11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really loved this combination. The green beans turned out perfectly and the sauce was so delicious. I used water chestnuts and thought it paired beautifully. A yummy way to get some extra veggies! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood January 14, 2015

Unfortunately, these green beans did not turn out very tastey. I had high hopes, since I love green beans, garlic, and sesame oil. For some reason, these just didn't meet expectations. Made for Potluck tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom July 18, 2009

So good and so easy, great flavor without bothersome calories. Spicy enough to make a statement, but not too spicy for our becoming sensitive GI systems. I expect to make this often, and maybe stir in some shredded rotisserie chicken or stir fry some shrimp when I add the sauce. And only 1 WW "thingie"! Thank you so much for posting this recipe, Teresa! Made for Top Favorites of 2008 Tag based on 2Bleu's recommendation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL February 17, 2009

This is a delicious and spicy side dish! I loved the addition of the water chestnuts. I stir fried the green beans instead of steaming them, so it came out much like the kind you get in a restaurant, a little browned and a little crisp - perfect. Next time I will double the sauce since it barely coated the veggies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito January 02, 2009

This recipe made it into our Book #231450. 8/25/08 - Wow, Wow, Wow! What an amazing recipe! I made it a bit different by whisking all the ingredients minus the beans and bamboo/chestnuts (none on hand) into a medium saucepan. Once the cornstarch incorporated (instantly using room temperature ingredients), I added 2 cans of drained green beans. This is fantastic and I've already put water chestnuts on my grocery list to make again with them because I can imagine the wonderous flavors with it already! A great recipe to use up bland canned beans! Thank you so much Teresa, this will be a staple in our house! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu December 28, 2008

This is definitely a 5* recipe! You would never guess it has so few calories. It was quick to make and has ingredients I usually have on hand. This will be a repeat in my house. Made for potluck tag :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog December 08, 2008

Very good, so quick and easy. I used the fresh beans, leaving them a little crisp, but omitted the bamboo shoots/chestnuts, I wanted the children to eat these :8 I'll happily make this again. Thanks Teresa, for the kind of vegetable recipe I just love :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth November 05, 2008

Great recipe - my dh didn't have a clue it was a ww recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzybob May 26, 2008

This is a very good recipe, so tasty. I cooked the green beans 5 minutes in boiling water. I used Sambal Oelek for hot red pepper sauce. I used chestnuts. I loved that addition. Thanks Teresa. Made for 123 hit wonders.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 24, 2008

Wow, what a fabulous way to make beans! This is the type of recipe that should get tons of reviews if it can just get discovered. I can't wait to make this for guests. I chose water chestnuts and used low sodium catsup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo May 24, 2008
Ww Szechuan Green Bean Stir-Fry 1- Point