Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yellow Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yellow Cake

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2008

      This is a good basic yellow cake for doing something else with, like frosting or strawberry short cake. It's not quite exceptional enough to stand on its own. It takes only one bowl - all ingredients are dumped in one, stir, bake. I used cake flour, and substituted margarine for the shortening. Maybe that, and the fact that I mixed it for more than 30 seconds, might account for why it is not as moist as I like. I think next time I'd add more butter and vanilla, give it a little more flavor. But it's a good basic yellow cake and certainly easy enough to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      I really like this cake. After reading other's comments, this is what I did to make sure it was moist...I added 2 TBSP sour cream and 2 TBSP vanilla yogurt. I also added a couple extra TBSP of sugar to make sure it was sweet enough for our taste. I think it's good even without any frosting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      I tried this recipe and used some of the tips I read in the other reviews (2c. sugar, and all butter no shortening). I made 24 cupcakes and they turned out horrible! They rose too quickly and melted all over the pans into my oven before the tops set. I guess I will have to make these again and stick to the recipe as it was written and see if they turn out any better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      Best yellow cake I ever made, Its moist and delicious! %u30C4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      during a time when I was very pressed for time , I chose this recipe mainly because it was "simple" and "delicious". At first I was a little hesitant , but I followed the instructions to the letter anyway. When it came out of the oven it stuck t the pan. It was TERRIBLE! What about some water?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      I have to try it again...I used self rising flour by accident...Whoops!! Came out a little salty, well a little more than a little, but I will try it again, with all purpose flour and review again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I made this for my son's birthday. It was very good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      The texture and look were good, but the cake itself was incredibly salty. I was not a fan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      I cut this recipe in half because I am the only one who will eat cake around here so I used all butter no shortening, 2 whole eggs and 1 tsp vanilla. Very good cake, great flavor, will make again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      turned out beautifully soft n very yummy the only changes i made were using low fat butter n it turns out perfect evrytime thanks a ton

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      This was very good and very easy. I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5 only because it was a bit drier than I'd like. I'll definitely make it again, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      I baked this cake and used the caramel frosting Caramel Cake Frosting / Icing to frost it. Took it to work and it was well recieved. Not a morsel left. I will definately use this recipe when needing that "something" special for a dessert. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      JustaQT, this cake is delicious. My husband said the best cake i ever made. Few changes I made, no shortening, 2cups sugar and i used Lemon extract Because i had no vanilla. The second time I made this I used coffee extract. Both were superb. Definately a keeper!!! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      This was a pretty good cake. I made it into a boston creme pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      Mine came out still wet in the middle. I could not bake it any longer because the sides were almost burnt, but the cake still tasted sooo good. I reduced the sugar to 1 1/4 cup and found the sweetness to be just right for our taste. Thank you for posting, I will try to make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      easy recipe, I omit shortening and use 1 cup coffee or I use 1/4 cup french vanilla creamer and 3/4 cup milk for a different taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      This cake is moist with a medium crumb, and very easy to make. I thought 1 1/2 cups of sugar might not be enough so I increased it to 2 cups, and still found that it wasn't sweet enough for our taste. I also found it to be somewhat bland in flavor. I added the contents of one vanilla bean in addition to the vanilla extract, so this surprised me! I'd suggest using maybe 1 tbsp of vanilla extract, and maybe supplement with just 1/4 tsp of almond extract for a little oomph that's not overpowering. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2006

      I only tried this recipe because of all the good comments. used the 1/2 cup butter , no shortning. very good.! will use it again. tnks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      This is a wonderful basic cake. I needed one 8-inch round layer for another recipe (Boston Cream Pie #118006), so I halved this recipe (used 1 whole egg and 1 egg white). It was delicious--thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      I have used this recipe several times (I think I originally got it from my Betty Crocker Cookbook). My instructions state to bake it 30-35 minutes for two 8 or 9-inch pans. A very moist, flavorful cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yellow Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.8
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    33%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 59.5 mg
    19%
    Sodium 361.8 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 25.1 g
    100%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes