8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made it...Loved it!! They only thing I changed was I used black beans instead but it was DELISH!! I am soooooooo looking forward to leftovers tomorrow!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsBaby117 April 23, 2012

Thank you for a great tasting and easy recipe. I used black beans instead of the red kidney beans but that is just my family preference. I make this at least once a month now! Excellent with shredded lettuce, diced tomatoes and light sour cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miley07 April 11, 2011

I made this casserole vegetarian by using beans only - black beans and kidney beans. I also used fresh tomatoes with fresh basil, oregano, and garlic. I was expecting a lot of flavor and was a little disappointed. It was also a little dry but was much better with sour cream. I am not rating this recipe since I did make changes to the ingredients. The recipe was easy to put together and reheats well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie July 06, 2010

I have a large family and unless you count a picky 2 year old that only wants to eat cookies, we all really enjoyed it! I try not to change recipes but actually chose your recipe based upon the fact that I had "most" of the ingredients. I think it would have to be fantastic as written as well too as it made a fantastic "guideline". My substitutions were using diced chicken as the meat, Black Beans as the bean, some rotel type tomatoes mixed with regular diced tomatoes since I had no green chilis, made my own taco mix with chile powder, cumin, dried onions and garlic salt. Also, I mixed half regular cheese and half fat free. Sounds like a lot of changes but the majority were so similar to the main item that it proved this recipe is very flexible! It was delicious served with sourcream (fat free for me) and wish I had some lettuce too as I think that would have been great as well! Thanks for sharing the recipe, will be a repeat here :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura G. June 14, 2010

This was really good. I think next time I might make it meatless and add black beans. The flavor is awesome...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDarlingNikki March 10, 2010

Very tasty and extremely easy. I cut the recipe in half (but used the full amount of canned tomatoes) and baked in an 8 x 8 pan. I made it even healthier by using ground turkey instead of beef. I also used a fresh jalapeno like Teresa. Made for a great light supper, and looking forward to the leftovers for lunch tomorrow! Made for TOP FAVORITES of 2009 COOKBOOKS TAG GAME

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey March 02, 2010

I made this recipe after seeing the photo & reading the review in MY3Chefs-2009, by TeresaS. I had to improvise slightly, using 1/2 seeded &chopped canned chipotle (instead of green chili). I also used large flour tortillas (I can't find corn ones around here). I layered mine in a springform pan, putting a full-sized tortilla on the bottom & cutting the others to size. I used the scraps to criss-cross the top & sprinkled the cheddar over. It was served with sour cream, avocado & chopped tomato. Next time, I will add a sweet onion to the topping assortment. This one is definitely a keeper!~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet PQ? November 19, 2009

Wow! We loved this. It's a 5+ star recipe. I made as posted but added in half a diced jalapeno to give it more heat. I didn't taste the jalapeno but that was all I had so next time I may add a whole one. This gives you a nice size serving and is great with shredded lettuce, light sour cream and a dusting of chopped cilantro on the side. This is a keeper. Thanks for posting. Made for My 3 Chefs 2009. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas November 14, 2009
Ww Layered Tortilla Bake Casserole