Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yeast Free Wholemeal Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yeast Free Wholemeal Bread

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on April 23, 2008

      Absolutely wonderful bread!Loved the texture which was crusty on the outside with the inside moist and soft. I didn't have enough yoghurt so I used 1 cup yoghurt and 1 cup milk, used honey for sugar and olive oil for butter. I dusted the top with some flour and oats before baking. DD who is a fussy eater had 2 slices in 1 sitting :)! Thank you, Jacquie, for sharing this wonderful recipe, definitely will be making it again! Made for PAC Spring '08.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      WOW, what a GREAT, GREAT bread recipe!!!! It produces a soft yet somewhat fluffy bread with a lovely crunchy crust and nice moistness, too. I luved the addition of oat and the fabulous taste! I made a few slight changes based on other people's reviews: Used half oats and half ground flax seeds, which gave the bread a great nutty taste and chewier texture. Left out the sugar as I cant have it and used half yogurt and half milk. It turned out so fantastic! A great sandwich bread, too. I will surely make this often from now on! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this awesome recipe with us, Jacquie! Made and reviewed for Farm Cooking With Andi of Longmeadow Farm May 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Very good, worth a try and so easy to make! I took other advice here and increased the oats to a cup and added a cup of nuts (sunflower and pumpkin, but any nut would be wonderful). I omitted the sugar and added a pinch of Stevia but it really doesn't need sweetner at all (sugar feeds yeast, right?). I made a criss-cross on the top and the loaf came out so pretty! And so delicious! The 50 minute time worked perfectly for me, I had the oven a bit below the 400 deg mark and it turned out beautiful! I will be making this recipe for a very long time! Thank you so much Jacquie for posting this recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      I've made this bread twice already this week.i love it :) I did make a few changes going on some other reviews.I put a Tablespoon of honey instead of sugar,put 11/2 Tablespoons of sunflower oil instead of butter.I also mixed in a cup full of seed mix(sunflower,pumpkin,linseed and sesame) Thanks for sharing Jacquie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2014

      I've just mad this bread for the first time and I've had it in the oven at 200 degrees for 1-1/2 hours and it's still all doughy!!?? What am I doing wrong? I'm turning it up to 350 for another 1/2hr. and see what happens! Okay so I let bake at 350 for another 30 mins and it's not exactly what I thought it was suppose to be, which, was more like a bread for sandwiches not a rather tense loaf. It tastes okay, but I won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      I have now made 4 loaves, they are lovely. Tried granary flour 1st time, really nice and rustic. Use honey instead of sugar, rapeseed oil instead of butter. Sprinkle top with sunflower seeds and oats. Make 2 loaves at any one time. Eat one, freeze one. Love this loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      Great flavor! I also love how easy this is to make. I used buttermilk and threw in some flax seeds (my grinder's not working so they were whole seeds). My second loaf is in the oven, baking, as I write this review. Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      THANK YOU for this recipe. I have candida as well and try to eat as little "normal" bread as possible. This was tasty, it made 12 slices total (not counting the ends). I replaced the rolled oats with crushed bran flakes (because that's what I had) and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      This was AWESOME. I used xylotol instead of sugar. I doubled the recipe and put the batter in a large loaf pan. Since they would have been small sandwich slice I cut the loaf in half and then made long horizontal slice about 6 inches to make large sandwiches. My husband loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      I took it to the next level. The last time I ate it in front of a group of people, everyone had their fingers in my sandwich. Grab a pen! Substitutions: 3 C spelt flour instead of wheat (or a mix of both works too) Peanut oil or veg oil instead of butter Liquids (Used a mix of soymilk and apple juice) instead of milk. Have also made my own rice milk (1 cup hot rice, 4 C water plus hint of oil and sweetener to taste in blender -- mix & strain thru cheesecloth) Take out sugar. ADD 1/4 C corn meal 1/4 C oat bran AND ADD 1/3 C flax seeds to the liquids in the blender. Then add to dry ingredients. Optional: Sunflower seeds or other nuts Sprinkle greased loaf pan w/sesame seeds. Sprinkle on top of loaf before oven. Bake 350F for 45 - 60 min. Check at 45. Test w/wood skewer or chopstick and its done when it doesn't stick much when you pull it out. voila! I'm gonna go make it again right now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      Thank you! We have had to eliminate wheat, dairy, yeast and eggs from our diet and we've really missed our bread! I subsituted spelt flour for the whole wheat, olive oil for the butter and honey for the sugar. I also had to use Almond milk because I didn't have enough rice milk. I know that is a lot of changes but it came out great. I think the Almond milk made it taste a little sweet and cake like. Can't wait to try it with rice milk. Five stars for a great recipe that handles substitutions well. Thanks Jacquie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      Easy to prepare. VERY tasty. Excellent for toast. Shared with friends who asked for recipe. Is now in "favorite recipe " box !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      Best bread recipe everr! It's super easy and doesn't even need yeast! Thanks so much! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      I used 2 cups buttermilk for the milk, and canola oil instead of butter. The bread came out lighter than most whole wheat breads I've made, not too crumbly, absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      i work in a nursing home as a activities asst. my treidents love it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      I'm sorry to give the lower rating! But this bread was a bit too heavy for my taste. Also, the crust was so very thick and hard to cut! I follwed the recipe exactly... My husband liked it and I did like the fact that you can make this with things that you will be certain to have on hand. Next time I may try a previous chef's idea nad use seltzer water. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      This bread was wonderful! It's so hearty and extremely tasty. I can't have wheat right now, so I made it with spelt flour. I used honey as my sweetener, and I added 1/4 cup of sunflower seeds to the dough and sprinkled some on top. I made it for a party with friends, and I can't wait to make it for my family next!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      A delicious and easy, dense bread! It was delicious and so quick to make. I used 1tbs butter and 1tbs of olive oil. I also added about 3/4 cup of rolled oats and 1/2 cup of mixed chopped nuts. I will definitely make it again! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      I loved it, but next time I'm going to try to add more oats, some flaxseeds, some sesame seeds and I would like to get some suggestions as to how I could make it a wee bit lighter in weight? Pearl in the U.S.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      I added flaxseeds, garlic powder & pepper--good ripping & dipping bread for soups! However, I had trouble with it not baking through, so I had to up the time/temp quite a bit. But overall, great results. Will definitely make it again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yeast Free Wholemeal Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (427 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1504.5
     
    Calories from Fat 248
    16%
    Total Fat 27.6 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 12.7 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 45.8 mg
    15%
    Sodium 2945.0 mg
    122%
    Total Carbohydrate 286.5 g
    95%
    Dietary Fiber 40.5 g
    162%
    Sugars 14.2 g
    57%
    Protein 50.4 g
    100%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice milk

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites