182 Reviews

This was awesome and so healthy! I chopped up some parsley, about 1/2 cup onion, and maybe 2 tsp minced garlic and threw it in there. I also drained the veggies and added about 2 cups chicken broth. This would also be great with veggie or beef broth. I like a little heat so I added some hot sauce as well. I served it with garlic bread and couldn't get enough! Thanks for the great recipe! Next time I may omit the can of corn since the minestrone already had corn in it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
housesitter November 03, 2007

EASY! And flavorful. I added cumin, just because I love cumin. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Luciano October 05, 2007

This soup was good but unfortunately I didn't find it to be wonderful. Perhaps because I substituted vegetable barley soup by Progresso instead of the recommended minestrone. I also included a frozen mixed vegetable mix by Bird's eye that had a tomato sauce. Also, I added some chili powder to spice it up as suggested by other reviewers. Overall, I would give this a 2.5 - 3 stars. However, it's a super easy meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
corfu74 August 21, 2007

This is great. The combination of easy to prepare, healthy and versitality make it a five star recipe. I drained only the corn. Used Progresso minestrone. I also added a bit of creole seasoning for some spice. Tried it with a bit of grated parmesan as someone mentiones and it was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vonwad July 30, 2007

I've made this several times...it is so easy and tastes good too! I liked the Progresso minestrone soup the best. I tried a different brand once and the flavor wasn't as good. This is also great for a quick, light supper. I always try to keep the ingredients on hand so I can throw it together real quick if I need to....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fair Mar July 12, 2007

I've made this several times and apparently forgot to submit a review. This soup is great to just throw together when you don't feel like cooking, so I make sure to always have my 5 cans ready to go! I always add some spices to it to perk it up, too. (usually approx. a tsp. of thyme, cumin or cayenne). Easy, healthy, and fast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hepcat1 June 18, 2007

I had high hopes for this soup. I added a dash of red pepper seeds, 1 tsp. basil, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, and a dash of fresh ground pepper. It was OK, but not WOW.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrivener1 June 01, 2007

Can't beat this for speed. I use canned green beans instead of mixed vegetables and usually add some Italian seasoning blend to punch up the flavor. I prefer kidney beans in it to black beans, but both are good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktdid May 27, 2007

Great recipe. I added some dried herbs for more flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicolewilkes March 25, 2007
Ww 5 Can Soup