23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are very easy to prepare, and the texture is wonderful - these came out so fluffy! When eaten plain, I did notice a tangy after taste from the yogurt (perhaps the brand I used?), but served with some sort of topping, it worked great. We tried it two ways - one sweet with honey topping, and the other was savoury, topped with chicken tinga, sour cream, pico de gallo, and green onions. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews May 06, 2011

excellent alternative comfort food!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarawhitney_25 January 27, 2010

Yumm! I fixed these for myself one morning while fixing pancakes for my family. I didn't have any plain yogurt, so I used vanilla ff yogurt, and only added about half of the splenda. I also added about a tsp of salt. Hubby and I both LOVED them! We dipped them in some sugar free syrup. Very filling and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sloany September 13, 2009

Wasn't what I was expecting.. Not sure exactly what I was expecting, but this wasn't it..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smoke Alarm Laura June 26, 2009

Gotta tell you, we all enjoyed them. The kids especially loved them. I made the cakes a little bigger, yielding 12. The kids were happily surprised that onions, and corn were in these.Made for a nice breakfast. Made for Zaar Stars tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker February 19, 2009

Oh Toni, this totally satisfied my craving for the "johnny cakes" my mom used to make when I was a kid! I hadn't thought of them in years! I served these a bit differently than most reviewers--we had soup beans, collard greens, and these little cakes for dinner and it was such comfort food. I started out making them in 1/4 c increments but found they wouldn't flip, so I wouldn't recommend using any more than 1/8 c batter per cake. Also, I did throw a handful of salt into the batter, probably between 1/2 and 3/4 tsp. I might use green onions next time just for fun. I'm so glad I tagged this recipe for Healthy Choices 2008!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian October 30, 2008

I really like that this is made with things I always have. All I can say is that they are a little bland and added a little salt and pepper after tasting the first one. I had them with spaghetti sauce and a little shredded cheese and they were great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lady Peaches July 26, 2008

This recipe definitely needs a little salt added to the batter. These were very easy to make and a delicious accompaniment to a steaming bowl of chili (core, of course)! Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amygarcia May 08, 2008

These are very tasty little pancakes. I made the recipe as written, omitting the splenda. They made a very nice side to a veggie soup. I think that without the onions and topped with applesauce they'd make a lovely breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario April 01, 2008

I liked the cakes while they were hot but I thought it was a little bit on the dense side once it cooled down a little during the meal. Thank you for a healthy corn cake recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 November 29, 2007
Ww Core Friendly Sweet Corn Cakes