36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

everyone will love these as an alternative to the someimes dry hush-puppies. If you'd like to have a little more zing to your squash puffs - substitute fish fry instead of the cornmeal...this gives it a little more seasoning with some spice to it.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lee Calhoun June 02, 2002

yummy! A good way to hide veggies from kids since they look and taste like hushpuppies! We loved them

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Malriah August 21, 2001

These are delicious! I made them as written but plan on try some of the suggestions of the other reviewers, especially adding southwestern flavors and sweet corn to the batter. This was an excellent recipe to help me use up the bumper crop of yellow squash coming out of my garden. Thanks Riffraff :)
***8/26/11****Adding stars and also want to comment that these reheat really well, SO, since we're getting so sick and tired of squash (been eating it for 3 weeks now), I'm going to make a huge batch of these and freeze them to eat during the winter, I'm sure we'll love squash again in January!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude August 26, 2011

Tasty little things, but mine were more flat like a pancake or latke. Not sure why they lost their shape. I used an electric skillet and thought it worked pretty slick.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachie P August 18, 2010

My family loved these things... ! I made them even more delish by using lard. Yes, that four letter word. Try it and I promise the final result will not seem so greasy or heavy after you've eaten a dozen! This recipe should definitely be doubled in order to make a decent amount. I used about 4 medium sized squash to do it and then food processed the squash to make it nice and mashed. Also food processed the onions.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lunalupina July 06, 2010

Fantastic! I made these to use up some yellow squash and zucchini. I made quantity for 6 servings, added a whole can of corn, and a tablespoon of sugar. Served alongside baked fish sticks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spectatrix May 31, 2009

These are a family favorite! I also add some cayenne pepper when certain ones will not be eating this... I enjoy the little bounce of flavor... also, use white cornmeal as the meal will not color the yellow squash. You should try these with a little hand grated cheddar added to the batter... Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lutie March 13, 2009

Tasty little puffs! I would add a little more seasoning next time, maybe cayenne or thyme and maybe make them a little smaller. Great way to use up all those yellow squash that are around this time of year. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview October 11, 2014

These puffed up nice. I modified the recipe slightly for my picky eater. DD loved the hush puppies served on our summer vacation down south. I omitted the onion and added about 1 c.whole kernel sweet corn in its place. I doubled the recipe and used a whole medium fresh squash, shredded, with skin on in the food processor using the grating attachment (no prior cooking required!). <br/>My DS wanted ketchup on his, we also had some with honey.This is a really fun way to use up a little yellow squash and get some veggies in otherwise (because they wouldn't eat squash knowing it was in there). <br/>Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau March 24, 2014

Really enjoyed this. I added a little less onion and then put in onion powder instead, just simply because I wanted my children to eat them. I also put the smashed squash into a stainer and shook out excess water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smboule March 02, 2013
Yellow Squash Puffs