81 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I wrote a review earlier for this, but I'm not sure if it went through... Just ignore it if it did. So, this recipe is a good starting off point... I experimented with it a little to make my own version because the bread I had when I baked it this way was WAY to overpowering with the taste of the baking powder. This is what I did: Mix in a bowl: 3 cups flour (I used all-purpose white, it turned out fine) 2 teaspoons baking powder 1 teaspoon salt 1 teaspoon garlic powder (not necessary, I like the little kick it gives my bread though. You can try experimenting by adding cinnamon or any other herb of your choice) In a separate bowl, mix: 1 1/2 cups liquid (I used plain old water) 1/4 cup liquid fat (I used olive oil) Then combine liquid into dry ingredients, mix. I found I didn't need to add any extra flour, the consistency is supposed to be sticky and not firm. I oiled my hands and shaped it into the roll form I wanted, then laid it onto my pan which was coated with olive oil. I cut an 'X' in my loaf... A nifty little trick you can use is to flour up your knife to do this, as just doing it without the flour can be kind of hard and not leave much of a mark at all. The cooking time may vary, just keep an eye on the top of the loaf, when it starts to firm up and take shape a little, take it out and rub some melted butter on the top of the bread, then put it back in until it's finished. You'll know it's finished when the top of the bread is a little brown. Voila! Take it out and let it cool, you're done!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pscheller February 04, 2009

I forgot to review this!! argh. I make this bread several times a month, typically two loaves at a time. The recipe is flexible and pretty forgiving. I typically use buttermilk as the liquid for extra softness. I do not find a heavy baking powder taste as other reviewers have noted. As for the fat; I have used both olive and canola oils. I have also reduced the oil by half and substituted applesauce for the remainder. I find that 2c whole wheat and 1c AP flour is a great option for those wanting a less dense bread. Sorry, I do not consider this a biscuit in any form. It slices, toasts, and performs like any other yeast free bread. I definitely recommend this one.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SMH February 22, 2011

We just found out my daughter is allergic to barley (all-purpose flour) and yeast. Oh my! This recipe is perfect for her, and amazing for all of us to eat!
My first batch, I followed the directions exactly using almond milk and olive oil. The outer most inch is very dry and crumbly. I could taste a little of the baking powder. I can definitely see where the biscuit comments come from if you made small rolls or muffins!
For the second batch, I used the same proportion of ingredients and shortened the cook time by 2 minutes then let the loaf cool about 12 hours before slicing. Perfection! Nice crust on the outside, moist and dense bread on the inside with that wonderful nutty wheat taste. THIS is what homemade bread should taste like.
Now I make a loaf with a cinnamon swirl or fruit baked in for breakfast and a loaf as described or with savory herbs for lunch. My family is happy and my daughter is healthy.
Thank you!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allergymomma June 10, 2012

I actually joined food.com just to give this recipe five stars! At first I was worried it was too easy to be good. Then I made the dough and it was gooey. I said "no way am I doing this right" but I put it in the oven any ways! SO GLAD I DID!! It tastes amazing! Its a very simple taste but butter and some jelly and it was PERFECT. I can't wait for breakfast.
Positives: took less than 20min prep time, I used things I already had in my pantry, and it tastes great. I can whip this up any time. And I can't wait to add different ingrediants and expirment with flavors. Its so easy to put together I can freely try different flavors.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momof2u2 May 17, 2012

Needed a quick, no-yeast recipe. Made this one as in the recipe except used Sam Adams pumpkin beer (the only beer I had in the house) and put it into a floured bread loaf pan instead of making it a roll and putting it on a cookie sheet. Came out fluffy and delicious

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andermm January 01, 2012

I used this to make flat bread. I am very pleased with the suggestions at the bottom. The flatbread i had to add about a half of cup more flour so that i could roll them. Then I grilled them over some red oak on my grill, with tin foil.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fried_meatloaf May 26, 2010

I loved this bread recipe, for those expecting this to be like store bought yeast bread you will be saddened, as it is very similar to Irish Soda bread, and I thought it was delicious. I also did not taste the baking soda at all. I followed another review and used 2 cups whole wheat and 1 cup all purpose flour, and then added in 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp onion powder, 1 tbsp fresh oregano, 1 tbsp fresh rosemary, and fresh cracked pepper, for the liquid I used milk and added 1 tbsp of lemon juice to make buttermilk, and for the fat I used half olive oil, half corn oil. I had no problems with sticking and needed no extra flour. The crust was nice and crisp, and the inside was moist, perfect for dipping into my soup. It is definitely going to be my go to recipe for when I need a quick tasty bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DozNug July 30, 2013

Trying this one out now. Used quarter cup olive oil, cup of water and 1/2 cup of italian dressing for the liquid, added half a cup of mozzarella cheese and a teaspoon of garlic powder....smells good cooking ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doyle1962 June 19, 2011

I was going to make rolls tonight to go with our soup but realized I was out of yeast. So, I made this recipe instead of my grandma's roll recipe, but, I decided to cook it in muffin tins to make rolls. They were really good, but got hard all the way around and on top, but I am guessing that is because of using a muffin tin, instead of a cookie sheet. I will definitely make this again! It was great to find something so easy to make and versatile and you almost always have everything on hand!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IdrilMoonshadowtheChef January 10, 2011

I had to use a tad bit more flour since the consistency was quite sticky, and I added one tablespoon and one teaspoon of sugar. I also added slivered almonds, then cut the dough into three pieces and then braided it. Then I lined slivered almonds on the braid like stitching, sprinkled a pinch of sugar on top, and a pinch of cinnamon. It came out a little dense, but wonderfully sweet. Definitely something I would serve with breakfast or tea. Or, just eat it by itself warm! :3

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
craftysteampunk October 27, 2010
Yeast Free Bread