33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely wonderful bread!Loved the texture which was crusty on the outside with the inside moist and soft. I didn't have enough yoghurt so I used 1 cup yoghurt and 1 cup milk, used honey for sugar and olive oil for butter. I dusted the top with some flour and oats before baking. DD who is a fussy eater had 2 slices in 1 sitting :)! Thank you, Jacquie, for sharing this wonderful recipe, definitely will be making it again! Made for PAC Spring '08.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aaliyah's&Aaron'sMum April 23, 2008

WOW, what a GREAT, GREAT bread recipe!!!! It produces a soft yet somewhat fluffy bread with a lovely crunchy crust and nice moistness, too. I luved the addition of oat and the fabulous taste! I made a few slight changes based on other people's reviews: Used half oats and half ground flax seeds, which gave the bread a great nutty taste and chewier texture. Left out the sugar as I cant have it and used half yogurt and half milk. It turned out so fantastic! A great sandwich bread, too. I will surely make this often from now on! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this awesome recipe with us, Jacquie! Made and reviewed for Farm Cooking With Andi of Longmeadow Farm May 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula May 28, 2010

Very good, worth a try and so easy to make! I took other advice here and increased the oats to a cup and added a cup of nuts (sunflower and pumpkin, but any nut would be wonderful). I omitted the sugar and added a pinch of Stevia but it really doesn't need sweetner at all (sugar feeds yeast, right?). I made a criss-cross on the top and the loaf came out so pretty! And so delicious! The 50 minute time worked perfectly for me, I had the oven a bit below the 400 deg mark and it turned out beautiful! I will be making this recipe for a very long time! Thank you so much Jacquie for posting this recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan.ketchersid February 14, 2010

I've made this bread twice already this week.i love it :) I did make a few changes going on some other reviews.I put a Tablespoon of honey instead of sugar,put 11/2 Tablespoons of sunflower oil instead of butter.I also mixed in a cup full of seed mix(sunflower,pumpkin,linseed and sesame) Thanks for sharing Jacquie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moll Moll January 28, 2010

I've just mad this bread for the first time and I've had it in the oven at 200 degrees for 1-1/2 hours and it's still all doughy!!?? What am I doing wrong? I'm turning it up to 350 for another 1/2hr. and see what happens! Okay so I let bake at 350 for another 30 mins and it's not exactly what I thought it was suppose to be, which, was more like a bread for sandwiches not a rather tense loaf. It tastes okay, but I won't make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruth B. February 18, 2014

I have now made 4 loaves, they are lovely. Tried granary flour 1st time, really nice and rustic. Use honey instead of sugar, rapeseed oil instead of butter. Sprinkle top with sunflower seeds and oats. Make 2 loaves at any one time. Eat one, freeze one. Love this loaf.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pastiepatsy October 29, 2011

Great flavor! I also love how easy this is to make. I used buttermilk and threw in some flax seeds (my grinder's not working so they were whole seeds). My second loaf is in the oven, baking, as I write this review. Made for I Recommend Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario July 31, 2010

THANK YOU for this recipe. I have candida as well and try to eat as little "normal" bread as possible. This was tasty, it made 12 slices total (not counting the ends). I replaced the rolled oats with crushed bran flakes (because that's what I had) and it turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mistress of Tea January 12, 2010

This was AWESOME. I used xylotol instead of sugar. I doubled the recipe and put the batter in a large loaf pan. Since they would have been small sandwich slice I cut the loaf in half and then made long horizontal slice about 6 inches to make large sandwiches. My husband loved it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Strong Quiver April 21, 2009

I took it to the next level. The last time I ate it in front of a group of people, everyone had their fingers in my sandwich. Grab a pen! Substitutions: 3 C spelt flour instead of wheat (or a mix of both works too) Peanut oil or veg oil instead of butter Liquids (Used a mix of soymilk and apple juice) instead of milk. Have also made my own rice milk (1 cup hot rice, 4 C water plus hint of oil and sweetener to taste in blender -- mix & strain thru cheesecloth) Take out sugar. ADD 1/4 C corn meal 1/4 C oat bran AND ADD 1/3 C flax seeds to the liquids in the blender. Then add to dry ingredients. Optional: Sunflower seeds or other nuts Sprinkle greased loaf pan w/sesame seeds. Sprinkle on top of loaf before oven. Bake 350F for 45 - 60 min. Check at 45. Test w/wood skewer or chopstick and its done when it doesn't stick much when you pull it out. voila! I'm gonna go make it again right now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slavetomystomach September 08, 2008
Yeast Free Wholemeal Bread