181 Reviews

I am on weight watchers now and have just made this soup. AWESOME!!! Very filling. It is 2 points for a 1 cup serving. The Progresso Minestrone soup is the best. Also, the corn should be white corn because the yellow corn has more starch. Enjoy :))

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kard229 February 04, 2003

This soup is sooo unbelievably YUMMY!!! Even my dad, whom is a die-hard "Meat and potatoes" man, loves this soup. Now that he is living on his own, he is absolutely delighted that it is so easy to make, as he is not one for recipes that require more than a few steps. I actually had this recipe a few years ago, and managed to lose it (which is not very difficult for me;), and I am soooo delighted that you posted this!!! I only add ground black pepper and some garlic powder...Very hearty and filling soup, and good for you yet to boot!!! Thanks for posting! A DEFINITE MUST-TRY!! ~Manda

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda January 22, 2003

I loved this. I made it a "6 Can Soup" by adding a small can of Old El Paso Green Chilies for a little "heat."

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandy Baker January 13, 2004

YUMMY. I had my doubts even with the reviews. I was unsure whether I was suppose to drain the mixed vegies and the corn. I didn't (added it juice and all) and it worked out -- it's self evident after you begin to mix but thought it could be more clear in the directions.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renita April 21, 2003

This was so tasty and incredibly easy. It did become 4 can soup for me as I did not have any canned mixed vegtables, but that's ok. I used tomatoes with chilis and lime which added a nice taste. The kids really enjoyed it. My husband actually drained the liquid off and rolled his in a tortilla. So it is versatile too! This will definitely be something we use when time is tight as it was healthy, fast, and easy. Thanks so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit October 04, 2003

5 Stars and then some! Wow! Made this yesterday for my wife and I. I NEVER would have imagined that "five cans" could taste so good. I have been trying to lose weight, but I have not been looking for "diet" meals. I have been looking for healthy alternatives to fast food. This is amazingly good. What I actually did was combine this recipe with another, #57009 "5 Cans and a Jar Soup Recipe". I highly recommend it! The added chicken broth and medium-hot salsa and kidney beans (I used one can of red, one white), and used fire-roasted diced tomatoes for additional flavor. A couple of sprigs of basil and a few bay leaves are the only additions I made. Combined, I was blown away. One of the most flavorful soups, -meals-, I have ever made! And really, "no cooking" is necessary! You are really just heating this up to meal temperature. Yes, I let it simmer a good hour or more, until my wife got home from work. I cannot recommend this enough! This is my new EASY, healthy, favorite! And my little dog, a "schnoodle", LOVED it as well! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
44Woot44 September 25, 2015

Delicious ! I make it and freeze it,I could eat it every day. Am currently on weight watchers online and am doing well

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Norma P. July 12, 2015

Super easy and delicious! I used 1/2 can of corn and added zuccini and yellow squash.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheryl G. July 29, 2014

Great soup that tastes perfect and good enough for company. I tweaked it by skipping on the mixed veggies and adding a can of Progresso Vegetarian Vegetable soup instead (used Progresso Minestrone for the other) - that adds a little bit of pasta and more veggies without all the salt from the can of mixed veggies. Love that it comes together so simply and fills up my family easily. Will fall back on this recipe many times through the colder months.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom November 02, 2013

This is 5 pts under point plus. If you cut the corn in half, that decreases it to 4 pts. Still 6 servings. Enjoy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jolderog_585731 January 20, 2013
Ww 5 Can Soup