69 Reviews

I LOVE this recipe! it is so good! the only thing I would do any different is bake the crust a bit first as the egg and butter sort of made mine not get as crisp as it should, this is easy and delicious and is perfect for summer and all that squash... I made mine with yellow as I have that growing and I am glad that I have alot because I can't wait to make this again, it will be a huge hit at potlucks and bbq's this summer. thanks so much for the recipe.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna June 30, 2002

This is definetely the best zucchini pie I've ever tasted! It's gooey and the cheese that oozes when you bite into it is a5{c! MMM, yum yum yum! I followed the recipe to a T, and result is heavenly. But then next time I make this (tomorrow perhaps!?) I'd also add some nutmeg and some more cheese on top. Everybody loved this dish, even the pickest kid in the family!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Izzy Knight July 14, 2002

This was one of those times when my tummy was full, but my mouth still craved more! :) No crescent rolls on hand, so I used a deep-dish pie crust, adding a red bell pepper and a couple of tomatoes since I needed extra volume. They tasted great and added nice color. This is a delicious and versatile dish that we'll enjoy many times. Thanks for sharing!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton August 16, 2009

Ok, first I have to say that I made this as a casserole and did not put it on a crust. But DON'T think for a minute that it isn't delicious. Want your child to eat veggies? My 7 YO DS had 3 servings! I used all yellow squash fresh from my Dad's garden. I also used 2 T butter and 2 T olive oil to saute rather than the full amount of butter. The basil and oregano gave a wonderful flavor to the squash, I could have eaten it just like that without the cheese or eggs to hold it together! Can't wait to try it with zucchini! Thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColCadsMom July 08, 2008

What a wonderful recipe. I'm getting ready to make for the 4th time. I take other's advice and prebake the crust. I prebake about 8-10 minutes. The Dijon mustard is an excellent touch. Makes me look forward to the squash crop :) as this is what to do when you have too many of the rascals.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmallTownGirl May 23, 2010

This was soooo good! I've made it twice already and each time was just remarkable. My dh doesn't really like summer squash but loved this. The mustard and crescent rolls were amazing together! Thanks.
2nd review here. Haven't made this for a year or two... I sub'd a few things and it was still 5 stars. I sub'd egg beaters (slightly more than 1/2 Cup), regular store bought pie crust & used 1/2 zucchini and 1/2 yellow squash some portobello mushrooms. I sprinkled just a little feta on top of half for the adults. Delicious. The crescent rolls make it a little more decadent, but the regular pie crust was more than adequate.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef C.S. November 24, 2012

This time of year when squash is plentiful, prompts me to look for new recipes using squash. This is so good and very easy to make. Using packaged crescent rolls, makes a quick & easy crust. I pre-baked the crust about 10 minutes before adding the squash mixture. It kept the crust from getting soggy. I used a five cheese blend instead of the mozzarella. The Dijon mustard, gives it a unique taste, but doesn't distract from the rest of the flavors. I agree with one of the other reviewers in that the next time, I'll use less butter. I used 3/4 of a stick of salted butter, but next time I'll cut that to about 3 Tbls. My husband loved it. He started with "just a little" and came back for seconds. It reheats well in the microwave too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GO PSU February 13, 2011

This was good. I was looking for something different to do with zuchs and I chose your recipe. I loved the cheesy goodness of this dish. The crust made with the cresent rolls was really good too. I will use that idea with other recipes too. Thank you for sharing this good recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 09, 2010

Loved it! I wasn't sure about the mustard,but it really gave it flavor. I rolled out canned biscuits, omitted the onion, and used sharp cheddar and parmesan. it was wonderful. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Retro Kali July 06, 2010

I rly enjoy thi recepty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
egzoss November 14, 2013
Yellow or Zucchini Squash Pie