9 Reviews

This rice is superb!!!I Very flavorful . I scaled it down to 2 servings, After reading the reviews, I cut the sugar in half and it was the right amount of sweetness. This was easy to make. I cook my rice in a skillet rather than a saucepan. It is able to spread out a little bit more, making it cook more evenly. I use a glass lid so that I can check on it every few minutes. I did not add the raisins because i really don't care for them .But I might get me a small box and try this recipe with them You did good with this recipe my gypsy sister. Made for ZWT4 Family favorites and the Cafe ZMAKK Gypsies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof July 04, 2008

Zurie - I have a confession - I have made this dozens of times, but have never posted a review - sorry! I made this again at the beginning of the week to accompany a curry - and we all loved it, as always! I also added some cardamom seeds - I am addicted to them! I know I have a photo somehere.........I'll hunt for it and post it when I find it! Made for ZWT4 this time - but has been made many times before! Merci! FT:-) NB: I always use the full amount of sugar posted, usually soft brown sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart June 26, 2008

A little unusual, but tasty. I took into account the other reviewers and decreased the amount of sugar. Just enough sweetness to notice, but not overwhelming. Served this with Recipe #3102582. I think next time I will go for a curry. Thnx for posting Zurie. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter June 25, 2008

Made this enjoyable rice dish to go with a bobotie recipe. I liked the dish, but found it to be a little too sweet for our tastes. I think next time I would either reduce the amount of sugar somewhat or reduce the amount of cinnamon, as another reviewer suggested. We made the rice in our rice cooker and followed the directions as posted. Our rice turned out a little on the dry side, so if using a rice cooker, future reviewers may wish to increase the amount of water used (maybe another 1/4 to 1/2 cup). Thank you for posting this nice dish. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny June 24, 2008

This was very good. We were surprised at the sweetness! I made this to serve with an African curry, but we thought it was too sweet to go with it. I would use one cinnamon stick next time, but that's just personal preference. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scarlett516 June 22, 2008

The whole family liked this sweet rice and it was very easy to make. I make this for the Chic Chefs during Zaar World Tour 4, Thanks for a great recipe, Zurie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie3551 June 22, 2008

Loved the sweetness and the color of this rice. I used seedless black raisins and served a curry on top. Quite easy to do. I just dumped all the ingredients in, brought the rice to a boil and turned down the heat and simmered for about 20 minutes. Made for Photo Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff May 11, 2008

Very yummy and easy to make. I did substitute currants for raisins as that is what I had on hand. Good side dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paws in Hand February 20, 2007
Yellow Rice (Begrafnisrys)