314 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used to make this soup all the time, and originally it called for using a large can or bottle of Tomato Juice and some beef bouillon, and I'd often sub V8 Juice reg and/or hot and spicy for a little change of taste.... still ZERO points and YUMMY!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan_taylor September 25, 2012

Made it JUST like the instructions but added cajun seasoning instead of salt & pepper-gave it a little oomph. we loved it. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
specialbekah September 21, 2012

Redundant but I'm so excited about this soup I must review! I used beef stock, purchased shredded slaw mix, additional shredded carrot, some fresh green beans, subbed spinach for zucchini just (because I love it), fresh garlic, onion, threw in a can of Rotel along with the paste, fresh herbs...no need for salt or pepper! I haven't even finished my first bowl and already want to make more! I did carmelize the cabbage/carrots/onion a bit. This soup is truly spectacular. I'm on a very low cal diet and have seemed to hit a plateau so was looking for something to switch up my meals a bit. This is fresh, flavorful and just fantastic!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acceptance May 26, 2012

This is a really yummy recipe. I added sliced baby portabellos, small cubed better net squash and red pepper flakes. Sooooo good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SLM Cookin May 16, 2012

This has to be the best soup I've ever made! I made a few changes but it is a perfect recipe for making tweaks to suit your taste. Like some of the users below, I added a can of Rotel tomatoes (Mild) instead of tomato paste, I skipped on the green beans and added broccoli with the zucchini (I used two), then added a couple stalks of celery in with the carrots and onions, AND I put more of all the vegetables in (all cut in to bigger chunks, except the onion).

When I told by boyfriend I was making cabbage soup he turned his nose up in disgust, but I made him take a bite...then had to make a new pot two days later.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arbelisle April 11, 2012

I made this soup, only adding some ground turkey to it. ( I know it doesn't make it 0 pts.) but my family eats it better with some meat. It was really good. I will continue to make, thankyou for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 11, 2012

Such a versatile soup - I triple and quadruple the recipe, split it out into single serve containers and freeze them. When I want it as a side to a sandwich for lunch, I defrost and heat in the microwave as is. To have it as a meal, I add measured amounts of cooked quinoa, barley, brown rice, chopped chicken breast, shrimp, cooked lentils (I also keep 1/2 cup servings frozen to pop into soups for "bulk")and/or pasta... the possibilities are nearly endless! Can also be thickened by making a rue from 1 tsp. olive oil and 1 tsp. flour and added to the broth for 1 point, add in some chicken and it's just about a chicken stew.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeLawson January 31, 2012

Note: I have rated this recipe according to my variation. I added lean ground meat and sauteed the onions in with the ground meat. On the side, I also sauteed the cabbage (this can be done when the ground meat is close to being cooked. I added basil, oregano, thyme (other reviewers suggestions), along with garlic. When cooked, I drained the meat and added the rest of the ingredients. I used 1 can of Rotel, as well as 1 whole (small) can of Tomato Paste-Italian Blend. Veggies: I threw in 1 can of green beans, 1 can of corn, and 1 can of carrots. To add a little heat, I added some a dash of red pepper and a few red pepper flakes, as well as a little onion powder and garlic powder. The recipe came out wonderful! Thank you everyone for your suggestions. It really made this one a hit!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoBugsy January 24, 2012

really good and filling. After the suggestion from DanaJoy!, I too sauted the carrots, onions (garlic and cabbage) in a bit of olive oil. I also added a small can of no salt added tomato sauce and a can of rinsed and drained soup beans for a fiber kick and to make it more filling.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
massleelee January 19, 2012

It is actually pretty good. I used beef broth and eye balled everything. I also put it all in a crock pot. I ended up using 4 cans of broth because I wanted to use most of my cabbage. I added left over ham pieces last minute to make it more appealing to my kids. My son had leftovers and I found it very filling.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Plumshadow December 28, 2011
Ww 0 Point Weight Watchers Cabbage Soup