33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are a WINNER!! My 10 yr.old daughter took home 2nd place in the 2010 NC Mountain State Fair. She did replace 1/2 the flour with wheat flour. This year we are going to try the substitutions mentioned here. Thanks for a winning recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lcmomof6 May 30, 2011

I'll be making these again! These taste just like a regular sweet muffin. Next time I'll add blueberries or maybe diced apples and cinnamin. I did use a stick of light margarine instead of butter without a problem. I wouldn't go out and buy squash in order to make this recipe, but it's a great recipe when you have lots of squash to use up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun May 22, 2007

These are yummy, and you'd never guess they were made with squash! I tweaked the recipe by substituting butter with oil and apple sauce, and I added cinnamon and chocolate chips. I think the squash kept the muffins moist and gave it a softer texture. I pureed the boiled squash using a food processor. Everyone seemed to enjoy these muffins :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dorichydd2 January 18, 2015

This is a DELICIOUS recipe! I had several squash just going to waste, but found this recipe. My kids ate 2 at dinner, and I think I did as well. My youngest even said I should bring this as a snack for his Scout den (haha- we said we wouldn't tell the boys that it was good for them!).

Following the recipe, it made 2 dozen regular size muffins and almost 2 dozen mini-muffins!

This one is definitely staying in my cookbook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BusyB September 12, 2012

I love the taste, and so glad to solve of my too-much-squash problem :P
But I did not have everything as the recipe suggests so I made my own modification
Here is the details
http://www.chaisfood.com/2012/08/squash-muffins.html
Basically I cut the whole amount in half.
And next time, I would add a little bit more squash since I am crazy about the creamy taste in the muffin.
In short, very easy to have a good outcome and love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChaiP August 30, 2012

What to do with an over abundance of beautiful summer squash from the garden? Make these muffins! I'll admit I was a little freaked out at first, but when I took the first bite my taste buds danced. Kinda reminded me of a corn muffin but softer and more moist. I followed the recipe exactly. Glad the applesauce substitution was made because I have eaten several of these. My kids and husband love them as much as i did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice August 11, 2012

Holy mother of God!!!!!!! Oh Caramel, these are amazing! Like a ton of others, I had copious amounts of squash in my garden. The only thing I changed was I added some allspice and raisins to the last batch..... oh, and margarine instead of butter. Thank you sooooo much! I would consider buying squash to make these little naughties!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
932ninja July 20, 2012

Amazing! I will definitely be making these again. As everyone has said it tastes like a regular sweet muffin. I added to half the batch cinnamon, and the other half I left it as is. I did make 2 changes, I added a quarter cup of sour cream to the mix and used cake flour instead of regular flour. DELISH! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ivonneqt June 05, 2012

Great muffin, almost like a cornbread muffin, but softer in texture. Followed the recipe exactly, had company for dinner that ate 3, took 2 home and asked for the recipe! 3 year old loved them, so that makes them a winner in my book. I love recipes that you can add in healthy things, like squash, and have everyone enjoy them. Great way to use squash if you have it. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 September 23, 2011

The flavor of these muffins is only so-so. I think they need some fruit (cranberries, dried apricots?) or spice to add a flavor punch. They taste a little pasty from so much white flour--next time, I will definitely do half whole wheat flour. Also, they have just a bit too much baking powder, in my opinion. I can taste the sharpness in the finished muffin--reminds me a little too much of bisquick (not so good!). Also, a bit too much sugar for my taste--3/4 cup should be enough, and definitely some brown sugar should be subbed in. But, I'm happy to have used up my squash before it got too soft, and surprised how mild the squash flavor turned out to be!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starsurge September 18, 2011
Yellow Squash Muffins