Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Yakitori Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yakitori

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2007

      Delicious! Just what I was craving. I substituted 2 Tbsp of honey for the sugar and it added the perfect sweetness. I added the garlic to the sauce and a healthy dash of togarashi (Japanese chili powder) to the chicken before grilling. I may reduce the sauce even further next time to thicken it up a bit more. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      I lived in Japan as a child and making this just took me back! These are amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      These were VERY good! I didn't have mirin, though - and couldn't find it in any stores here - so I used cooking sherry with a tablespoon of white corn syrup and I used an extra tablespoon of sugar. Even my DH like these, and he says he doesn't like Japanese/Chinese food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      While it did not come out exactly like the yakitori I had in Japan, it was very tasty. I did not use garlic (will try next time), and I cooked it in the oven broiling it at high temperature setting (not on the grill, like it should be done). Some people recommend adding ground-up ginger to the sauce. I'll try that next time but all in all the recipe is a success - everyone loved it and that's what really counts. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      AWESOME!!! So simple but amazingly delicious. This recipe makes enough sauce for more than just 1 lb. of chicken--possibly up to 4 lbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      I think the best testament to how good this recipe is is that I completely messed it up and it was still great! I replaced the chicken with Quorn pieces as i am veggie which worked really well. I couldn't find bamboo skewers so used tooth picks instead and as my grill is out of action used the cafe style sandwich press to cook them. I also forgot to turn the sauce off and as it cooled down it set into Yakitoffi! Despite all the kerfuffle they were still really good! i served them with left over noodles from the wok bar and saved some for my bento box next day with furikake rice. yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      This was good but the meat didn't absorb the sauce the way I expected--I wonder if marinating it would help. I cooked them under the broiler so next time I will cook them in the smoker and see if that enhances the taste. Thankfully I had lots of sauce (even though I made less than what was called for), so we poured that on as we were eating--it also went well with the rice. When I've had this dish in restaurants, the meat is thin and wide, so next time, I'll pound the chicken and make thin slices rather than bite-size chunks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      Just like the yakitori I've had in restaurants. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      Excellent recipe!! We have made this twice, using boneless chicken breasts. They didn't get too dry under the oven broiler and the sauce is just fantastic. Had leftover sauce and made Shrimp Egg Foo Yung the next day. Fabulous recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2006

      Thank you for making my Memorial Day BBQ a big hit!!! Everyone loved your Yakatori and asked for the recipe. I marinated the chicken in the sauce for a couple of hours, and then basted as you described. It was fab!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2006

      This is a great recipe. It is very easy to make and very festive. We didn't have any sake or mirin so I substituted cream sherry. Next time I will go to the store and find mirin, I looked before but wasn't able to find it. I might have to go to the oriental market. My husband and son both loved it and said make it any time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      Absolutely perfect! I skewered up some uniform cut veggies (baby tomatoes, green pepper, & mushrooms)along with the chicken and it tasted wonderful on everything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      This was sooo good. They were gone in no time. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      Awesome!!! My husband was stationed in Japan for 2 years, and is always talking about Yakitori. He was really happy I found a recipe that tastes just like the Yakitori he had when he was there! Thanks SO MUCH!!! I wish I could give more stars - because my kids LOVED it too!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      This was good, but unfortunately I had to bake it (gas grill out of gas) and the flavor didn't really stick as much. We dipped ours in the sauce instead and it was still pretty good. I also used red, green, and yellow bell peppers along with the green onions to make it look really nice =). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2005

      Great recipe. Very simple and quick. THis would be a great meal for camping as the sauce can be reduced ahead of time and the meat skewerd. I halved the sauce prior to reducing and added a bit of fresh ginger to one half. Turned out great. I served this with jasmine rice. Thanks for a delicious recipe. One that I will definatly make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

      This was great! Thanks for the submission.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2005

      Great recipe. We have been making it for years. Kids love it. I make sauce a little different. 2/3 cup soy sauce 1/2 cup sugar 1/4 cup saki bring to boil and reduce by 1/3rd Unused sauce will last forever in frig.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      This came out really good even though I screwed up a few things.. I found I only had 1/4cup of soy sauce and I used a mix of regular sake and mirin because I ran out of mirin. I didn't use the garlic but I did thread on some spring onions. I served them with rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2005

      FIVE!!!!! That was the immediate and confident answer Hubby gave after I asked him "How many stars for the yakitori?" It is a very good dish. I did manage to cause the sauce to boil over so much that I had to add a dash of Sherry to compensate for loss of volume. I marinated the chicken thigh, breast meat and two drumlets for about an hour. Put the thigh meat and drumlets into the oven first and when they were almost done, I added the breast meat so that all the meats could finish cooking together. I kept basting them while they were cooking. Made a salad with the chicken, crispy tortillas and shredded lettuce. Did not use garlic or green onions. Lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yakitori

    Serving Size: 1 (1094 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.0
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    42%
    Total Fat 8.6 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 47.6 mg
    15%
    Sodium 1823.7 mg
    75%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites