10 Reviews

Delicious soup. This recipe is easy and very filling. I added tomato paste and cabbage. Otherwise I followed directions precisely . Will make again and again thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
naomi.1975 May 28, 2014

I'm not sure how or if I should rate this recipe, here's why. I made this on 11/9/10 for the Crockpot/Rice Cooker Event in KK's Forum, but I made a lot of changes.First I made it with full-fat ingredients.Then instead of using black beans, white beans( a.k.a. Great Northern ) were used.We don't eat celery so I added a bit of celery powder along with some salt and pepper.After reading some of the reviews, I sliced the carrots really thin so they would be done within the 6 hour cooking time.And to make this " Good For You Soup " meal " Gone Bad " :) I added some Fried Cornbread on the side.My SO thought it was just o.k., but I really like it a lot. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � November 10, 2010

I have another soup recipe that uses sausage, which we all love. I was looking for something similar but with less fat when I found this recipe. I used turkey kielbasa and replaced the black beans with cannelloni beans (white kidney beans). I also used Italian Spice in place of the thyme. We really enjoyed the soup a lot. My only complaint was the carrots were not cooked at 6 hours. We were supposed to have the soup for Sunday lunch, but I had to fix something else and serve the soup for dinner. Even after 12 hours on low, the carrots were still a bit firmer than we like. I would recommend precooking the carrots a bit or using canned if you are going to cook the soup for only 6 hours. Updated to add: This is probably my favorite soup ever. I now use canned carrots so the soup is ready in just 4-6 hours. We love having a big bowl with Italian Herb Bread (Bread Machine). Fantastic! It taste great with any combination of black, pinto and cannelloni beans.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) January 30, 2010

What is the REAL serving size? 484 grams is about a pound. Does this make 8 pounds of soup; I don't think so. Mine weighed about 5. So, I'm thinking the serving size is about a cup. That just about make sense with the nutrition amounts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wesj43 November 29, 2014

I would probably just make a regular vegetable soup next time. The flavor was pretty good, I just wasn't a fan of the sausage smell and flavor in the soup. The beans were a nice touch though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama_lisa January 09, 2010

This is a very filling soup. I think next time I will use low sodium broth as it was too salty by itself. When we added the cornbread to the soup, it make it perfect. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeDi August 11, 2009

This was delicious and perfect for a cold winter Sunday dinner. We really enjoyed it and would make again. Only change was to add a few more carrots.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacylu March 07, 2009

This was a good soup, we served it with corn bread like another reviewer suggested and it was a great pair. Thanks for sharing this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristiina January 20, 2009

I would give this more than 5 stars if I could! We throw this in the crockpot before going to football games and come home to an awesome dinner. Even my 5 yr-old loves this soup! I strongly suggest you serve it with WW Cornbread #327634. I've made this many times and have never had trouble with the carrots being done. A truly wonderful, and easy, recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Ann D October 19, 2008

This was a delicious hearty soup and low fat too. I made it just as written. I diced my carrots and had no problem with them being cooked enough. This is very good. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amyd31474 October 14, 2008
Ww Kielbasa-Bean Slow Cooker Soup