Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yellow Rice (Begrafnisrys) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yellow Rice (Begrafnisrys)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2010

    • on July 04, 2008

      This rice is superb!!!I Very flavorful . I scaled it down to 2 servings, After reading the reviews, I cut the sugar in half and it was the right amount of sweetness. This was easy to make. I cook my rice in a skillet rather than a saucepan. It is able to spread out a little bit more, making it cook more evenly. I use a glass lid so that I can check on it every few minutes. I did not add the raisins because i really don't care for them .But I might get me a small box and try this recipe with them You did good with this recipe my gypsy sister. Made for ZWT4 Family favorites and the Cafe ZMAKK Gypsies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Zurie - I have a confession - I have made this dozens of times, but have never posted a review - sorry! I made this again at the beginning of the week to accompany a curry - and we all loved it, as always! I also added some cardamom seeds - I am addicted to them! I know I have a photo somehere.........I'll hunt for it and post it when I find it! Made for ZWT4 this time - but has been made many times before! Merci! FT:-) NB: I always use the full amount of sugar posted, usually soft brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      A little unusual, but tasty. I took into account the other reviewers and decreased the amount of sugar. Just enough sweetness to notice, but not overwhelming. Served this with Recipe #3102582. I think next time I will go for a curry. Thnx for posting Zurie. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      Made this enjoyable rice dish to go with a bobotie recipe. I liked the dish, but found it to be a little too sweet for our tastes. I think next time I would either reduce the amount of sugar somewhat or reduce the amount of cinnamon, as another reviewer suggested. We made the rice in our rice cooker and followed the directions as posted. Our rice turned out a little on the dry side, so if using a rice cooker, future reviewers may wish to increase the amount of water used (maybe another 1/4 to 1/2 cup). Thank you for posting this nice dish. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      This was very good. We were surprised at the sweetness! I made this to serve with an African curry, but we thought it was too sweet to go with it. I would use one cinnamon stick next time, but that's just personal preference. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      The whole family liked this sweet rice and it was very easy to make. I make this for the Chic Chefs during Zaar World Tour 4, Thanks for a great recipe, Zurie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      Loved the sweetness and the color of this rice. I used seedless black raisins and served a curry on top. Quite easy to do. I just dumped all the ingredients in, brought the rice to a boil and turned down the heat and simmered for about 20 minutes. Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      Very yummy and easy to make. I did substitute currants for raisins as that is what I had on hand. Good side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yellow Rice (Begrafnisrys)

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.3
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    58%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 588.5 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.9 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 17.1 g
    68%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites