9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were excellent. I don't even know what to say about the previous reviewer & yeast in yogurt, but I followed this exactly using US measurements and halving the recipe down from 10 to 5. My measurements were as follows: 8 ounces bread flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1/4 tsp, salt, 1/3 ounce of yogurt or sour cream (I used the latter), 1/3 cup milk (fat free) 1/3 cup oil. Topped off top with poppy seeds. Open up and eat one, right out of oven. Very good, indeed! Made for *Everyday is a Holiday* October 2009

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm October 19, 2009

Oh my, excellent bread rolls, and so quick to put together! I used half graham flour and half all-purpose flour, added pumpkin seeds to the batter and sprinkled sesame seeds on top. Nom! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee May 18, 2012

Very nice for yeast free buns. I'm still on the hunt for a recipe comparable to yeast risen buns but this comes as close as any so far. And FYI there is NO yeast in yogurt. Bacteria yes, yeast no. These are perfect for someone on a yeast free diet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brewmasterii February 24, 2012

I really enjoyed making these bread rolls -- especially loved the combination of the various seeds. I used oats, sesame and sunflower seeds. I also used greek yogurt and regular bread flour as well. Next time, I would like to experiment with wheat and spelt flour as the recipe mentions. Thanks for the post. Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag, November, 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry November 28, 2011

Being a non-yeasted bread, I was expecting the bread to be dry and dense but it was not! I used a combination of whole wheat flour and unbleached white (would have tried spelt but was out). The dough was very dry and I know the reason was I miscalculated with the metric/US conversion. Added a wee bit more yogurt, oil and milk and then the dough was perfect. (I should say also that the recipe was cut in half.) The rolls cooked in 30 minutes at 355ยบ F and I did not stir the oats or seeds/nuts into the mixture but instead combined them and sprinkled on top. The mixture used: oats, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds both white and black, poppyseeds and flax seeds. ~Tasty~ liked her roll with peanut butter and I tried mine plain at first for a true taste then the next bite with a little bit of butter. I can't find quark here and haven't looked for it but in its place I used a combination of local Nancy's whole milk plain yogurt and a little bit of Nancy's full fat sour cream. These two ingredients gave a good but subtle tangy taste that mimicked the flavor of yeast/sourdough bread well. Will make again! Easy! Reviewed for Veg Tag/November.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl November 04, 2011

LALA I loved thses! I had a friend over for lunch that is yeast intolerant and these were perfect to serve with luncheon. I did use the yogurt and drained liquid from it as much as I could using a coffee filter. (easier than cheesecloth as I could toss out after use) I also was lucky enough to find bread flour on sale so it was great timing. These are great and qwill be a make regularly through the winter nd into summer cottage days as yeast is the one thing I usually do not have on hand at that cottage. These popped out of the oven and into the mouth with a spat of butter on and oh so good! Thank you for sharing. Made for AUS/NZ Swap Oct 10

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie October 22, 2010

I have one regret, I made half the recipe and I should have made the whole. These buns are very, very nice. Used 200 grams all-purpose flour and 50 grams spelt flour. wanted to make them a little "party" like and added a heaping 1/2 cup dried cranberries. They were very easy to make, the dough is ready in a jiffy, be sure to heat the oven before you start anything! Mixed it all by hand and the dough was easy to work with. Oh, I also have to mention that I was out of milk and used just plain water instead. Out of the oven I let them cool just a little, opened one up, put on a slab of butter (which of course melted) and mmmm, had to restrain myself from another one. These will surely be made again. I like the fact that i can alternate with different flavours, sweet or spicy. Thanks for posting. Made for P-A-R-T-Y Holiday tag, December 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo December 10, 2009

These worked well for me. I sprinkled the tops with dukkah so they looked nice and served them with warm with dips and soup. They did not look as perfect as your photos, Loula. Mine were more rustic with the texture of damper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew October 16, 2009

haven't tried this yet, and don't believe I will as it reads as I am yeast free also. You should be careful as cheese and yoghurt all have cultures in them and if you need to watch yeast, that's no good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
idarefsky February 07, 2009
Yeast-Free Bread Rolls