30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a good basic yellow cake for doing something else with, like frosting or strawberry short cake. It's not quite exceptional enough to stand on its own. It takes only one bowl - all ingredients are dumped in one, stir, bake. I used cake flour, and substituted margarine for the shortening. Maybe that, and the fact that I mixed it for more than 30 seconds, might account for why it is not as moist as I like. I think next time I'd add more butter and vanilla, give it a little more flavor. But it's a good basic yellow cake and certainly easy enough to make.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eightball1751 October 17, 2008

I really like this cake. After reading other's comments, this is what I did to make sure it was moist...I added 2 TBSP sour cream and 2 TBSP vanilla yogurt. I also added a couple extra TBSP of sugar to make sure it was sweet enough for our taste. I think it's good even without any frosting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPerez January 29, 2007

I tried this recipe and used some of the tips I read in the other reviews (2c. sugar, and all butter no shortening). I made 24 cupcakes and they turned out horrible! They rose too quickly and melted all over the pans into my oven before the tops set. I guess I will have to make these again and stick to the recipe as it was written and see if they turn out any better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krissy-Cakes July 24, 2011

Best yellow cake I ever made, Its moist and delicious! %u30C4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Luny November 25, 2010

during a time when I was very pressed for time , I chose this recipe mainly because it was "simple" and "delicious". At first I was a little hesitant , but I followed the instructions to the letter anyway. When it came out of the oven it stuck t the pan. It was TERRIBLE! What about some water?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaccpr April 14, 2008

I have to try it again...I used self rising flour by accident...Whoops!! Came out a little salty, well a little more than a little, but I will try it again, with all purpose flour and review again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaylite78 February 19, 2008

I made this for my son's birthday. It was very good. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky3001 January 27, 2008

The texture and look were good, but the cake itself was incredibly salty. I was not a fan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessMe March 30, 2007

I cut this recipe in half because I am the only one who will eat cake around here so I used all butter no shortening, 2 whole eggs and 1 tsp vanilla. Very good cake, great flavor, will make again, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaec March 09, 2007

turned out beautifully soft n very yummy the only changes i made were using low fat butter n it turns out perfect evrytime thanks a ton

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jas kaur March 04, 2007
Yellow Cake