324 Reviews

This makes a nice go to recipe for eating both healthy, gluten free, and low carb. I have tried many different things to lose a few extra pounds that have slowly built up on my body but until I cut out high carbohydrate foods I didn't have any luck (grains like wheat, corn, rice, quinoa, and oats. beans like black, pinto, navy, and reds, and also reduced how much dairy I was taking in.) Now am down about 12 pounds in all and quite happy where I am at. Also, learned am gluten intolerant and soy intolerant. I feel wonderful!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AzureLynn June 24, 2011

Fabulous soup! Admittedly, I altered it enough that it probably blows Weight Watchers' numbers off the chart. I added hamburger, used a whole can of tomato paste, and, for the liquid, used a combo of chicken broth, veggie broth and white wine. Oh, and I topped it with a good portion of parmesan cheese. Yeah, so much for WW, but, oh, it was delish!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pinkpeppercorns June 06, 2011

We made this for the first time, it's really good! I doubled the batch, used an entire head of cabbage, extra zucchini and carrots. Used more tomato paste and more seasoning. I used beef broth as the base. It is very, very good. I sprinkled with parm. cheese before eating. I will def. make this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jess 68 March 29, 2011

Very good recipe! Even my picky husband said it has good flavor. He wanted seconds!! Great job. I used chicken stock and an Italian Seasoning mix because that's all I had on hand, otherwise, I made it as directed. Very good!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FluteDiva64 February 22, 2011

Pretty good soup. I used beef broth, which I think gave it a great flavor. Don't think chicken or veggie broth would be nearly as good. Along with the basil and oregano, I also added 1/4 tsp rosemary and 1/4 tsp thyme. The veggies I used were cabbage, carrots, peas, corn, and green beans. I also used some frozen diced onion instead of 1/2 a yellow onion. Def will make this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicky D January 29, 2011

Have had many version of this soup and must say this is the best one yet. Made a double batch and just eyeballing the vegetables instead of measuring them. Did make one substation as I was out of tomato paste used ketchup instead. Also added some bouillon. Will make this one again. Thanks so much for the post.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl October 16, 2010

This is good for vegetable soup... I think I was expecting something else after reading all the reviews. I messed with the recipe (I always do, can't help it) and it came out pretty good. I added 1 can diced tomatoes, used whole can of tomato paste, used veggie broth, 1/2 red onion, 16oz frozen bag of corn, can of each pinto beans and kidney beans (drained and rinsed), added extra basil and oregano, red pepper flake, 5-6 shakes of tabasco sauce, 1/2 cup red wine, 2 bay leaves, 1 cup spicy V8 juice, added thyme and sage.... put it all in my crock pot on high for 1 hour then on low for 2 hours... came out pretty good. I'll keep messing with this one, thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilmsbritches July 12, 2010

I have tried the original WW soup and had to force myself to eat it. This was a much tastier version - you are right, BEEF broth is better! I sautéed my cabbage and used spinach and diced mushrooms in place of the carrots and zucchini. I am not a huge fan of oregano, so next time I might try a little thyme, sage and/or rosemary. Thanks for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy March 05, 2014

I have made this for years and the tip about using beef stock and tomato paste made it for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Playlinda Girl December 03, 2013

10 stars if I could. Weight watchers or not... totally love this soup!! I'v made this several times now, 1st time went by recipe, and it was so good I ate the whole thing! Made 4-5 times more and changed it up alittle each time just trying different variations, still so very good. Most diffenently be making this over & over again.... Thanx for this super recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chocolatejunkiei November 27, 2013
Ww 0 Point Weight Watchers Cabbage Soup