9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Deliciously spicy but I didn't like the consistency. I thought it was thin so I added some half & half. I made a double batch & the 2nd cup was even better after the spices had steeped a little longer. I used honey to sweeten it. YUM! Made for A Culinary Tour of Yemen in the NA/ME Forum 2/14.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo February 10, 2014

Mmmm...a very nice comforting drink..I used 1/2 cup of milk and 1/2 cup of water, 1 lipton yellow label teabag and 2 teaspoons sugar. I might use 2 teabgas next time since I generally prefer my tea a bit strong..thanks for this lovely beverage lemoncurd.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Nabiha* May 14, 2010

Great chai recipe! Like UmmBinat, I used rice milk and added it at the end. Also I used a small piece of fresh ginger instead of ground one. I'll make this definitely again! Thanks for posting! Made for Lets' PARTY December 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany December 26, 2009

I've recently become a fan of Chai (I normally don't drink any hot beverages) and I wanted to try this recipe. I've made this recipe twice, one as written and one with star anise . Both times hubby and I really enjoyed drinking the Chai. Thanks for the recipe lemoncurd

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer November 02, 2009

This is a nice not very spicy chai. I used additional green slightly crushed cardamom pods because I think my cardamom is old and has lost some of its flavour. I used rice milk in replacement of he milk as we are dairy free and it worked fine but I added it at the end from a previous experience of it separating. I used a Lipton Yellow Label tea bag and approximately 1 1/2 tbs dark brown sugar which was too much for my liking. I will definitely make this again as it was good and I want to take the cloves for medical purposes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat September 29, 2009

I love spice tea and this is oh so good. I didn't strain it, just scooped out the cloves and pods, and left the cinnamon stick in the cup. I made this with loose Darjeeling and it made one fine cup of tea that I much enjoyed. For the milk I used 1/2 a cup of skim and 1/4 cup of whole milk which brought down the fat but still retained some of the richness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia April 13, 2007

Nice and flavorful. I didnt have ground ginger, so I used fresh. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef FIFI April 12, 2007

This was very good. For diet-conscious reasons, I replaced 1/2 cup of milk with water and I used skim milk for the other 1/4 cup. I also only added 1/2 tsp of sugar. These adaptations definitely impinged on the richness of this drink but I am okay with that. However, the mix of spices makes for the perfect taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian_in_the_Bay April 06, 2007

Exotic and delicious are my descriptions for this Chai. I enjoyed using my whole spices, and inhaling their fragrance as I stirred the milky tea to boiling. I used a whole leaf green tea, which was perfect for this recipe. I am not a milk drinker, but do enjoy a drop or two in my morning tea. When I make this recipe again, I will use mostly water and perhaps 1/4 cup of milk, since I found that the milk overwhelmed the flavor of the tea. Now that I know how easy it is to make my own chai tea, I'll be making again for myself and for friends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema January 17, 2007
Yemeni Chai (Chai Adani)