Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yellow Squash Saute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yellow Squash Saute

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2013

      I use one large Vidalia onion and 3 med yellow squash. I cut into chunks not slices both for onion and squash. I only used 2 tbsp. of butter. I used garlic powder and blk pepper which I put on the onions I sautéed them first to get caramelized then added the squash... this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      Very delicious! The cooking fat was a combination of olive oil and a small amount of butter for flavor. The fat was reduced by about half. I used 2 medium yellow squash and half an onion. The onion was cooked for a few minutes prior to adding the sliced squash. The pan was covered and the vegetables were allowed to brown slightly. I might try adding in fresh garlic next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      This was fantastic! I used 3 squashes and cooked them in batches, keeping the cooked ones warm. I cooked the onions on medium-low heat for about 10 minutes so they would carmelize a little, and then added the squash, garlic salt and pepper. Such a delicious taste with a minimum of prep time; just my kind of recipe, easy and with terrific flavor. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      I gave this 5 stars. My family loves this recipe. I got my copy from My future mother-inlaw. She makes her yellow squash kinda this way. She doesn't add the onion and she adds some water to cook the squash. I do not always add the water. When I make this recipe I prefer to use garlic powder as I think the garlic salt is to much of a overpowering salty taste. I didn't think the onion affected the flavor it tasted just like my future mom-inlaw makes it. Thanks for posting a great recipe. Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      I make this also. I add 3-4 cloves minced garlic. Sprinkle of hot pepper flakes. Cut butter down to 2 tbsp. I then use a little swanson chicken broth, just to keep the squash from burning. It is an awsome recipe. Grandkids love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      This is an excellent dish. I have always included at the end of cooking some sour cream which my mother always put in....she liked creamed dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      I made this skipping the onions (DH hates onions) and sauteeing in bacon grease as another reviewer suggested. I forgot the garlic salt, but with the salty bacon I don't think it was needed. I liked it, DH didn't care for it much. I may try again. It was easy to make. ***UPDATE*** I've made this a few times now, with and without onions, with and without bacon, etc. Though I'm a garlic lover, I like this recipe without the garlic salt. This is a great side dish. Sometimes I throw in whatever other veggies, sliced, that I have laying around. It's always good. My husband still doesn't like it though, he hates veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      Very easy to throw together, and tasty too. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      This was very good and simple. I doubled the squash (I think it would be too buttery for our taste with only one). A quick and tasty recipe we will enjoy many times. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2006

      This is the way I learned it and one of my favorite summer side dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2006

      This was/is wonderful! I prepared it mostly as called for, but with prob'ly only a couple tbsp. of butter. Oh, and didn't bother with the garlic. This will be a new way to add another veggie.......thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2006

      This is the way I often prepare summer squash as well. I sometimes add garlic slices rather than garlic salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      This is very similar to the way I have eaten yellow squash since I was a child. I used about 5 squash, used olive oil instead of butter, and omitted the garlic salt. Still, itls a wonderful recipe and there's lots of room for experimentation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      Delicious and easy to prepare. I doubled the squash and used only 2 tablespoons of butter sauted untill tender and added a little garlic powder along with the salt & pepper. Thank you, I will be making this again espically in the summer when squash is plentiful in my garden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      This was fantastic...but I doubled the squash and there was still WAY too much butter!!! I think next time I will cut it way back! I started cooking the onions first and then added the squash...by the time it was done the onions were beginning to carmelize and the squash was browning. I think we may sprinkle cajun seasoning on it next time. This is a great simple way to fix yellow squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2005

      This is very good. I use bacon drippings. The butter makes it taste fresher, I think it does.Anyhow think this better. Thank You for the recipe. Hugs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2005

      This was so delicious! I love squash and usually fry mine with flour and oil but this is the best way. It was simple and so very easy to make. I did change one thing and that was..I used minced garlic in place of the garlic salt and just used plain salt and pepper as normal. It made the dish very tasty. Thanks for sharing this way of making squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2005

      Wonderful and easy! Picky southern DH has only had stewed yellow squash. This is how he wants me to fix it from now on. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2005

      I have been making yellow squash like this since I was 14 and I am a grandma now!! Thanks so much for posting it so that I might check the nutrition contents for fat content, calories, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2005

      I've tried for years to cook yellow squash that will satisfy my husband. This recipe finally did it. He says it is just like how his mother used to make it while he was growing up. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yellow Squash Saute

    Serving Size: 1 (90 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.1
     
    Calories from Fat 210
    86%
    Total Fat 23.3 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 14.6 g
    73%
    Cholesterol 61.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 212.6 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites