1170 Reviews

This meatloaf is amazing. It is easy to prepare and the 2 pickiest eaters in the world love it. The first substitution I made was using onion salt instead of salt and an onion... like I said, the 2 pickiest eaters in the world. If they had eyed an onion they wouldn't even have tried it. The second substitution was a handful of fine bread crumbs instead of the piece of bread. A new fav in my home. Thank You Virginia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Char C. October 11, 2015

This one needs some work. The sauce is way too sweet and vinegary, the meat it too bland. I'm giving stars for moisture of the meatloaf. I will make this again, but I will have to rework it and it's going to end up being a different recipie since I will add some seasoning to the meat and do something with the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyverynice October 06, 2015

Very good meatloaf! Instead of ground beef, I used meatloaf mix because it was on sale at the grocery store (beef, veal, and pork), and I doubled the recipe. After mixing, I formed the mixture into two "loaves" freeform on a baking sheet instead of using 2 loaf pans. They came out wonderfully after about 1.5 hrs. Knowing my family's general dislike of too much vinegar, I also cut back on the amount of vinegar for the sauce, but kept all other amounts the same. Amazing how much flavor you can get out of a few basic ingredients!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happy_olive October 04, 2015

This meatloaf is similar to mine, but I had never used the vinegar or Worcester sauce. Did have problems keeping it from falling apart when serving just like I always do. Used bread crumbs instead of bread. Also use diced tomatoes in the sauce. We had this on Sunday, and leftovers on Wednesday. As my husband was leaving the table he asked what was in the sauce besides the tomatoes. I told him then asked why he wanted to know. I was expecting him to complain about the vinegar. Imagine my shock when he said because it was good. In 31 years of marriage he has never said a word about anything I've cooked. So. This will be my meatloaf recipe from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cgray757 October 01, 2015

Followed the recipe to the letter, however like others have said, the vinegar in the sauce is just too much, even if you let it sit for a few hours. That's my only complaint. Next time I'll cut the vinegar in half. Great recipe otherwise.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeff contonio October 01, 2015

This is by far the best meatloaf recipe out there. I've been searching for one just like my mom used to make and this is the one. I always double the recipe and my 3 boys always ask for seconds. I followed the other reviewers suggestions and cooked the onions and garlic in little bit of butter. I used garlic and herb bread crumbs (they sound disgusting but add some nice flavor) and I use either half and half or heavy whipping cream that keep the meatloaf moist. We are not into sugary sauces on top of our meatloaf so I serve it plain and its just delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agiemjohnston September 30, 2015

Awesome!! This was my first time making meatloaf and it was definitely a household hit! However, I did make a few adjustments by adding 1/2 green bell pepper, a tbsp of minced garlic and sauteed with onion. I also also a tbsp of Worcestershire.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous September 30, 2015

I printed tasteofhome.com recipe and allrecipes.com recipe with no problems. I tried 3 times to print food.com recipe with no results and no success.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tonydotesser September 25, 2015

Made this last night and it was fabulous!! My husband said it's the best he's had as well. Per other reviews: sauteed onions firstand added one clove of garlic and cook for one minute, sprinkled season-all, dry mustard, worcestire sauce, 1/3 cup of half/half, seasoned stuffing to replace bread. I completely freaked out at the amount of liquid left after baking so i let it sit for an hour: after reading other reviews, i drained 90% and it was perfect. I let it sit another hour in order to let the vinegar evaporate, per other reviews. We barely tasted it...delicious. Next time i will make double the sauce to have some when it's served and will let it sit for a couple of hours to reduce the vinegary acidity beforehand. This will be the recipe i use from now on...after many years of trying different ones!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous September 25, 2015

I made this tonite & it was the very 1st time I have ever made meatloaf. I used to be a vegetarian so I'm really NOT super knowledgable on meat dishes. I had a hankering for ML and thought this one looked good. I pretty much stayed to recipe but I carmelized the onions 1st and sauteed some green peppers to add in -just cuz I had em in my produce drawer & they needed to be used. Used panko bread crumbs and added in the carmelized onions & peppers & mixed it all up. Made the sauce and luckily read some reviews so I quickly made it & let it sit for 2hrs (wished I'd had longer- but will mk it nite b4 nxt tm). All in all- this was GRRRREAT! I will def try it again with a lil bit more spice (mt try grating up a jalapeno or poss adding in some red ppr flakes). Am pleased as punch with this- will be working on it now as I slowly make it my own. YAY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wally G. September 21, 2015
Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf