181 Reviews

For taste, I would give this 4 stars, but because it was so easy, it gets 5 from me. I think this soup really needs to simmer for a while to let the flavors blend. Just heating it up isn't enough, in my opinion. After tasting it, I thought it needed something, so I added 1/2 teaspoon each of garlic and onion powder, which I think helped a lot. I'm going to try some kind of flavored tomatoes next time, like basil, garlic & oregano.
It's even better the next day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaFoodFan February 18, 2012

So good for you, easy and quite delicious. I also used Progresso Minestrone, diced tomato with jalapenos, and 10 ounces of frozen corn and mixed veggies. Since the soup was too thick I added about 1 1/4 cup of vegetable broth. Served with cheddar cheese on the side and rolls for dipping. Will make it again. Picked for a day in which I only had a few minutes to put supper together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend January 25, 2011

Im eating this right now and its so good! I am 4 months pregnant and have been craving this for a week now. I finally got the stuff, made it, and now Im happy again! :) I added some diced onion too it as well which brings out some good flavor as well. Will be making this as well after I have this baby!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessica-weber May 13, 2010

I sprinkle a bit of shredded cheese on top and toast a cutup tortilla to eat this and have had it at least once a day over the past week and a half, weight is coming off fast!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurelbelle April 08, 2010

The recipe as stated is just ok...really bland. My 5 stars is because I found a new favorite soup out of this starter recipe. I added 98% fat free turkey (added 2 tbsp egg substitue to the meat to make tiny meatballs with minced onion, garlic, cilantro and mint) I then added 2 cups water, 2 tbsp chile powder, 1/2 tsp ground cumin, dash of black pepper and then chopped fresh roasted hatch green chiles. This resulted in a wonderful filling and delicious soup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cervantesbrandi September 22, 2009

This was surprisingly tasty. If it was not a "diet" soup, I'd probably only give it 4 stars. The 5 star rating is for ease of preparation and how I would compare it to other soups that I would consider to be in the same category.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane*in*RI March 10, 2004

This was so easy to make. I threw it in the crockpot in the morning and it was perfect by dinner. Flavorful, filling and just delicious. DH asked for the leftovers for work tommorow and asked me to make it again this weekend! Thanks so much for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin W February 18, 2004

This recipe was a winner at my house. Even my 14 yr. old son, who first turned his nose up at it because there was no meat, ended up eating a whole bowl. It seems to have endless possibilites with changing spices a little, or adding some meat. This first time I just added a little oregano and basil leaves.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trisha W February 14, 2004

I made this soup with frozen white corn and frozen mixed vegetables. It was very fast and easy to prepare and had a very good flavor. I did add a can of beef broth to it. I reheated a cup of the soup and added some lean, diced ham to it. That was very good. I will be making this recipe again for noon meals. I took it to work and had it with some good rye bread. Very tasty way to get more vegetables into one's diet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maria Zenk February 05, 2004

This is so easy and versatile. I have made it several times now for an easy nutritious lunch. I make with frozen veggies for added nutrition. For those not on weight watchers I totally reccommend topping with chopped avocado before serving, it really adds a burst of flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
richabby February 04, 2004
Ww 5 Can Soup