Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yellow Split Pea Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yellow Split Pea Soup

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2004

      Ahhhh! Just the thing for a chilly January day. I am sitting here in a happy pepper/garlic glow (although, really, this is a fairly subtly spiced recipe.) Like all peas soups, this is better re-heated. I needed to add a bit more salt, probably because I used homemade, unsalted, chicken stock.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      There's nothing better on a frigid day in Montana than to have the wood stove cranked up and a pot of split pea soup simmering on the stove... I add more garlic, bay leaves, chopped carrots, sliced celery, and diced Yukon Gold potatoes to my soup --- my kitchen smells ~W~O~N~D~E~R~F~U~L~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      This was really good I will make it again often.Thank you so much for this easy and healthy soup.It was simple to convert to vegan and it was just packed with flavor.The oregano is what sends this right over the top.I would never have thought to use it in peas.Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      This soup is great! I wasn't sure that oregano and thyme would be the best compliments to split peas, but I was wrong. The flavors blend beautifully, and it's so healthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      Excellent. Smells and tastes delicious. Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      Simple and delicious. Thanks for posting! By the way, I found that 1 tsp of oil was enough for sauteing the onions, and I wound up cooking the split peas for more than an hour (maybe 1 hour, 20 minutes).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      A delicious Soup, my wife has periodically enriched it by adding, baby Lima beans, cooked cauliflower & cooked Ham, try it you will like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      Thank you so much for this recipe. My husband loved it! I added 4 bay leaves while it was simmering.This is really a keeper. Chirie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      Easy to make and tastier than I expected. I used a fresh chili pepper instead of hot sauce, and didn't have quite enough chicken broth, so topped up with veg broth. I threw it all in the crockpot, and went to work. On my return, it was cooked to perfection. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      Oh wow! This is super easy to make, very hearty and the taste is incredible. I told my DH I was making Split Pea Soup fo supper and I could tell he wasn't excited. Well, then he tasted the soup, and absolutely LOVED it! I added a little extra hot sauce, as suggested by others. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2006

      I'm vegetarian so I made this with veg. broth. Way too good. Better the next day too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2005

      My husband said this was the best pea soup I have ever made - it certainly was the easiest! Instead of making it on the stove, I dumped everything into a crock pot and let it cook all day. I did increase the seasonings and used a fresh chili pepper instead of the hot sauce. This had a nice thick consistency and great favor. Thank you for posting - I'll definitely make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2005

      My Mum made wonderful Danish Yellow Pea soup and I never copied down a recipe- this is the closest to it that I have tasted. I did increase the hot sauce to 1/2 tsp. Perfect lunch for a rainy damp day Thanks Derf for bringing back kichen memories from long ago

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2005

      This is the kind of winter fare I could live on for months -- hearty, easy to make and full of flavour. I agree this is so much better the day after you make it. Full of garlic with a gentle heat. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2004

      Satisfying and filling soup that I adjusted slightly by adding ham to Dh's portion and using two chopped chiles rather than hot sauce. Looking forward to having it again for lunch tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yellow Split Pea Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (332 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 248.0
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    77%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 892.4 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 17.5 g
    70%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 17.2 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites