre April 14, 2011

Thanks Nita & Virginia! This really is a meatloaf to look forward to! Followed the recipe but we did add about a tbsp of "Franks Original Hot Sauce" to the top sauce and that worked well with the vinegar and brown sugar

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZONA FOODIES April 05, 2011

I'd personally give this recipe a 3 but my meatloaf fanatic friend was crazy about it. This recipe did help me relize that I prefer packaged bread crums to bread slices when it comes to meatloaf.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smarahcakes August 20, 2010

oh my! what a moist, delicious treat! thank you for sharing. The sauce was the best part!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skssandy September 02, 2003
Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf