Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yellow Split Pea Dal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yellow Split Pea Dal

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2003

      I made this as part of our dinner last night. I did use oil instead of butter. This dal was really lacking in taste. I added 1/2 a tsp. of black pepper, 1 whole tsp.(heaped) of red chilli powder, 1 more tsp. of salt and the juice of 1 lemon. It was much better then. I served it with steaming hot white rice topped with a dollop of low-fat plain yoghurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Basic recipe, but lacked flavor. Added teaspoon each of pure red chili powder, coriander powder, cumin powder, and sprinkled some garam masala on top (omitted cinnamon). Added some onion with the mustard/cumin seeds. Much more salt neededthan 1/4 teaspoon. At least 1 teaspoon of salt. Also, I only had whole yellow split peas. I didn't soak them, but put them in the pressure cooker. It took about a half hour on high to get them to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      It is a wonderful dish. My husband is from Pakistan and completely loved it. I made it fairly thick and we ate it with paratha, which is an oily flat bread. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      Yummy, inexpensive and easy to prepare. We also found we needed to add a little more salt than the recipe calls for, so I'd suggest salting to taste. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Fantastic is an understatement! This was amazing especially considering that I really thought I'd screwed it up. I wanted to double it, so used 2 cups peas and 10 cups water and added a little onion powder to the water. Well about 2 hours later, I kind of had forgotten about it, and the peas were cooked to mush and there seemed to be WAY too much water. I almost scrapped the project but decided to proceed. I doubled the spices (since I'd doubled the peas)used a bit of olive oil (no butter) and used jarred crushed garlic (about 1 TBS), cumin powder (about 1.5 tsp) and used garlic salt instead of regular. I omitted the pepper and red pepper flaked but added a bit of red chili pepper. I added the very watery pea mixture back to the spices and prayed! I didn't need to add any additional water, just let it sit for a bit after mixing the peas in... it thickened up perfectly and had the best tasted and texture. I did a little more garlic salt in the end and sprinkled some garam masala too. Served on brown rice. This is mild (not spicy like some Indian dishes) but we LOVED it. My 3 year old did too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      Yes, indeed very nice. Easy to make, nothing to add. I used half peas half lentils. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      Quite delicious. Even my picky eater liked this one over brown jasmine rice. I found myself adding more tumeric, cinammon, and salt to taste. When mixing the cooked peas with the spices, I didn't add that much more water because the consistency was where I wanted it. But it did thicken up a bit as I was serving it, so I next time I'll make it a little thinner as I finish it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Addictively delicious - I couldn't stop eating it. After reading the "lacking in taste" review, I substituted broth for water and increased the spices a tad but found the flavors from the cumin seed and brown mustard seed to be really intense. The amount of spices in the recipe would have been perfect. Also maybe I did something wrong but I only had enough to serve two people. This was so yummy (and inexpensive) that next time I'll increase it to make the whole bag of split peas so there will be lots of leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      Our family loves a certain red lentil dal recipe, but I wanted to try a new split pea dish. This recipe was voted even better than our old standby, and it seems pretty forgiving. I was in a hurry, so I kept the heat on the split peas a bit higher than a slow simmer as the directions called for. I also added them to the spice mixture while there was still some cooking liquid left, rather than adding an additional 1/2 cup water at the end. Next time I will double the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      doubled this and made it for a potluck, It was inexpencive and easy and enjoyed by all, added powdered ginger too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2005

      very nice recipe. i did make some adjustments though: used ghee for butter, and i added abt 1/2tsp each of garam masala, chili powder, coriander powder and cumin powder. i also sauted some onion with the whole spices in the tempering. garnished with cilantro and those was an excellent complement to veg biryani.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2004

      This review has been written for "Yellow split pea Dal Yellow Split Pea Dal by Kimke", and is not intended for any other version of this recipe there may be. This was pretty good. I liked how the long cooking time broke down the split peas and I didn't have to puree this in the blender. I did not find it to be lacking in taste. In fact, I used 1/2 tsp. cayenne instead of pepper flakes and 1/4 tsp. black pepper, and found it to be much spicier than the dals I am used to, which have a more subtle flavoring. I also used 5 cloves garlic (since I like garlic) but did find it to be too much for the delicate flavor of the dal. While the spice level is not a problem for me, this is not something my daughter would care for, although she likes dal. Next time I would go less on the garlic, do only a pinch cayenne, no black pepper and cut the other spices in half. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yellow Split Pea Dal

    Serving Size: 1 (357 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 228.3
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    26%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 200.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 12.9 g
    51%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 12.5 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites