18 Reviews

This is exactly what I was looking for. I usually have corn flour on hand from making tamales, tortillas, and other Mexican recipes. The thought had crossed my mind to use corn flour instead of regular flour in my corn muffins, but I never tried it. This recipe gives me another use for corn flour. Sometimes I like my corn muffins a little sweeter so I added 1/3 cup of sugar instead of 1/4 cup. I might even add a 1/2 cup of sugar when I make corn muffins for bean soup. I didn't know that corn flour was gluten free, which is another good thing about this recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. B March 21, 2010

I am very new to gluten free baking but found these well received by everyone. These were baked in cast iron baking ware and developed a nice crust. There was enough batter for 8 wedges and a small cast iron skillet of cornbread. I wouldn't hesitate to make these again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG August 02, 2010

Very good! I modifed this to accomdate a strict diet. Used rice milk lemon juice to sub as buttermilk. Used 1 T of a dairy/soy free margerine instead of shortening. Used 1 T ground flaxseed in place of one egg (plus one actual egg). Used a combo of gluten free flours in place of cornflour (coconut flour, white rice flour, and finely ground corn meal). Used approx. 1/2 t vanilla. I used a little less sugar than called for. Baked in muffin paper tins at 350 for about 16 min. They came out perfect, still moist but not doughy. Used med. ground corn meal and it gave it a more course crumbly texture, which we like. My husband who doesn't do gluten free or dairy free said they were good and tasted just like corn bread he gets from a popular fast food chain that serves corn bread. Next time I'll try it without egg and only flax sub.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AJoy73 December 12, 2010

Make sure that the corn meal and corn flour is actually GLUTEN FREE. If it contains WHEAT IT IS NOT GLUTEN FREE and not all are created equal. Even most soy sauces have gluten.Wheat means gluten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosemary r. November 14, 2015

The flavor of these were pretty good. But, my family found these to be a little too dry and crumbly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom September 28, 2015

I searched all over for a solid gluten free cornbread, and this is it! I used butter instead of shortening and made my own buttermilk using almond milk and apple cider vinegar. I also subbed 6 stevia packets for the sugar, as I try to avoid sugar and don't like sweet cornbread anyway. I served these straight out of the oven with kerrygold butter and a homemade sriracha maple syrup, and it was fabulous... This will be my staple cornbread

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rebecca August 11, 2015

Wow! These were the best corn muffins my husband and I have ever had! Taste so perfect with a little tiny crisp on the outside and deliciously soft on the inside. The only difference I made was instead of using shortening I used coconut oil. Other than that I did use paper cups rather than oil the pan. Perfect!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan D. August 06, 2014

I used corn meal and corn flour. Shouldn't this recipe have some xanthan gum in it? It was like a brick. Very disappointed! In my opinion it's nothing like Jiffy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gregoryhome_6291089 February 21, 2014

I'd prefer to give this 4 1/2 stars, but didn't think it was really a 5 star as it turned out this first time I've made it. Overall I was pleased, especially with the flavor, but the muffins were awfully heavy and dense. I was pleased that they weren?t crumbly, though, like a lot of gluten free recipes. I didn?t sift the dry ingredients, which may be the reason for the dense consistency. I used extra sugar and substituted coconut oil for the shortening. Based on other comments I baked them at 375 for 20 minutes, and it was definitely too long. Next time I?ll try 350 and start checking them after 20 minutes. The flavor is excellent (much like Jiffy mix) and for a gluten free recipe the texture was good. Definitely a keeper and one I?ll try tweaking a little to see if I can get a lighter result.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PossumLodger February 04, 2014

These came out really good. I used coconut oil because I didn't have shortening. They didn't take the whole 25 minutes I think because I used the square muffin pan (12 serving) so they are not as deep as the round muffin tins. Thank you. Next time I'll add vanilla and maybe some corn kernels.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheeki3 January 30, 2014
Yellow Corn Muffins - Gluten Free (Like Jiffy Cornbread Mix)