68 Reviews

Good.

Thankfully, I read the other reviews prior to making the dish. I was able to manage the "watery" issue by keeping the lid off at times, and making the noodles "very al-dente" (allowing them to further cook in the liquid of the pan). I also gave the pork a little soy maranade.

My wife wanted more vegetables, my daughters loved the noodles, and I wanted more meat. Imagine that?

I give this a solid 4 stars with forthcoming meals makings slight changes to increase flavor. I bought precut cabbage, and thin sliced pork which I then cut into strips. Made the dish much easier. Also bought shredded carrots. The only thing I had to chop / cut was the ginger, onion and some added baby bok choy.

It was a good experience for my first time making yakisoba. I look forward to trying to make it better.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpk4 December 17, 2011

Great
I substitute carrots with broccoli (which imo tastes great with soy sauce)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Don'teattheyellowsnow March 13, 2011

Everyone loved it! I agree that I could have cooked the noodles a little less. Had trouble finding rice wine, so I substituted what sherry I could find at the store. Looking forward to heading to the Asian market and picking up the real stuff. Used crushed ginger paste from a tube as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Technothrakon October 12, 2012

I can't write a review yet as I have not used this recipe yet. I just want to review others rateings.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Plain Ole Bob February 21, 2011

I would eat almost 3 times a week Yakisoba from a street vendor who would bring steaming bowls to your home on his motorcycle. He had a wooden separated platform shelf mounted on the back of his cycle. It was the best I have ever eaten. Your recipe is almost as good. I did cut back a little on the amount of noodles and used udon noodles and green scallions. In the winter use carrots, summer use sweet peppers of any color. I prefer red or yellow or the small black ones.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song October 25, 2010

Very easy and delicious. Thanks. The only thing I did different was to remove the cabbage/carrot mixture from the wok before cooking the meat for food hygiene reasons, After it was cooked through I added it back.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B. Licious October 15, 2010

Not sure what went wrong with previous reviewer's attempt, I would say perhaps a spoiled ingredient. Having made this meal several times and intending to make it several hundred more, I can tell you its 5 stars all the way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
apairofpetducks December 08, 2009

Very easy to make, and turned out delicious! We used only half the cabbage, but will be sure to use more next time as it really just shrunk away. I added a tbsp of sesame oi for flavour and it turned out great. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kath_the_Dreamer November 15, 2008

I've made many recipes for yakisoba trying to find one similar to our favorite restaurant. This is finally it! Delicious! Thank you. Question; if one uses Bulldog sauce instead of this homemade version, does one have the right to review the recipe? I just don't understand that!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
junkfordavid August 18, 2008

Made this for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup ~ 2014 and DH and I weren't disappointed. I did cut the noodles back a little, added some minced garlic (which I add to almost everything) and added some shitake mushrooms and pea pods (to use up). Served with Is It Egg Roll or Eggroll?#72124 and we had a great dinner. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf February 25, 2014
Yakisoba