9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was 4.5 for us - we really enjoyed it. Next time I wouldn't add the cooked chicken to the rice until the end as ours was a tad dry. Otherwise, a lovely change!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mellowpuff May 07, 2010

I am upping my stars to 4 3/4! I had previously not enjoyed the rose water smell and taste of this as the one I had made it taste and smell extremely artificial but since I have bought a better rose water, more expensive, that is Iranian and I liked this so much more. I dont put as many peppercorns out of preference here and simmer the chicken along with a couple organic carrots, celery leaves and a celery stalk for even more flavor. (That is actually the main way I make chicken stock in general) I used Garam Masala for Cunswim toast blanched slivered almonds in a dry frying pan over medium high watching carefully and I also add the green peas of which I use the frozen type. I use white Basmati rice. I serve this with a fresh salad and it is delicious accompanied by Cacik (Turkish yogurt salad) I will make this again with the Cacik or another yogurt salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat October 06, 2009

I can't say anything better than what has already been said. This has become a family favorite because it is so delicious, and I enjoy making it also because it makes the house smell wonderful all day long. THANKS SO MUCH!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmIbrahim November 25, 2008

OMG this is simply heavenly!!! If I could give it 10 stars I would. I did make a few changes, to simplify and to use what was on hand. Having already defrosted three boneless skinless chicken breasts, I decided to use those and to forego the whole chicken and homemade stock this once. In a stockpot, I browned one large sliced onion in butter for 5 minutes, then added the cut up chicken breast along with the garlic, 1 inch finely minced fresh ginger, saffron, 2 whole cloves, 5 black peppercorns, 3/4 teaspoon ground cardamom, and the garam masala, along with 1 cinnamon stick. I cooked and stirred for another 5 minutes until the chicken was no longer pink, then added the rinsed and drained basmati rice. Cooked and stirred the rice for a few minutes then added a couple dashes turmeric powder to achieve a nice yellow color, the rose water, 1 teaspoon kosher salt, the sultanas, and a 32 ounce box low sodium free-range hearty chicken stock, stirring well to combine. After bringing to a boil, I covered the pot and reduced the heat to a very low simmer for 15 minutes. When the rice was done, I stirred in a cup of frozen petite peas and some of the toasted almonds. YUM!!!! Not only wonderfully fragrant & delicious, but also beautiful!!! Thank you so much for this outstanding recipe, baraahnz!!! I will make this many, many times! :-D Becky

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BecR June 23, 2008

Delicious and simple! The stock was so tasty, i made extra the second time i made this dish and have stored it in the freezer. I didn't use sultanas or rose water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
In_A_Frenzy May 24, 2005

I had make this for lunch today, it was a nice change compare to our usual kabsa. I cooked it exactly as is , next time I will only cook the chicken for 1:30 hrs omit the peas and add some potatoes and carrots. Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lemoncurd April 30, 2005

I loved this. I prepared this exactly as stated, and the rice didn't stick at all, but cooked perfectly. I thought the chicken might have cooked a little bit too long, as the texture of it was very soft, but it didn't affect the outcome of the dish. I had never used rose water in recipes outside of desserts before, so this was sort of a "new experience". However, I found the tasty flavor to be similar to a Moroccan dish I have tried called Chicken Bisteeyah (which I love). I know this dish is not wrapped in pastry, but the flavors are remarkably similar. I also thought the eggs were a nice touch, similar to how they are used in Moroccan tagines I have tried. I ended up with 5 extra cups of chicken broth after cooking the chicken, plenty enough to make a tasty soup for lunch sometime. And this dish makes a ton of food as well, so I have plenty more to eat here (and will be enjoying every minute of it!). Thanks for posting such a nice recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau June 04, 2004

I made this last friday...it did turn out good my family liked it but the rice turned a bit soft...next time i will add less stock to cook the rice...good recipe on the whole.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spice girl May 10, 2004

First off, the stock that this made was wonderful. I may change the way I may stock from now on. The recipe was pretty easy to make, and gave me the chance to use some of the more exotic ingredients that I like to keep around, but never use. I used the saffron, but didn't have any rose water. I think next time I might omit the saffron, too. I was afraid the rice would stick, but I used my flame tamer and it turned out beautifully. We really enjoyed it--DH took thirds! The peas on the side also really added a lot. Thanks for a good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shaye April 30, 2004
Yakni Pilau (Chicken Rice)