9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have tried several of your recipes before so I already knew that this one would be tried and true. I served this with fresh strawberries and whip cream. My family couldn't get enough of it. The only change I made was to use a Lemon Cake Mix instead of a yellow cake mix because that is all I had in my pantry. This is such an easy recipe that everyone should give it a try. Thanks Miss Nezz.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M August 20, 2003

It is very easy to make and takes no time. I only used half the amount and bake 35 min. I like it when first came out of oven, nice and warm. Definitely would make it again, maybe with different flavor of pudding mix.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sylvia819 July 18, 2003

I made this just as said, topped it with powdered sugar and it was eaten before anything at dinner it was so good! Moist, lemony, light, delicious. This is one I will make often. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Narshmellow June 18, 2003

Does it get any easier than this? What a simple dessert! I used both lemon cake mix and lemon pudding, and while the colour is a wonderful yellow, I was a little surprised the lemon flavour wasn't stronger; it was definitely there, but subtle. I served this with some whipped cream and my family gave it their thumbs-up. The only suggestion I have is to watch the time very carefully; I reducued my oven temp to 325F since I was using a glass 9x13 pan, and still the cake was done, even a tad overdone, at just 40 minutes. The next time I make this--and there definitely will be a next time--I will check the cake even earlier. Thanks for the recipe, Inez; it's gone into my "keeper" folder.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie January 03, 2004

My DMIL makes a poppyseed cake with this recipe but using a lemon cake mix and coconut cream pudding mix so knew this would be a fantastic cake. Baked in my bundt pan and did add a light sprinkling of powder sugar. I think a lemon glaze would be a nice touch too. Made and reviewed for MizzNezz's Cookathon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 October 30, 2012

This is a great simple recipe to make on a hot day when you want something sweet but don't want to be in the kitchen too long.I also added a tsp of lemon extract.I used almond icing on top of these,very tasty and moist!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny August 05, 2009

This is a fantastic cake! I would give it more stars if I could! I made it for my annual Canada Day barbeque and I got so many compliments. Moist and delicious, and freezes well as I had made it a week before hand and stored it in the freezer. I used lemon cake mix and iced it with white icing after I took it out of the freezer. Well written and easy to follow recipe, thanks for a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ July 06, 2005

How easy! And the lemon flavor is not too strong so I can get my daughter to eat it too! Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeMom June 17, 2005

Completely easy to make--a great treat for a Saturday night (and Sunday morning breakfast!). Moist, yet firm--holds up to snacking while holding it in one hand. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmelyn April 11, 2004
Yellow Lemony Cake