33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you! We have had to eliminate wheat, dairy, yeast and eggs from our diet and we've really missed our bread! I subsituted spelt flour for the whole wheat, olive oil for the butter and honey for the sugar. I also had to use Almond milk because I didn't have enough rice milk. I know that is a lot of changes but it came out great. I think the Almond milk made it taste a little sweet and cake like. Can't wait to try it with rice milk. Five stars for a great recipe that handles substitutions well. Thanks Jacquie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosiegirl September 02, 2008

Easy to prepare. VERY tasty. Excellent for toast. Shared with friends who asked for recipe. Is now in "favorite recipe " box !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amck May 08, 2008

Best bread recipe everr! It's super easy and doesn't even need yeast! Thanks so much! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daughter of Christ April 05, 2008

I used 2 cups buttermilk for the milk, and canola oil instead of butter. The bread came out lighter than most whole wheat breads I've made, not too crumbly, absolutely delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1st-Marilyn April 03, 2008

i work in a nursing home as a activities asst. my treidents love it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfossell2005 April 03, 2008

I'm sorry to give the lower rating! But this bread was a bit too heavy for my taste. Also, the crust was so very thick and hard to cut! I follwed the recipe exactly... My husband liked it and I did like the fact that you can make this with things that you will be certain to have on hand. Next time I may try a previous chef's idea nad use seltzer water. Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meredith1179 April 01, 2008

This bread was wonderful! It's so hearty and extremely tasty. I can't have wheat right now, so I made it with spelt flour. I used honey as my sweetener, and I added 1/4 cup of sunflower seeds to the dough and sprinkled some on top. I made it for a party with friends, and I can't wait to make it for my family next!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fairycook March 23, 2008

A delicious and easy, dense bread! It was delicious and so quick to make. I used 1tbs butter and 1tbs of olive oil. I also added about 3/4 cup of rolled oats and 1/2 cup of mixed chopped nuts. I will definitely make it again! YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oznat February 16, 2008

I loved it, but next time I'm going to try to add more oats, some flaxseeds, some sesame seeds and I would like to get some suggestions as to how I could make it a wee bit lighter in weight? Pearl in the U.S.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Democrat Chef December 18, 2007

I added flaxseeds, garlic powder & pepper--good ripping & dipping bread for soups! However, I had trouble with it not baking through, so I had to up the time/temp quite a bit. But overall, great results. Will definitely make it again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timeforsomethinggoodtoeat November 29, 2007
Yeast Free Wholemeal Bread