12 Reviews

This was my first time to use Wasabi paste, and loved it in this easy sauce! I cooked the salmon in a Pyrex dish in a 425F oven for 8 minutes, and the sauce thickened nicely in the saucepan, during that time ~ (I forgot to garnish!) ~ Tagged for Zaar Stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerfuffle-Upon-Wincle December 07, 2012

The sauce for this fish is a dream! I had to make minor changes to adapt it to the ingredients I had on hand, but the procedure and the main flavors were unchanged. The cooking method is perfect because in this way the fish stays moist! Thanks a lot for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde March 30, 2015

Sensational sauce! I let it simmer till it was quite syrupy and then poured it over the pan-roasted salmon. I actually had all the ingredients on hand, so I made it exactly as written. Easy-peasy. Thanks Teresa!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marietta Mary Lou January 08, 2015

Simple,quick,tastyand looks good. I marinated the salmon before hand also so when in the pan the salmon caramelised creating a more appealing looking dish. Careful the sugars in the so dont burn tho!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brav January 25, 2014

This is a wonderful "new" way to cook salmon! So easy and very different than any other salmon recipe I have seen or tried. I followed Kertuffle-Upon-Wincle's suggestion to bake the salmon at 425 for 8 minutes and it was perfect. I didn't have any trouble with the sauce thickening even before I baked it. Will do this next time as well! Thanks for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F January 29, 2013

This salmon recipe is safely tucked away into my best of the best file. YUM. I had never used wasabi paste before and thought it was wonderful. There was just the right amount of spice in the glaze. This easy recipe is a winner. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood January 29, 2013

The sauce for this salmon is so wonderful - we loved the bite from the wasabi paste! We did the salmon on the grill cooked on cedar planks which gave the salmon a nice flavor. As another reviewer noted, the sauce doesn't thicken as the recipe suggests but it doesn't take away from the yummy taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI May 30, 2010

We loved this salmon. It has a mellow sweet and sour to it without really being spicy at all. Which is fine by me as I am a spice wimp. There are only two of us. So, I only did two salmon steaks but I kept the sauce ingredients at the same amount which worked fine as we were serving it with rice the sucked up the tasty juices. My sauce thickened up no problem and without any extra cooking. My gas burners do run a bit hot though so maybe that problem some people are having is just that it needs a bit more heat to thicken in the time given. Made for 1,2,3 tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne December 29, 2008

Wow! Teresa, I'm going to have to make lots more of your recipes! Seems like everytime I make one, DH just raves - way after dinner even. I made this excellent salmon exactly as directed and would not change a thing. My sauce did thicken, but I just let it simmer for several more minutes while I got the rest of dinner ready. Thanks for sharing this great recipe. Made for 123 Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme November 22, 2008

I imagined that 2 whole teaspoons of wasabi was going to blow our tastebuds away, but somehow the mixture evened things out just enough and while yes it was cartainly rather picante it was within tolerance. Dh said that while this was very nice it somehow just won't make our top 10 of salmon recipes, and I'd have to agree. This is simply a case of too much Zaar competition and us getting spoilt in our tastes! YES I would have no problem to make this again, and I have no problem to give it a very nice 4 stars. Thanks !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch November 08, 2008
Ww Honey-Glazed Salmon With Wasabi - 4 Points