Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yellow Curry Chicken (Thai Soup) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yellow Curry Chicken (Thai Soup)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2010

      O-M-G!!!!! This curry is incredibly tasty, yummy and delicious! I halved the recipe with no trouble, used onions, mushrooms and green onions for the veggies, added extra carrots and peas. I also used 50% coconut milk / 50% chicken stock the regular stock addition to lighten the dish up a bit. Even with the reduced coconut milk it still had incredible flavour. I served it over basmati rice. It is real pretty, too! This is definitely a keeper recipe that I will come back to; thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Great thai curry recipe! I love thai yellow curry and have been wanting to make it at home... I was just looking for the right recipe. This one is VERY good, very authentic. It has just the right amount of spices. I halved the recipe and used potatoes, carrots, and yellow onion for my vegetables. If you don't have the fish sauce, I think you could leave it out without affecting the flavor. I did not taste it all in the end. I also added some red pepper flakes in the final simmer for an additional heat. It was great. I could barely eat it fast enough! hahaha... Will be making it again tonight and plan to keep this recipe permanently. Definately a winner! Thanks Chez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      We really enjoyed this. i did make it vegetarian by subbing tofu for the chicken and leaving out the fish sauce. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      I tried it and this was delicious! I've made it with the fish sauce and without, I personally prefer it with the fish sauce. Although, both ways are good! Served it over brown rice and doubled the sauce. Very tasty! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      Wonderful dish! I used the suggested mushrooms, onions, and asparagus for the veggies - will be sure to try zucchini when there is an abundance during the summer! I included the optional peas, used brown sugar, lite coconut milk, and low sodium chicken broth (and omitted the salt - personal preference). We very much enjoyed this. We liked the zip imparted by the curry powder. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      This is such an amazing recipe! I tweaked it a little by using yellow curry paste instead of red. I probably doubled to tripled the amount of paste and curry powder. I added ginger to the dish as well. I let it simmer for 30 minutes and added some cornstarch so the sauce would thicken it up. The result was terrific! I served it over basmati rice. Will be cooking this again sometime in the near future. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      This was really delicious and I will definitely be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      I left out the carrots, added some thai basil and substituted one of the potatoes with a sweet potato. Also I used yellow curry paste since I already had a container open. cubed my taters and boiled them for 5 minutes. The potato was a teeny bit undercooked, but the sweet potato was just right. Overall it turned out very well, especially considering this was only my 2nd curry ever. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      This is a great recipe! I like *Thai* curry sauce as it uses coconut milk, which compliments curry well. This was the first time I used curry paste as opposed to curry powder only. My mom really liked the sauce. She then made it for her company's party and said there were requests for the recipe. Thanks ChezNicolette!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      This was sooo good and very easy to make! My husband said it was just like the thai curry we enjoy at our favorite thai restaurant. I added long beans and mushrooms.. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      Fantastic Thai curry!!! It tasted just like the Masaman curry from my favorite Thai restaurant. I used light coconut milk and brown sugar for the sugar. I skipped the peas and for the veg I used mushrooms, onion, yams and zucchini. For ease of prep, I precooked the carrots, potatoes and my added yams the night before. I did add a splash of soy sauce (personal preference) and serve over jasmine rice with chopped cilantro on top. This is absolutely fantastic and I will make it again and again! You should make it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      I oftern think people are to generous with their ratings but this recipes deffinatley desveres 5 stars! it is easy to make and tastes delious!!! I have made it twicenow and make out perfect both times! YUM YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      I used yellow curry paste and left out the chicken. It was quite good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      This dish is wonderful!! I found it for my husband who was in the mood to make yellow curry. He added some cauliflower and celery in addition to the potatoes, carrots, onions and peas. It was served over jasmine rice. Thanks for a great Sunday meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      Fabulous! This was my best attempt at Thai yellow curry so far. The results were very close to restaurant quality. I used Mae Ploy red curry paste (very spicy). I think that I can improve on the taste by using a different curry powder than I did. I used a curry powder that I bought at an Indian grocer and the flavor ended up being slightly off so I will try some other yellow curry powders until I find one that is perfect with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      This was simply delicious. I left out the peas and the result was excellent! Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yellow Curry Chicken (Thai Soup)

    Serving Size: 1 (276 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 499.9
     
    Calories from Fat 177
    35%
    Total Fat 19.6 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 12.6 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 63.5 mg
    21%
    Sodium 477.1 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.0 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 41.4 g
    165%
    Protein 25.3 g
    50%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    assorted fresh vegetables

    red curry paste

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites