Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yakitori ( Japanese Grilled Chicken Skewers) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yakitori ( Japanese Grilled Chicken Skewers)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2011

      Had this for supper tonight and enjoyed it very much. I only made a couple changes. I couldn't find any sake in the grocery store, so I used rice wine (not rice wine vinegar) instead -- I think that may be the same thing -- and I cut the sugar from the 2 tbsps suggested to only 1 tbsp. Had lots of the sauce left over. I mean lots and lots. Definitely will go into our regular rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      This was a tad sweeter than a traditional Yakitori but I loved that about the recipe and thought the basting plus sugar gave it a great slightly caramelized taste. The extra sweetness makes it go really well with a salad and makes for a great summer outdoor dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      This was a little different than the Yakatori Chicken I am used to at the Japanese restaurant, but had a great flavor and was very easy to make. I cooked these in my griddle skillet because we are in the middle of a thunderstorm. I basted them often so there was a good coating of sauce on the chicken. I had them with your Siu Mai or Siomai (Dim Sum Dumplings) Siu Mai (Dim Sum Dumplings) and steamed rice. Thanks for a great dinner, Pneuma. Made for March, 2009 Aussie/NZ Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      These were ok, but we did not particularly care for this too much. The addition of chicken stock made Japanese yakitori unlike yakitori we are used to having. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      5 star all the way - A winner of a recipe. Grilled on an indoor Griddler that made it come out perfect- moist and tasty. I basted it about 5 times during the 10 minute cooking time. Thanks for posting the recipe Pneuma

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      Loved it! Really good flavor and it kept the chicken moist. I used dry sherry for the sake. Thanks Pneuma!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      Awesome! We found this tender and moist. What a great skewer. This was easy to prepare and ready in no time. I served it with another skewer recipe and some rice. As a side dish a spinach salad went well. This is a keeper. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      Very nice and moist chicken. The sauce was a surprise and not anywhere near as salty as I thought it would be and not overly sweet either (perfect in fact). We did these under the grill/broiler and the only change I would make if making them this way would be to give the kabobs and brush with the sauce before starting the cooking process to allow to seep into the meat more. Thank you Pneuma, made for the Aussie/Kiwi Swap #19 - August 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      This is a very good and easy to make dinner. I followed the recipe except for the green onons, we were out of them. My Dh cooked this on the barbecue. My DS and DD just loved this. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      Had this for supper tonight. Did on the BBQ. Chicken was so moist and delicious. I used regular onions and not the green onions, only because of preference. I love grilled onions. Basted very often with the marinade. Chicken had an excellent flavour. Made it with some lo mein noodles with a sweet soya base sauce. Excellent side for the chicken. Will definitely keep in recipe book to make again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Yummy! We used Sherry in lieu of mirin as it's what we had on hand. The sauce is so good! I used 1 large chicken breast cut up and got 3 skewers which we broiled in the oven. A keeper recipe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      We're giving this recipe an extra star than we tasted because we let it get cold. DON'T let this get COLD. :) Eat it immediately after broiling or grilling, in the kitchen if you can! :) But it was still yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      This chicken was delicious! I *really* loved the basting sauce. I was afraid the chicken might be bland since there was no marinating but not to worry - basting with that wonderful sauce kept it juicy and flavorful. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      Everyone, including 2 guests, loved this! My 9 yo helped by cutting the chicken. I used Bragg's Amino Acids for soy sauce and the rest as stated. I think I would use regular onions cut into wedges instead of the green onions. They got overdone. Didn't need to marinate. The basting was enough. I ended up with 16 or so skewers (not sure how many breasts I used) and it was just right for us. Thanks so much! Tagged in Asian tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      I thought this would be good but it went above and beyond good. Always those simple ones that turn out so good! If you are the kind of person that just can't let things sit on the grill, then this is your recipe. You can turn the skewers and baste it to your heart's content. (which the whole family had fun doing) The meat just kept getting more and more beautifully browned. The kids, as always, loved their meat on a stick and dipping it in the extra sauce. I will mention that I am glad that I used low-sodium tamari sauce because it may have been too salty otherwise. It's a keeper! Made for my Babes for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      This was quick, easy, simple and very nice! I made & reviewed this for ZWT4 on the Kumquat's Kookin 'Kaboodles team. I served with sesame noodlesand saladwith Korean dressingfor an excellent Asian meal. Thanks- ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      Made & reviewed for ZWT 4 ~ Kumquat's Kookin' Kaboodles! These chicken skewers are quite amazing! I did have to make a couple of subs as I don't have any Mirin or Sake ( I just HAD to make this recipe anyway lol!) but they still turned out fab & I can't wait to make them again. The kids loved them too which is always a bonus! Thanks Pneuma for another fantastic recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      These were very tasty quick and easy to make. What more can you ask for? Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yakitori ( Japanese Grilled Chicken Skewers)

    Serving Size: 1 (392 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 566.6
     
    Calories from Fat 211
    37%
    Total Fat 23.4 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 160.6 mg
    53%
    Sodium 3299.8 mg
    137%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 16.0 g
    64%
    Protein 58.8 g
    117%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites