Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yellow Sour Cream Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yellow Sour Cream Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on October 22, 2011

      Like others have said, the yield is way off. I got 36 cupcakes out of this recipe. I also found that cooking them for 17 min. was the perfect amount of time. The cupcakes were not as good as I had expected. However, the cream cheese icing was phenominal! Next time, I will make a box of betty crocker cupcakes and load it up with the icing. I also thought that they icing would be great as a filling for some puff pastry. My advice, skip the cupcakes and just make a batch of icing instead!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      I made these cupcakes a few days ago and they are still just as perfect as they were when they came out of the oven!! YUM! The best recipe I have tried so far. I made half of these and ended up with 18 cupcakes so be careful. I filled the cupcakes 2/3 full and they came out perfect. I also baked them for about 17 mins on 350. Thanks for a great recipe!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      I didn't make the batter into cupcakes. Instead, I lined and greased two 9" cake pans and poured the batter into them. The recipe says to fill the cupcakes molds all the way to the top. However, I was a little skeptical to do this for the cake pans. I split the batter in half and dumped them each in a cake pan. It was so so so close to the top. I really thought that they would go over the edge while they cooked so I put both of the pans on a cookie sheet. They did go over, so I am very thankful I did that. I cut the tops off to make a flat cake to stack. The cake was so delicious though! I ended up eating the scraps I cut off. I couldn't stop myself! My chocolate cake friends who claim not to like yellow cake, liked this cake better than the chocolate cake I made. It was DIVINE! The cake was so light and fluffy. It had the perfect soft, spongy, but not soggy, squishy texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      These cupcakes are really delicious. Always a hit whenever I make them. Be cautious when filling the cups, though. I only fill 2/3 to the top and I still get a giant, puffed over cupcake. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2006

      Oh, my goodness were these cupcakes delicious! I cut the recipe directly in half and got 12 large cupcakes and enough frosting to generously frost each cupcake. The instructions say to fill the cupcake liners with batter to the top. In my case, that was actually a little too much batter. The cupcakes rose beautifully and most overflowed their cupcake tin. I think next time I will try filling the tins about 3/4 full to get a beautifully rounded cupcake. Try this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2012

      Delicious, simple cupcakes. Didn't worry about room temperature for certain ingredients, and all was fine. A hit with big and little people. Un-frosted too! THREE CAVEATS: (1) baking temp is longer: nearer to 30 min for regular-size cupcakes & 20 min for mini's; (2) Yield is way off; I made the recipe twice in the past two months - first time doubled recipe ended w/ 70 cupcakes; second time single batch & ended w/ 48 minis 16 regulars; (3) batter increases greatly in volume - aim for no more than 1/2-2/3 full.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2011

      This recipe is delicious! I would have given it five stars, but the cooking time and yield is off.

      When I made this recipe, I first split the recipe in half (so it would be 10-12 instead of 20-24). I ended up getting 16 cupcakes with the half recipe! I also added 1/2 teaspoon of ginger and cinnimon, and 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves. I wanted a spiced cake to put my peach buttercream frosting on. These cupcakes come out of the paper well and also have a wonderful texture, feeling spongy, but remaining moist. They also took about 15 minutes to bake, honestly almost like clockwork. What an easy treat to make! I made them as a going away present and I am making them again for St. Patty's Day! Wonder what variation I will use next...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      This recipe is the best yellow cake recipe I have ever found! The cake is sweet and moist. I have made it numerous times for family and friends and it always gets rave reviews. It not only bakes well for cupcakes but it also works well for cakes of any shape or size. This recipe makes alot of cupcakes! At least 24 depending on how much you fill the cups. If you're making a cake, do not fill it to the top...I would say no more than 2/3 full because it will rise and you'll end up having to cook it longer and cut off the top to level it. I have also used it to make marbled cupcakes by adding some melted chocolate chips to a cup of the batter and swirling it with the yellow batter in the cupcake wrappers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      These are really delicate tasting cupcakes. I topped them with chocolate ganache but I'll definitely give the cream cheese frosting a go soon. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      These cupcakes are excellent! I opted to use a chocolate buttercream frosting because I didn't have any cream cheese (Kittencal's Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing is great), cut back a bit on the sugar, and (out of necessity) scaled the butter back to 16 tablespoons (2 blocks) and used 7 large eggs since I didn't have any extra large. The cake is moist with a fine crumb and holds together well when the paper liner is removed, and the flavor is wonderful! The only thing that seems a little off is the yield - I got 24 cupcake (filled 3/4 full, which overflowed a bit and spread over the top of the pan) and still had enough batter left over for a 9" square cake! If you're using a standard size cupcake tin, I would suggest filling it 1/2 to 2/3 full at the most. This is a very, very tasty cake though, and I will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      these have such a nice texture and flavor! nothing "plain jane" about these! the only problem i had was the bottoms were getting burnt. not sure if it was the new liners i was using or my oven was too hot. i turned it down to 325 and we were okay after that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      Unbelievable. I've tried to find a yellow-cake recipe that beats the standard box (which I personally love) forever. I can't ever get the yellow cake to turn out well - moist, not too dense. THESE ARE IT!!!! I'll never buy a box again. The first time we made them we did 1/2 and there were 12 HUGE cupcakes. They were so good that we skipped the frosting. Now I'm making them again for Valentine's day - they are a new favorite - requested frequently in our family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      I also did a half recipe. I had 12 really, almost too big cupcakes. The cake was moist and tender. The frosting is incredible! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      I half the recipe and they are so good,the icing is just plain delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      Love this recipe...I half the recipe and i used lite sour cream and it came out perfectly, i will be using it many many more times...thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2006

      These were sooo yummy! I cut the recipe in half and still had a ton of cupcakes. I've been searching forever for a moist yummy cake with sour cream. This is it. You must try this!!! I agree, don't fill the cups much past 2/3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yellow Sour Cream Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (2960 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 595.3
     
    Calories from Fat 322
    54%
    Total Fat 35.8 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 21.5 g
    107%
    Cholesterol 150.8 mg
    50%
    Sodium 287.1 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.6 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 47.9 g
    191%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes