20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great flavours. Next time I might pre-boil the potatoes for 10 min and add them to the pan without liqiud to try and get the potatoes crunchy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini February 13, 2013

Yum, yum, yum. These tasty taters were wonderful. Made exactly as written, wouldn't change a thing. Tender and flavorful just the way I like them. I made 1/2 the recipe for the two of us, it was perfect. A lovely addition to our steak and cucumber salad. Thanks for sharing TeresaS.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato January 10, 2013

This is a very tasty dish. I substituted olive oil for the margarine, and used homemade salt-free stock. These are smothered potatoes, so don't expect them to be crisp. Yukon golds are definitely the right potato here. Great recipe, thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl August 20, 2011

I love onions and they cant help but make potatoes better :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyteglori July 21, 2011

My potatoes got a little mushy, but that's not a huge complaint because the husband and I happily ate 'em! They cooked a lot quicker than I expected, too. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan at Food.com May 25, 2011

These turned out really well - I made as written, except for using veg stock, and slicing instead of cubing. About half the cooking time I had the lid halfway off, because there was quite a lot of liquid still in the pot. That worked out well, the potatoes were well cooked but not mushy and the broth that was left was thick like gravy. And they even sat in a low oven afterwards for nearly an hour before dinner. This is a nice substitution for traditional scalloped potatoes, and so much easier! I think yukon golds or another waxy potato are a must here....definitely russets will turn to mush. And if you do slice, don't go too thin for same reason. Served for a potluck dinner tonight, everyone thought they were really good. Made for "I Recommend" tag. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner March 19, 2011

We liked the flavor of these potatoes and I especially liked how easy they were to make. I did use red potatoes that I had on hand and added one more potato because 3 didnt look like enough. Some of my potatoes were mushy but all the liquid did cook out in 20 minutes. Reminded me of the roasted potatoes my mom used to make when she made a roast and vegetables. I dont think the thyme was really a needed ingredient for our taste, just some salt and pepper alone would have been very good for us. Made and reviewed for Kittencal's Recipe Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 October 14, 2010

Great lo-cal potato recipe!!! I didn't have a problem with the cooking times, but probably due to the fact that I sliced my red potatoes, rather than 1 inch cubes. Mine were rather mushy and not as crisp as I like them to be, but for the calorie difference, you can't beat them. I think next time, I might try simmer the potatoes first in the broth and then add the butter and onions for crisping them up. Thanks for sharing a great lo-cal recipe. Made for Potluck Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 May 10, 2010

The flavour of this dish was lovely- for a low fat dish especially. My only change would be to uncover the potatoes sooner. I had to scoop the potatoes and onions out when they were cooked, leaving behind a lot of liquid, or they would have turned mushy. So a lot of the flavour was left behind with the broth. Definitely one to have again, with less liquid! Made for Please Review My Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud May 14, 2009

Mine also needed longer to cook and the potatoes turned to mush and I followed the recipe to a T. If there is a next time I will use less broth, and not cook as long because I didn't want mashed potatoes. I didn't use Yukon Gold, I don't know if this made a difference or not.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
h.glenda April 12, 2009
Ww Potatoes With Onions