27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband and I are on a restricted diet and have been struggling without pizza. Our kids are extremely picky also. We all loved the pizza! My daughter doesn't like pizza sauce so I made it without sauce for her (as I have in the past with other regular pizza recipes). Both children asked if they could take it for lunch tomorrow in a thermos! :) My husband thought it could use a little oil, but really enjoyed it the way it was! That is a huge compliment coming from an Italian man who consumed mostly carbohydrates for all food groups. Thank you so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajbaum10 January 07, 2010

After going 10 or so months on a meat-veggie-nut-only diet, I decided that I really needed some "bread" that agreed with my gluten/yeast/sugar sensitivities. I used this recipe and I cooked the crust on the grill (low heat!) and topped with a 1/4 cup of Don Pepino pizza sauce and sliced up a fresh mozarella ball. When it was cooked, I doused it with extra virgin olive oil (unrefined, cold pressed). It was like Heaven. The hardest part was to not eat the whole thing in one sitting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbm216 October 13, 2009

Well, I tried the recommendation to double the recipe and use 3 eggs, and it would have turned out great, but I over mixed it. It puffed up nicely with the initial bake, but became really dense once I baked it with the toppings. I will definitley try it again, but mix sparingly...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Varga September 30, 2009

I've been using this recipe for about 6 months now and absolutely LOVE IT! I make the recipe exactly as listed & the only time I had trouble was when I forgot to grease my pan. Speaking of pans - it works best on a solid pizza pan that has a bit of an edge on it. That way the pizza crust can curve up a bit at the edges.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Been There, Baked That August 30, 2009

This just didn't do it for me. The texture was kind of like a spongy, wet bread. Hard to describe. It wasn't horrible, I just didn't really like it. Having said that, I did use rice milk instead of regular milk, so maybe that was a factor...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'-4-5 May 05, 2009

Interesting recipe. Great taste, although the ingredients quantity need some work. We used 1 cup of flour. Instead of egg, we used agar substitute, worked great. No oil in the recipe ? - Used 1T of olive oil - needed 2T. - next time. Trying to eat healthier/ vegan, excluding eggs (loaded with bacteria) and cornstarch- GMO. Also used richer goat's milk, instead of standard milk - no antibiotics, steroids, etc.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chondra R. April 06, 2009

I have a friend that says she hasn't have a good pizza in 2 years since her diagnosis. Of course, being the foodie I am I took that as a challenge. I made this crust and added a few extra spices and made her 2 personal pan pizzas. She called me telling me we should market it because it was the best pizza she had eaten in 2 years. Thank you so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lisa S February 11, 2009

*Reviewed for Aussie NZ Forum Recipe Swap September 08* This pizza base was so easy and gave a good crust. Who would use a packet mix??? I love that the recipe uses rice flour and cornstarch that are both staples in a gluten-free pantry. I used brown rice flour for my crust. Thanks Lori for posting such a great, quick and easy gluten-free recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** October 04, 2008

This is a great alternative to a wheat flour pizza crust, it bakes up nicely, doesn't stick to the pan and tastes great. I was a bit worried that it would have an eggy taste but that fear was unfounded. In trying to find gluten-free recipes for my brother I've found some that are just great and this recipe is one of them. I made this exactly as posted and used Margherita Pizza Topping to top the pizza. Thanks so much for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairy Nuff September 09, 2008

If I could give it zero stars, I would. This was absolutely horrible! I used a nonstick pizza pan with a lot of olive oil and it still stuck. To top it off, it tasted like eggs. I will never make this again. Don't settle for less just because you are gluten-free and yeast-free.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dblaszynski_5514355 December 28, 2014
Yeast-Free Pizza Crust (Gluten-Free)