Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ww Core Friendly Sweet Corn Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ww Core Friendly Sweet Corn Cakes

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2011

      These are very easy to prepare, and the texture is wonderful - these came out so fluffy! When eaten plain, I did notice a tangy after taste from the yogurt (perhaps the brand I used?), but served with some sort of topping, it worked great. We tried it two ways - one sweet with honey topping, and the other was savoury, topped with chicken tinga, sour cream, pico de gallo, and green onions. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      excellent alternative comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      Yumm! I fixed these for myself one morning while fixing pancakes for my family. I didn't have any plain yogurt, so I used vanilla ff yogurt, and only added about half of the splenda. I also added about a tsp of salt. Hubby and I both LOVED them! We dipped them in some sugar free syrup. Very filling and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      Wasn't what I was expecting.. Not sure exactly what I was expecting, but this wasn't it..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      Gotta tell you, we all enjoyed them. The kids especially loved them. I made the cakes a little bigger, yielding 12. The kids were happily surprised that onions, and corn were in these.Made for a nice breakfast. Made for Zaar Stars tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      Oh Toni, this totally satisfied my craving for the "johnny cakes" my mom used to make when I was a kid! I hadn't thought of them in years! I served these a bit differently than most reviewers--we had soup beans, collard greens, and these little cakes for dinner and it was such comfort food. I started out making them in 1/4 c increments but found they wouldn't flip, so I wouldn't recommend using any more than 1/8 c batter per cake. Also, I did throw a handful of salt into the batter, probably between 1/2 and 3/4 tsp. I might use green onions next time just for fun. I'm so glad I tagged this recipe for Healthy Choices 2008!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      I really like that this is made with things I always have. All I can say is that they are a little bland and added a little salt and pepper after tasting the first one. I had them with spaghetti sauce and a little shredded cheese and they were great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      This recipe definitely needs a little salt added to the batter. These were very easy to make and a delicious accompaniment to a steaming bowl of chili (core, of course)! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      These are very tasty little pancakes. I made the recipe as written, omitting the splenda. They made a very nice side to a veggie soup. I think that without the onions and topped with applesauce they'd make a lovely breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      I liked the cakes while they were hot but I thought it was a little bit on the dense side once it cooled down a little during the meal. Thank you for a healthy corn cake recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      These are excellent pancakes. I make them for breakast and my husand thinks they're "normal" pancakes. I added a bit of salt to the recipe and skipped the onion since I was serving them with fruit on top. I used about 1 tablespoon of Splenda and thought it was plenty, but you can make it to suit your own taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      This was a really good quick meal. I think next time I will add some salt to it though. Other than that, it was very good! We liked it with cheese melted on top. Without the sugar, it would probably be good with some chile con carne or something like that. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      These were great! Even my kids liked them. We ate them with a bit of unsweetened applesauce and they were yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      I had to add quite a bit of salt, but overall this was a great recipe. It was also great with cheese melted on top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      I fix these all the time, they are wonderful! I add extra frozen corn and a little more Splenda (otherwise they can be a little plain.) Thanks for posting this staple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      These came out really well, and there was nothing wrong with the recipe, but for my taste I would have like a more sweetcorn flavour. I could also still taste the sourness of the yoghurt....which I really hate (again just a personal thing). I have save the recipe and will try it again though I might fiddle with it and try substituting some of the yoghurt and water with some cream style corn. Edited to add....they freeze wel, too. Just reheated in the microwave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2006

      This makes around twenty small and pretty corn pancakes. Dh liked these a lot more than I so I'm rating them per his review. I had mine with syrup and Dh had some the next morning with peanut butter. I, too, would add a little salt next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      Very user-friendly recipe and they came out perfectly. I used the Splenda and next time I will omit it--too artificial tasting for me. This recipe made six good-=sized servings. These cakes were lovely with a nicely done over-easy egg on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      We ate these with "Taco Junk" and the yogurt cheese with chives. I told the husband they were "polenta cakes with onion" and he loved them. They would be nice with any kind of chili or stew. I got about 16 2.5 inch cakes. Thanks for something new and different!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      I don't think mine turned out quite as intended; my 'batter' was more like a dough (OK it was a dough and I shaped it into 'patties' with my hands), perhaps because I used quick cook polenta. Anyway this was sooooo yummy. I made 8 corn cakes; we had half (2 each) as a main vegetarian dish and I froze the other half for another day. These will go great with a spicy tomato sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ww Core Friendly Sweet Corn Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 164.3
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    11%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 31.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 115.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites