25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I use one large Vidalia onion and 3 med yellow squash. I cut into chunks not slices both for onion and squash. I only used 2 tbsp. of butter. I used garlic powder and blk pepper which I put on the onions I sautéed them first to get caramelized then added the squash... this is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kayleekyle September 10, 2013

Very delicious! The cooking fat was a combination of olive oil and a small amount of butter for flavor. The fat was reduced by about half. I used 2 medium yellow squash and half an onion. The onion was cooked for a few minutes prior to adding the sliced squash. The pan was covered and the vegetables were allowed to brown slightly. I might try adding in fresh garlic next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 25, 2012

This was fantastic! I used 3 squashes and cooked them in batches, keeping the cooked ones warm. I cooked the onions on medium-low heat for about 10 minutes so they would carmelize a little, and then added the squash, garlic salt and pepper. Such a delicious taste with a minimum of prep time; just my kind of recipe, easy and with terrific flavor. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester September 14, 2009

I gave this 5 stars. My family loves this recipe. I got my copy from My future mother-inlaw. She makes her yellow squash kinda this way. She doesn't add the onion and she adds some water to cook the squash. I do not always add the water. When I make this recipe I prefer to use garlic powder as I think the garlic salt is to much of a overpowering salty taste. I didn't think the onion affected the flavor it tasted just like my future mom-inlaw makes it. Thanks for posting a great recipe. Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut August 09, 2009

I make this also. I add 3-4 cloves minced garlic. Sprinkle of hot pepper flakes. Cut butter down to 2 tbsp. I then use a little swanson chicken broth, just to keep the squash from burning. It is an awsome recipe. Grandkids love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daisy58 May 29, 2009

This is an excellent dish. I have always included at the end of cooking some sour cream which my mother always put in....she liked creamed dishes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynda Wilson December 25, 2008

I made this skipping the onions (DH hates onions) and sauteeing in bacon grease as another reviewer suggested. I forgot the garlic salt, but with the salty bacon I don't think it was needed. I liked it, DH didn't care for it much. I may try again. It was easy to make. ***UPDATE*** I've made this a few times now, with and without onions, with and without bacon, etc. Though I'm a garlic lover, I like this recipe without the garlic salt. This is a great side dish. Sometimes I throw in whatever other veggies, sliced, that I have laying around. It's always good. My husband still doesn't like it though, he hates veggies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeannaLW July 24, 2008

Very easy to throw together, and tasty too. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach July 07, 2007

This was very good and simple. I doubled the squash (I think it would be too buttery for our taste with only one). A quick and tasty recipe we will enjoy many times. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empire920 January 07, 2007

This is the way I learned it and one of my favorite summer side dishes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Culver July 13, 2006
Yellow Squash Saute