10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

DH and I really enjoyed this and can't wait to share it with family and friends! I made a smaller batch --for 2- so I nuked the syrup for 2 minutes instead of putting it on the stove. Served with Cumin Flatbread, carrots, and Greek Lamb Casserole. Thank you Galley Wench for posting. Made for Unrulies Under the Influence during ZWT6 --NA*ME.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal June 15, 2010

I felt so fancy while eating this. It was one of those exquisite recipes,that you see being made by a fancy chef and think you'll have to pay a lot in a five star restaurant. It was simple to make and while I thought the syrup will be too sweet,it worked out just fine since the cantaloupe wasn't on the sweet side. Left the wine out for DDs,I sprinkled some red wine on mine and it was fine with or without.Made for ZWT6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia June 14, 2010

This recipe screamed: "Oooh, pick me, pick me!" ;) And I'm glad I did! Yesterday I found fresh organic yellow watermelon at the natural food store and I knew the perfect recipe would present itself. Subbed ouzo for muscatel but other than that, stayed true to the recipe. Next time I'll grab a bottle of muscatel and try it out. Thanks for posting! Reviewed for ZWT #6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl June 08, 2010

For a ZWT challenge, I did this without the sugar, substituting 1/4 cup chopped raisins. (In sugar equivalency, this is a less than the recipe amount.) I also used 4 tbl of lemon juice, with no vinegar. Instead of balls, I cut thin slices of melon. I didn't strain the syrup, so used the raisin bits as garnish. It came out fine, but the melon by itself would have been fine, too, or just sprinkled with the wine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
realbirdlady June 27, 2008

I loved the flavor! I reduced the recipe for one, using honey dew and cantalope. I left out the wine. The salt and pepper, vinegar and sugar, what a lovely mix of tastes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 28, 2006

I greatly reduced the recipe and used Splenda for the sweetner. Before pouring the syrup over the fruit, I quick chilled the syrup. I sprinkled some chopped mint over everything before placing in the fridge to chill. It is really a wonderful salad. Skipped the salt and pepper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 25, 2006

This salad is now in the fridge with the ingredients getting acquainted. I made it for dinner but neglected to read " refrigerate for several hours before serving." I guess that will be my bedtime snack. Darn the luck;-) I sampled as I was making (Chef's License) & it was so flavorful! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie June 22, 2006

I scaled this recipe to half and used Greek Mavrodaphne wine in place of the muscatel. This had really nice flavour - with a great sweet/tart thing going on. The Mavrodaphne gave a nice muskiness to it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 23, 2008

I greatly reduced the amount of ingredients here to make a smaller salad and used splenda in place of the sugar. I wasn't crazy about the wine, but I thought everything else was very nice. On the other hand DH loved it and rated it 5 stars. Thank you for sharing your recipe! —

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D June 20, 2006

super dessert for the hot summer months

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noreenruth June 19, 2006
Yellow Melon Muscatel (Melon Salad)