Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wyatt Cafeteria's Baked Eggplant (Aubergine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wyatt Cafeteria's Baked Eggplant (Aubergine)

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on August 04, 2013

      I think this means 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs...not A 1/2 LB...I personally like cracker crumbs which give it a nice dimension. I also use Cream of Mushroom Soup which is not exactly diet food, but is really tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      I ate at Wyatt Cafeteria in Longview Texas from 1964 to 1971. This eggplant casserole is very good and much like what I remember eating at Wyatt's. I made the recipe but find the 1/2 pound of breadcrumbs to be excessive and they overtake the eggplant taste. I will cut it back to one cup of breadcrumbs and perhaps add a little more milk for the proper consistency. My grandmother made an eggplant casserole when I was young and she used sage in it! I was surprised to see sage in this recipe, the first ever since Grandmother's casserole. She made hers very dry, and baked it in a Pyrex 2 quart round dish, always the same dish. It had no cheese on top and had a slightly hot taste. I have never been able to duplicate her recipe. Moral of that tidbit of memory is to ask relatives for their recipes as soon as you discover something you love! This is a good recipe and I think you can make variations of it easily. I make an eggplant casserole similar to this but add about 1/4 cup cornmeal instead of the bread crumbs and 1/2 can of cream of mushroom soup. It is wonderful too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      As a child in Pasadena, Tex. I went to Wyatts.. I was allowed 2 veggies.. I always got 2 of this recipe. When God created eggplant he had this dish in mind. This is unreal :) Thank you God

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2014

      This was so good! DH is not a fan of eggplant and when I told him that we were having an eggplant casserole for dinner he was anything but excited. He really, liked this. My changes were using one cup of bread crumbs, all 2 milk, double the veggies, substituted fine chopped red bell pepper for the pimento. I can't wait to try making it again see if I can make it a little healthier, I'm pretty sure it can be done and not lose the delicious flavor and texture. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful, forgiving recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2013

      This casserole really brings back fond memories of eating at Wyatt's Cafeteria. The only change I made was to leave out the celery -- just my preference. DH loved it and says he doesn't remember having this dish at Wyatt's Cafeteria, but after having two big helpings tonight -- he says he is on his way to making up for lost time. : ) Will definitely make this casserole again. Thanks for sharing. Made for Cooking Tag Mania Special, October, 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      Scrumpdilyicious! For several years, I would eat at Wyatt's Cafeteria in Fort Smith, AR, and would always pick this dish. They have been closed for years, so when I grew eggplant in my garden this year, I looked for this recipe and was tickled when I found it here. My husband loved it and he is not necessarily an eggplant fan. I used less bread crumbs and more milk. Next time, I might use a little more sage, just because I like lots of sage!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Can't wait to make this! I thought the recipe was lost! I would get chicken fried steak and baked eggplant at Wyatts in Big Town Mall when I was a little girl! Thank you SO much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Tried this last week. Took me back to my teenage years. Loved it. Tasted just like the one I used to get at Wyatt's. I didn't soak the eggplant in water and it was fine. Thanks for the recipe. Nancy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      I Used to eat at Wyatt's Cafeteria here in Fort Worth where I grew up as a kid after church on Sundays. I was thrilled to find this recipe as I was having a craving for this dish. I have never seen it anywhere else. I made it last night and shared it today with my staff. It was INCREDIBLE and just the way I remember it being 40 years ago! This is a must do! Well worth the effort!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      This tasted awesome. I used three pounds of eggplant and basically doubled everything else. I don't like green bell pepper so I used red bells and completely omitted the cheese. Also, I skipped the soaking part because I tasted my raw eggplant after I cut it up, and it was sweet, not bitter. (They have bred the bitterness out of eggplants since this recipe was new.) I froze extra portions of this casserole. This dish is now a staple for me and I will make it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      Me and my husband really liked this. I used seasoned breadcrumbs and some more evaporated milk than called for to make it moist. Instead of the pimientos I chopped up some green olives and added those and left out the celery. A real keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      This is absolutely the best recipe for eggplant casserole ever. We use to eat at Wyatts Cafeteria in Longview all the way back to 1962 and we always selected this as one of our side dishes. It don't get any better than this. Period!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      Very good I doubled th eggplant and seasoning with 1 extra egg. Left the bread crumbs the same . Used panko as it was all I had on hand. Didn't have green peppers so doubled onion and celery and used a small jar of roasted red peppers. In other words a pretty forgiving recipe. It was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      This surprised me because it is more like baked stuffing (dressing) than baked eggplant. It is, however, quite good. I'm going to try it again with less stuffing mix and more eggplant just to see if I can upgrade it to a 5. Thanks PaulaG.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Growing up in Dallas Eggplant Cassarole was also one of my favorites. My mother loved it so much she replicated it. She never used dry bread crumbs we never had them she just used what ever bread we had on hand till the texture was right you never know how much water in in the eggplant. Sometimes added strained canned tomatoes instead of pimentos. It was awesome. Another thing she did in the summer was just cover the skillet and left it over a low flame to cook instead of baking it. Both Wyatt’s and Moms are comfort food for me. Recipes are always just a guide.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      This recipe reminds me of "funeral" casserole served by the church ladies after services. I did not like it as a child, but I know I will now since my likes in vegetables have done a 180! I will write a recipe after I see how the hubby likes it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      This was slightly dry to me. I used the herb stuffing, and that taste pretty much overpowered the rest of the recipe. I might try again using breadcrumbs, and a little more milk, or broth, or butter and see if that works. Sorry, but just wasn't what I had hoped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      Fantastic! I used a box of Stove Top Whole Wheat stuffing. After the eggplant simmered I used a collander to drain the water off before adding it to the other ingredients. I always got this when I went to Wyatt's and I haven't had it in so long. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      I was so glad to see this recipe, Paula. It was a sad for Texans when Wyatt's closed and this was the one dish I knew I was definately going to order whenever I visited there. It was just as delicious as I remembered and for the first time I was able to eat it until my heart was content instead of just that tiny little portion they would serve. LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      I ate this at Wyatt's Cafeterias in Texas for many years until they closed their operation several years ago. I longed for my favorite side-dish but had to do without until its recipe was published in The Dallas Morning News. Good! Good! Good! Good! Can't repeat it enough for and old friend and favorite side-dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wyatt Cafeteria's Baked Eggplant (Aubergine)

    Serving Size: 1 (164 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 309.5
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    49%
    Total Fat 17.0 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 9.7 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 89.3 mg
    29%
    Sodium 1027.8 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 12.7 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites