22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a great Fall dessert. It just doesn't get any easier and the flavors of apple and spice can't be beat. I topped mine with no sugar added maple walnut ice cream and a drizzle of sugar free caramel sauce. Mmmmm!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia October 23, 2010

Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I have been looking all over for the Lucky Leaf Apple Pie Filling that is made with Splenda. I have not been able to find that product. This recipe is so much better than a canned apple pie filling. I ate a cup of this filling with some Kashi cereal sprinkled over the top. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ January 17, 2004

I have been making a recipe similar to this for quite some time but don't add the water. I put the apples (granny smith) in the crock pot for about 4 hours adding the cinnamon and splenda about half way through (to taste). When its done its basically a homemade applesauce and turns a bowl of oatmeal into a dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawninsatx January 29, 2013

This tasted great but 4-5 hours on low was way too long. I checked mine after 2.5 hours and I had applesauce. It was good but I was expecting to eat chunks of apple with ice cream, not applesauce. I used Splenda and one teaspoon of cinnamon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol February 12, 2012

Does not get easier then this! Great topping to have on hand for all kinds of things. During the last hour of cooking it was looking a little saucer then I would have liked so just a bit of thickener. Will definitely make again. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl October 24, 2010

This was good. I would give it 4.5 stars. This is the perfect recipe to use on apples that aren't crisp anymore, but otherwise still good. I cooked 3 apples about 2 hours on high heat although I think they could have cooked longer too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qwerty3020 June 28, 2009

I made it today for my mom's birthday and of my gosh it's delicious! Everyone liked it and had seconds. I actually diced the apples and served with church strawberry ice cream...yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryeri18 January 27, 2009

I microwaved a couple apples in micro steamer. used 2 tblsp water, 1/2 tsp splenda, and 1/4 tsp cinnamon. Microwaved on high for 4 min. Served in cereal bowl, topped with fat free whipped cream, and 1/3 cup Kashi Go Lean Crunch cereal. Very tasty. almost like a Apple Crisp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheGrumpyChef September 12, 2008

I made a half recipe and the flavor was better than I thought it would be. I did not detect the Splenda after-taste like some recipes have, so I was glad about that. I cooked on low for 4 hours and my apples sort of macerated and lost their shape. Still tasted great. I topped mine with the fat-free Cool Whip. My kids had theirs with vanilla ice cream. This also would make a nice topping for pancakes. I will probably reduce the cooking time to 3 hours next time. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' February 24, 2008

My family and I LOVED this "crustless" apple pie. That says a lot because they are a hard crowd to please. I didn't use Splenda (personal issues with it), and subbed 3/4 cup of sugar. I also added a little bit of ground clove and about 2 tablespoons of organic flax seed meal to add some fiber. No one even noticed I put it in! I will make this time and time again. My brother (and biggest critic) even agreed that it was good enough to serve to company!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Wedding Planner February 20, 2008
Ww 1 Point (Ww) Warm Chunky Apple "pie"