8 Reviews

Loved this rice. We eat a LOT of rice andthis was an easy and delicious new way of preparing it. Perfect for the spicy "Beef Satays With Macadamia Nut Dipping Sauce" dish that I made to go with this. Thanks so much for the recipe. Although the review is late I made this for ZWT4 while travelling the world with my Babes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassafrasnanc July 17, 2008

Very easy to put together and very creamy and tasty. I used reduced fat coconut milk and low fat margarine so that I could justify allowing myself this treat and even so it turned out very well. We had this with a South American black bean dish and it tasted great wrapped up with the beans in a tortilla. Made for ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne June 28, 2008

A wonderful tasting rice, that pretty much goes so well with anything and everything the use of the coconut milk, along with the turmeric, cinnamon cloves, and cardamom really make this rice stand out. I cut down on the milk and the coconut milk as we only made two servings. This even reheated so nicely I will be making this again. Thank you Annisette! Made for *ZWT4* June 2008.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 26, 2008

A nice accompaniment for our east African meal. I use long grain white rice, and omitted the butter, since the texture was already very creamy when the rice was done. I did need to add almost another cup of liquid. I would increase the amount of cinammon and of cloves a little next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
realbirdlady June 26, 2008

Loved the flavor in this. Very simple and very tasty. I also added some shredded coconut to it. Served with East African Curry and it was a great combination. Thanks Annisette. Made for ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme June 25, 2008

Very aromatic rice blend. I'll definitely be making this easy recipe again. Served with chutney chicken.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 23, 2008

This was very good! I made half a batch but didn't put in the butter because the combined butter for the other 2 dishes I made was one whole stick! Yikes! lol. But this was great without it. Very easy and delicious! Reviewed for ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 June 19, 2008

I just made this rice, using half the salt, no butter and original-flavored rice milk instead of milk, since I can't have diary. I used full-fat coconut milk. I put in the optional cardamom. The rice milk has a certain sweetness to it, so it's perfect for me since I prefer my coconut sweet than salty.<br/><br/>I liked the result very much, except for the fact that I didn't have basmati rice on hand. It would've been perfect that way.<br/><br/>Edit (Sept. 24, 2014) : I made it again yesterday, using coconut oil instead of butter and replacing the coconut milk and regular milk with half coconut cream and half water (I didn't have non-dairy "milk" or coconut milk) and it worked out fine!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elie de Combys September 23, 2014
Yellow Coconut Rice (Tanzania)