178 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The recipe as stated is just ok...really bland. My 5 stars is because I found a new favorite soup out of this starter recipe. I added 98% fat free turkey (added 2 tbsp egg substitue to the meat to make tiny meatballs with minced onion, garlic, cilantro and mint) I then added 2 cups water, 2 tbsp chile powder, 1/2 tsp ground cumin, dash of black pepper and then chopped fresh roasted hatch green chiles. This resulted in a wonderful filling and delicious soup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiny_Toodles September 22, 2009

This was surprisingly tasty. If it was not a "diet" soup, I'd probably only give it 4 stars. The 5 star rating is for ease of preparation and how I would compare it to other soups that I would consider to be in the same category.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane*in*RI March 10, 2004

This was so easy to make. I threw it in the crockpot in the morning and it was perfect by dinner. Flavorful, filling and just delicious. DH asked for the leftovers for work tommorow and asked me to make it again this weekend! Thanks so much for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin W February 18, 2004

This recipe was a winner at my house. Even my 14 yr. old son, who first turned his nose up at it because there was no meat, ended up eating a whole bowl. It seems to have endless possibilites with changing spices a little, or adding some meat. This first time I just added a little oregano and basil leaves.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trisha W February 14, 2004

I made this soup with frozen white corn and frozen mixed vegetables. It was very fast and easy to prepare and had a very good flavor. I did add a can of beef broth to it. I reheated a cup of the soup and added some lean, diced ham to it. That was very good. I will be making this recipe again for noon meals. I took it to work and had it with some good rye bread. Very tasty way to get more vegetables into one's diet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maria Zenk February 05, 2004

This is so easy and versatile. I have made it several times now for an easy nutritious lunch. I make with frozen veggies for added nutrition. For those not on weight watchers I totally reccommend topping with chopped avocado before serving, it really adds a burst of flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
richabby February 04, 2004

Couldn't be easier and delicious too! I drained the corn and mixed veggies, and added some shredded beef I had left over from the night before. Fabulous and it seems to get tastier when heating up for the second, third, fourth time. Didn't last long. Went out today and bought three more "batches" to have on hand! Thanks Nicole! Georgeann

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgeann Dodge January 26, 2004

WOW! What an excellent, hearty stew! And...a minimum of effort! I started this early today in my crockpot. I did add about 1/4 lb. cooked ground beef, 2 bay leaves, and cayenne pepper (my favorite spice). Absolutely, totally unbelieveable! This recipe rocks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fauve January 25, 2004

This was excellent and healthy too! The taste was yummy, and it made a lot. DH and I have really enjoyed this soup, and it is so simple to make. Thanks for your wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Paula January 19, 2004

Made this up on Sunday and have been eating it for lunch every day. It is just something that I don't get tired of, and it is nice to have something warm instead of the usual sandwich. I used Rotel tomatoes for an extra kick and put and additional blop of salsa on my daily portion. DH has not tried it, but I know he'll like it. Thanks. ingrid in tampa

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tampacountess January 14, 2004
Ww 5 Can Soup