16 Reviews

Like others have said, the yield is way off. I got 36 cupcakes out of this recipe. I also found that cooking them for 17 min. was the perfect amount of time. The cupcakes were not as good as I had expected. However, the cream cheese icing was phenominal! Next time, I will make a box of betty crocker cupcakes and load it up with the icing. I also thought that they icing would be great as a filling for some puff pastry. My advice, skip the cupcakes and just make a batch of icing instead!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buffyfan#1 October 22, 2011

I made these cupcakes a few days ago and they are still just as perfect as they were when they came out of the oven!! YUM! The best recipe I have tried so far. I made half of these and ended up with 18 cupcakes so be careful. I filled the cupcakes 2/3 full and they came out perfect. I also baked them for about 17 mins on 350. Thanks for a great recipe!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jendendenor March 14, 2011

I didn't make the batter into cupcakes. Instead, I lined and greased two 9" cake pans and poured the batter into them. The recipe says to fill the cupcakes molds all the way to the top. However, I was a little skeptical to do this for the cake pans. I split the batter in half and dumped them each in a cake pan. It was so so so close to the top. I really thought that they would go over the edge while they cooked so I put both of the pans on a cookie sheet. They did go over, so I am very thankful I did that. I cut the tops off to make a flat cake to stack. The cake was so delicious though! I ended up eating the scraps I cut off. I couldn't stop myself! My chocolate cake friends who claim not to like yellow cake, liked this cake better than the chocolate cake I made. It was DIVINE! The cake was so light and fluffy. It had the perfect soft, spongy, but not soggy, squishy texture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoegirl21 July 15, 2009

These cupcakes are really delicious. Always a hit whenever I make them. Be cautious when filling the cups, though. I only fill 2/3 to the top and I still get a giant, puffed over cupcake. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyLM April 03, 2009

Oh, my goodness were these cupcakes delicious! I cut the recipe directly in half and got 12 large cupcakes and enough frosting to generously frost each cupcake. The instructions say to fill the cupcake liners with batter to the top. In my case, that was actually a little too much batter. The cupcakes rose beautifully and most overflowed their cupcake tin. I think next time I will try filling the tins about 3/4 full to get a beautifully rounded cupcake. Try this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon February 10, 2006

Delicious, simple cupcakes. Didn't worry about room temperature for certain ingredients, and all was fine. A hit with big and little people. Un-frosted too! THREE CAVEATS: (1) baking temp is longer: nearer to 30 min for regular-size cupcakes & 20 min for mini's; (2) Yield is way off; I made the recipe twice in the past two months - first time doubled recipe ended w/ 70 cupcakes; second time single batch & ended w/ 48 minis 16 regulars; (3) batter increases greatly in volume - aim for no more than 1/2-2/3 full.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caromcg April 05, 2012

This recipe is delicious! I would have given it five stars, but the cooking time and yield is off.

When I made this recipe, I first split the recipe in half (so it would be 10-12 instead of 20-24). I ended up getting 16 cupcakes with the half recipe! I also added 1/2 teaspoon of ginger and cinnimon, and 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves. I wanted a spiced cake to put my peach buttercream frosting on. These cupcakes come out of the paper well and also have a wonderful texture, feeling spongy, but remaining moist. They also took about 15 minutes to bake, honestly almost like clockwork. What an easy treat to make! I made them as a going away present and I am making them again for St. Patty's Day! Wonder what variation I will use next...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
musicnfood-1990 March 10, 2011

This recipe is the best yellow cake recipe I have ever found! The cake is sweet and moist. I have made it numerous times for family and friends and it always gets rave reviews. It not only bakes well for cupcakes but it also works well for cakes of any shape or size. This recipe makes alot of cupcakes! At least 24 depending on how much you fill the cups. If you're making a cake, do not fill it to the top...I would say no more than 2/3 full because it will rise and you'll end up having to cook it longer and cut off the top to level it. I have also used it to make marbled cupcakes by adding some melted chocolate chips to a cup of the batter and swirling it with the yellow batter in the cupcake wrappers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Musicat_80 October 29, 2010

These are really delicate tasting cupcakes. I topped them with chocolate ganache but I'll definitely give the cream cheese frosting a go soon. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose August 29, 2010

These cupcakes are excellent! I opted to use a chocolate buttercream frosting because I didn't have any cream cheese (Kittencal's Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing is great), cut back a bit on the sugar, and (out of necessity) scaled the butter back to 16 tablespoons (2 blocks) and used 7 large eggs since I didn't have any extra large. The cake is moist with a fine crumb and holds together well when the paper liner is removed, and the flavor is wonderful! The only thing that seems a little off is the yield - I got 24 cupcake (filled 3/4 full, which overflowed a bit and spread over the top of the pan) and still had enough batter left over for a 9" square cake! If you're using a standard size cupcake tin, I would suggest filling it 1/2 to 2/3 full at the most. This is a very, very tasty cake though, and I will definitely make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chilicat May 24, 2010
Yellow Sour Cream Cupcakes