46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe! Quick, easy & delicious. I'm a fan of any meat on a stick but this is some next level stuff. Made as written w/garlic but had to sub white wine for mirin. Grilled over medium heat & it turned out awesome. The sweet & salty chicken with the grilled onions is a perfect combo. Definitely a keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BigRedChef June 22, 2009

i had to cook this on top of the stove. i cooked the chicken in a pan and took out the water that came out and as soon as there was no more water i poured some of the sauce on top and sauteed it till it caramalized. used the left over sauce to drizzle on the chicken and wow. DELICIOUS! thank you for sharing a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyBabies May 03, 2007

These were awesome!! I didn't have mirin so I used 1/4 cup rice vinegar. Thanks for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soda girl April 01, 2010

I can't believe I haven't written a review for this yet! This has become a go to recipe for me for over a year a now. It's easy, quick and, the best part, I usually have all the ingredients on hand. This is great with steamed or sauteed green beans or grilled veggies and rice ( with some of the extra sauce on the rice). If I'm feeling especially lazy, I don't skewer the chicken and just grill the thighs whole. Thanks for sharing this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkysMama April 27, 2008

This is an easy, fast and delicious recipe. I marinated the chicken for about 3 hours. Then grilled it. Then boiled down the left over marinate to pour over the rice but we really did not need it. The chicken was already flavorful. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 July 23, 2013

This was an excellent recipe. Quick, easy, tasty, and different--exactly what I needed!

I cooked mine on the Foreman grill, and they came out really well! Thanks again, mianbao!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BigFatMomma October 11, 2011

This was excellent. Made this exactly as directed and grilled over mesquite charcoal - medium heat. My family couldn't get enough of it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SunCountry July 10, 2011

Made this last nite for dinner and they were delicious!! I used chicken tenders cause that's what I had on hand otherwise made the recipe exactly as directed! I wouldn't change a thing!!! Will definitely make this again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Niteflyer May 29, 2011

This was great.It didn't take very long and the whole family loved it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allison F September 10, 2009

so easy and yummy...thanks for posting this. my boyfriend kept a little sauce to the side for dipping (wasn't necessary, but he loves his condiments)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ June 12, 2009
Yakitori