Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yellow Corn Muffins - Gluten Free (Like Jiffy Cornbread Mix) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yellow Corn Muffins - Gluten Free (Like Jiffy Cornbread Mix)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2010

      This is exactly what I was looking for. I usually have corn flour on hand from making tamales, tortillas, and other Mexican recipes. The thought had crossed my mind to use corn flour instead of regular flour in my corn muffins, but I never tried it. This recipe gives me another use for corn flour. Sometimes I like my corn muffins a little sweeter so I added 1/3 cup of sugar instead of 1/4 cup. I might even add a 1/2 cup of sugar when I make corn muffins for bean soup. I didn't know that corn flour was gluten free, which is another good thing about this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      I am very new to gluten free baking but found these well received by everyone. These were baked in cast iron baking ware and developed a nice crust. There was enough batter for 8 wedges and a small cast iron skillet of cornbread. I wouldn't hesitate to make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      Very good! I modifed this to accomdate a strict diet. Used rice milk lemon juice to sub as buttermilk. Used 1 T of a dairy/soy free margerine instead of shortening. Used 1 T ground flaxseed in place of one egg (plus one actual egg). Used a combo of gluten free flours in place of cornflour (coconut flour, white rice flour, and finely ground corn meal). Used approx. 1/2 t vanilla. I used a little less sugar than called for. Baked in muffin paper tins at 350 for about 16 min. They came out perfect, still moist but not doughy. Used med. ground corn meal and it gave it a more course crumbly texture, which we like. My husband who doesn't do gluten free or dairy free said they were good and tasted just like corn bread he gets from a popular fast food chain that serves corn bread. Next time I'll try it without egg and only flax sub.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2014

      Wow! These were the best corn muffins my husband and I have ever had! Taste so perfect with a little tiny crisp on the outside and deliciously soft on the inside. The only difference I made was instead of using shortening I used coconut oil. Other than that I did use paper cups rather than oil the pan. Perfect!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2014

      I used corn meal and corn flour. Shouldn't this recipe have some xanthan gum in it? It was like a brick. Very disappointed! In my opinion it's nothing like Jiffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      I'd prefer to give this 4 1/2 stars, but didn't think it was really a 5 star as it turned out this first time I've made it. Overall I was pleased, especially with the flavor, but the muffins were awfully heavy and dense. I was pleased that they weren?t crumbly, though, like a lot of gluten free recipes. I didn?t sift the dry ingredients, which may be the reason for the dense consistency. I used extra sugar and substituted coconut oil for the shortening. Based on other comments I baked them at 375 for 20 minutes, and it was definitely too long. Next time I?ll try 350 and start checking them after 20 minutes. The flavor is excellent (much like Jiffy mix) and for a gluten free recipe the texture was good. Definitely a keeper and one I?ll try tweaking a little to see if I can get a lighter result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      These came out really good. I used coconut oil because I didn't have shortening. They didn't take the whole 25 minutes I think because I used the square muffin pan (12 serving) so they are not as deep as the round muffin tins. Thank you. Next time I'll add vanilla and maybe some corn kernels.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      This recipe is a keeper! I added 1 cup frozen corn kernels to add moisture. Maybe I'll try cranberries next time...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      I used this recipe for my first attempt at gluten free cornbread and I didn't miss my old cornbread recipe at all! It was quite easy and very tasty. I followed the recipe exactly except I used coconut oil in place of the shortening and I cooked it in the oven in an iron skillet instead of making muffins. It turned out moist, slightly sweet, and with a cake-like consistency and because of the addition of coconut oil, it didn't even need butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      Great idea to use the masa harina instead of flour! This had a very nice flavor, and the texture was great - nice and crispy on the outside, with a tender inside. Thanks for sharing! PAC Spring '13

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      Made this recipe out excellent; everyone loved it !! Thanks for posting l!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      This works wonderfully! I've never used cornbread mix because it's not available in Germany, but this seems to be the perfect substitute. I used it for Easy Broccoli Bread which turned out perfect. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      It does taste pretty identical to the Jiffy mix. But If you like more cake-like cornbread (like me) I would skip this. It does have a great corn flavor, but I'm not a big fan of the grittiness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      Just pulled these out of the oven and they are fantastic! Super easy and quick. Only change I made was I did mini muffins. Baked at 350 for 12 minutes and they came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      This is a great recipe. The second time I made them they were even better. I changed the oven temp to 350 & only baked them for 19 minutes. They were perfect :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yellow Corn Muffins - Gluten Free (Like Jiffy Cornbread Mix)

    Serving Size: 1 (680 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.4
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    27%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 31.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 396.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites