Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf

    Average Rating:

    1,062 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 1,062

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2010

      5 stars because it was easy to make and my very picky eaters liked it. After reading some of the reviews, I substituted the slice of bread with some stuffing (ground into crumbs with food processor) for more flavor. 1 slice of bread = 1/4 cup of crumbs. Also, the first time I made this, the sauce tasted very "vinegary" (my guys did not like it at all!), so the second time I made the sauce a couple of days in advance to let the flavors marry and some of the vinegar evaporate - much better (my picky eaters thought I used a different meatloaf recipe and I wasn't about to fess up). Reducing the amount of vinegar made the sauce taste too "ketchupy." Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      Best Meatloaf I have ever made. Absolutely rave reviews. I cant imagine anyone saying they did not like it! Oh well, to each his own favourites I guess! For me, this one has been a keeper ever since I discovered it here months ago. Rather than prepare the meatloaf in a family size loaf pan I make 4 or 5 small ones in small glass baking dishes and freeze them and then just pop in oven or micro to reheat when needed. I have also froze the sauce in ice cube trays and then have extra sauce when I pull out one of the little loafs. The frozen sauce melts almost immediately over the hot loaf. Love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2003

      My husband wanted a meatloaf like his mother use to make (He is 78 years old). This receipt fit the bill. Thank you so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      I've made this several times now, and thought it was time to post my rave review. Best, best meatloaf I've ever made! Even better than my mom used to make, and I loved hers. I followed another's hint and sautee the chopped onions with a large clove of minced garlic before adding to the meat mixture, and add about 1/2 t. worstestershire sauce. I sometimes add a couple Tblsp. of bbq sauce to the sauce mixture, but the sauce is great without it too - I always make extra for those who like it extra "extra saucy"! Scrumptious comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      This recipe had good flavor...but there are a few things I'd change next time. First: Saute the onions prior to mixing into the meat to help soften them and incorporate them in. Second: use less milk...a lot less milk. Third: add a little dry mustard, minced garlic and Worcestershire sauce. Otherwise delicious and we enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      Wonderful!. I used 1 cup of chicken stuffing mix instead of bread and a 1/4t of worcestershire sauce the second time I made it and my kids loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      This was AWESOME!! We used garlic bread crumbs instead of sliced bread.....to die for!! ALso added about a spoonful of honey to the sauce....YUM!! This will be a staple in our menu from now on!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      I have been trying to find a vintage style meatloaf recipe for years. The search stops here. This is your down home, like grandma used to make meatloaf. Made as is and the only thing I may do differently next time is add some Worceshire sauce. The only reason for that is hubby loves it and put some on two pieces. Please take the advice of another reviewer and make the sauce ahead of time. It is very vinegary when first made but settles down after just a couple of hours in the fridge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

      This is pretty close to the Hunts Barbeque meatloaf I grew up with. The only things I did different was to add some French's mustard to the sauce as the Hunts recipe and also I added bacon because I wanted to try it and I loved it. I'll be retiring the Hunts version and start my own tradition for my family with this one with the changes I made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      The flavor and ease of preparation are outstanding for this meatloaf, and everyone in my family very much enjoyed it. The only thing keeping me from rating it 5 stars was the fact that it was very liquidy (like others, I had to pour off a cup or more of liquid- and since I used lean ground beef I believe a lot of it was either water or excess liquid from the milk) and didn't have the crusty edge I prefer my meatloaf to have.

      I'll definitely make it again, but will likely use dried breadcrumbs instead of a slice of bread and probably cut the milk to 1/3 cup instead of 1/2. I also made the mistake of cutting my onion too coarsely, which made the meatloaf fall apart a bit. I'll dice them more finely next time as well.

      Absolutely loved the sauce. Wouldn't change a thing there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2003

      A nice and moist meatloaf . I liked the addition of the half & half . It added richness and made this meatloaf very moist . The only thing I did not care for was the sauce for the top . It was kind of sweet for our taste . I think I will try straight ketchup next time . Thank You for a great recipe !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      EXCELLENT!!! Loved this meatloaf, the sauce is wonderful. I Adapted only slightly by wrapping the sides only with bacon. Also used 2% milk & it was very moist & succulent, beautiful texture!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      I make my meatloaf ALMOST (hence, the 4 stars) just like this. The only difference is that instead of the milk or half and half, I take 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, spoon out 1/2 of the can of soup (undiluted) into the meatloaf mixture, and I use bread crumbs, instead of the slices. The rest of the soup I dilute slightly to a kind of 'saucy' consistency and pour that over the meatloaf and top that with a little ketchup,and then bake as directed. Yummy, moist, and makes a delicious gravy,even though you may have to skim off the grease first, but it's well worth it. I have never made the sauce recipe included in this post,so I can't comment on it, except to say it looks a little too barbecue-ee for my tastes. Note: I always make my loaf free standing, in a slightly larger pan, and then pour enough water in to surround it at it's base, which will give me enough liquid to make the gravy, after baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      I had a meatloaf craving, and both my fiance and I agree that is was the best/easy meatloaf we've ever had. Mine took a lil longer to cook, and I made a few substitutions. (1) I did not have milk so I used a small can of evaporated milk. (2) I sauteed the onions in a heaping scoop of smart balance butter, all the while preparing the mixtures. (3) I did not have bread, so I used half of a large wheat pita. (4) I did not have quite enough of the ketchup for the sauce, so I used 3 of both the brown sugar and apple cider.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      Made this for dinner last night. The taste was great, but it was swimming in grease that I had to pour off. Didn't realize hubby had gotten 80/20 meat, so it was probably my fault. I will make this with lean ground beef and see if that fixes it. Will update my review accordingly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

      I thought this was totally outstanding. I could eat it every night, and that's saying a lot because I don't usually eat much meat! I used ground turkey instead of beef and bread crumbs instead of the slice of bread. My dh thought it was just ok, which is a bummer for me but I might try using a little less vinegar next time and see if he likes it that way more. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      Thanks Nita & Virginia! This really is a meatloaf to look forward to! Followed the recipe but we did add about a tbsp of "Franks Original Hot Sauce" to the top sauce and that worked well with the vinegar and brown sugar

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      I'd personally give this recipe a 3 but my meatloaf fanatic friend was crazy about it. This recipe did help me relize that I prefer packaged bread crums to bread slices when it comes to meatloaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      oh my! what a moist, delicious treat! thank you for sharing. The sauce was the best part!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2003

      Nita, My husband and I really enjoyed this meatloaf receipe. The sauce was what set this apart and added so much flavor. Thank you, Connie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 54

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 493.0
     
    Calories from Fat 252
    51%
    Total Fat 28.0 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 165.2 mg
    55%
    Sodium 1260.5 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 18.9 g
    75%
    Protein 35.4 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites