Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yankee Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yankee Chili

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2013

      I chose this recipe because of the healthy tomato products in it. It turned out to be much too thick for our liking. I had to keep thinning it. If I make it again, I'll cut back on the beef and tomato paste. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      This is a thick tomatoey chili. I made it exactly as written other then I only used two tablespoons of chili powder and no hot sauce as I knew that would be spicey enough for me. I ate a bowl as written but it was a bit too thick for me so I added some beef broth (I didn't measure I just poured it in). I thought it was even better then. I made this for lunches and it reheated well. I served mine with cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      For years I have tryed to make my fathers chili and never ever got even close. Well your recipe did it!!!! My goodness it tastes like my fathers!!! My brother says it is a 5 Star all the way. Thank You for your recipe. Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      I have just made this and it is beeeyoootiful! Easy and perfect, thankyou for a scrumdiddly recipe:O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      My kinda chili - so very thick and tasty!! Double the recipe and can't wait to have the leftovers!! Thanks Richard! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      I used a combo of lean ground beef and ground moose, 1.5 tbsp reg chili and 1.5 tbsp mexican chili. I had no tomato paste so used more tomato sauce. We found it to be on the spicy side but unfortunately the party guests will not have their say as we ate it all!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      This chili was great! I made this for the Superbowl and the whole family loved it. I love thick chili and this definitely filled my craving. I added a little more chili powder then said. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      I accidentally bought tomato sauce and tomato paste flavored with oregano and basil (discovered after I added them). I'd seen oregano used in a few other recipes, but the basil worried me. Italian chili?? In any case, it was still very, very good. My first-ever attempt at making homemade chili, so easy, and we really enjoyed it at Super Bowl halftime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      GREAT Chili! I'm a proud Minnesotan and this is the way we do chili! I doubled the recipe - I think I could have tripled it! The double recipe fits perfectly in my 5 qt crockpot. Instead of 2 cans of kidney beans, I did one pinto and one kidney. I also added a 1 lb of browned ground turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      This was great chili! I tend to prefer mine a tad bit sweeter, so I added two tablespoons of brown sugar, but otherwise I made it just per your instructions. Yummmeeee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      This is one great and hearty Chili! I took this to a church function, and it was a hit and one of the first to go. It doenst have much heat, but you can change that with the amount of spices you use. I also added a little more cumin because of personal taste. It turned out perfect! Thanks Richard!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      This was the best chili I have ever made....My husband loved it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      My husband said this was the best chili he'd ever had. Good and thick - I used the diced tomatoes and chili peppers. Even my 3 kids (ages 4,3,and 1) ate it. This one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      very good! i used some deer meat we had & this turned out fantastic. will definately be making this again. maybe turn it into a frito pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      this was my chili tonight - i used diced tomatoes with green chili's in it, and opted not to add in kidney beans or extra hotsauce - very simple recipe - i just had a little taste tester plate and i cant wait to make some cornbread and have the rest for dinner. I also adapted this and just put all the ingredients into a crock pot for about 5 hours and added in 1/2 cup of water - thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

    • on February 26, 2007

      I chose this recipe because it was nearest to what I usually make, but I am trying to use 'zaar recipes so I can use the shopping list feature. The big difference was the combination of the sauce/paste/tomatoes. This created a fantastic consistency. I used less than the recommended chili powder but still found it too spicy. This may have a lot to do with the brand of chili powder I used (Cost Plus). I added 1/2 cup of beer and 3 T of brown sugar. Next time I will use a milder chili powder, or blend my own spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      Good Chili recipe...I did use petite diced tomatoes with hot chilies and didnt use the tomato paste. Nice flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      Finally, the chili recipe I've been looking for! It's great. Will make it everytime! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      Very tasty, and really easy chili recipe. The only change I made was to substitute chili beans for the kidney beans, 'cause I'm not a fan of kidney beans. Topped with shredded cheddar and sour cream and it was so filling and perfect for a chilly evening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yankee Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.7
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    82%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1057.9 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 12.1 g
    48%
    Sugars 14.0 g
    56%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    coarse ground beef

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes