Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yellow Squash Puffs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yellow Squash Puffs

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2002

      everyone will love these as an alternative to the someimes dry hush-puppies. If you'd like to have a little more zing to your squash puffs - substitute fish fry instead of the cornmeal...this gives it a little more seasoning with some spice to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2001

      yummy! A good way to hide veggies from kids since they look and taste like hushpuppies! We loved them

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2011

      These are delicious! I made them as written but plan on try some of the suggestions of the other reviewers, especially adding southwestern flavors and sweet corn to the batter. This was an excellent recipe to help me use up the bumper crop of yellow squash coming out of my garden. Thanks Riffraff :)
      ***8/26/11****Adding stars and also want to comment that these reheat really well, SO, since we're getting so sick and tired of squash (been eating it for 3 weeks now), I'm going to make a huge batch of these and freeze them to eat during the winter, I'm sure we'll love squash again in January!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      Tasty little things, but mine were more flat like a pancake or latke. Not sure why they lost their shape. I used an electric skillet and thought it worked pretty slick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      My family loved these things... ! I made them even more delish by using lard. Yes, that four letter word. Try it and I promise the final result will not seem so greasy or heavy after you've eaten a dozen! This recipe should definitely be doubled in order to make a decent amount. I used about 4 medium sized squash to do it and then food processed the squash to make it nice and mashed. Also food processed the onions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Fantastic! I made these to use up some yellow squash and zucchini. I made quantity for 6 servings, added a whole can of corn, and a tablespoon of sugar. Served alongside baked fish sticks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      These are a family favorite! I also add some cayenne pepper when certain ones will not be eating this... I enjoy the little bounce of flavor... also, use white cornmeal as the meal will not color the yellow squash. You should try these with a little hand grated cheddar added to the batter... Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2014

      Tasty little puffs! I would add a little more seasoning next time, maybe cayenne or thyme and maybe make them a little smaller. Great way to use up all those yellow squash that are around this time of year. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2014

      These puffed up nice. I modified the recipe slightly for my picky eater. DD loved the hush puppies served on our summer vacation down south. I omitted the onion and added about 1 c.whole kernel sweet corn in its place. I doubled the recipe and used a whole medium fresh squash, shredded, with skin on in the food processor using the grating attachment (no prior cooking required!). <br/>My DS wanted ketchup on his, we also had some with honey.This is a really fun way to use up a little yellow squash and get some veggies in otherwise (because they wouldn't eat squash knowing it was in there). <br/>Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      Really enjoyed this. I added a little less onion and then put in onion powder instead, just simply because I wanted my children to eat them. I also put the smashed squash into a stainer and shook out excess water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

      These are really tasty! I think we'll try adding hot sauce next time we make them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      Yellow squash are my favorite squash. I would simplify it by using self-rising flour. I would also fry the puffs in Ghee, for extra flavor. By the way, thanks for the new word "offal" to be added to my vocabulary, pronounces the same as awful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Yum. Make plenty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      We really liked these. I made them with blanched squash from the freezer and they turned out delicious. We like them dipped in homemade ketchup. ummm good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      The first bite of these I didn't like, the second was better, and soon I was quite addicted to them. It was a great way to use up some extra squash! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      Delicious! I did take the suggestion of another poster and added some sweet kernel corn. I think that next time, in order to cut back on the fat, I'll add a little oil to the batter and try to bake these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      I followed the original recipe, but added a grated garlic clove, after reading the reviews. I enjoyed the moist texture but will add sweet corn kernels to give it more of a hushpuppie-like" taste. I will also do a teaspoon size dollop, should cook through more evenly, I think. A great way to use the plethera of yellow squash I have in my freezer from this summers garden!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      Thanks for posting this very yummy recipe. I added 2 teaspoons of sugar because I like sweet cornbread and I grated a clove of garlic to even out the onion...It was just great! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      first off, i replaced cornmeal w/ cornflour, so maybe this is why i had creamy centers...but, it just didnt work for me. Hardly any flavor. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      These were very good. Good for using up squash. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yellow Squash Puffs

    Serving Size: 1 (93 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 109.3
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    14%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 406.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes