328 Reviews

For the most part, I followed the recipe, but I didn't add the green beans or the zucchini. Instead of I added 2 cups butternut squash pureed (texture like mash potatoes), 1 cup celery, dash of cayenne, 2 bay leaves and as well 1 cup of 0 point salsa. I really dislike a lot of good for you vegetables so helps me get them in. At the very end, I added another cup of purple cabbage so it would keep the color and 1 cup cilantro chopped. I cooked about 5 more minutes. Turned out to be more like a thick stew. Delish

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trowan4_11446509 March 25, 2013

First time having this EVER... I also blended it (b/c of picky eaters) with a hand blender and OMG it was delicious.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Millie Alvarez February 13, 2013

This awesome soup has become a staple in our home -- I usually make a big pot that lasts us for days. I add chicken breast pieces, celery, and cauliflower in addition to the other ingredients.
Thank you for sharing this healthy recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ophiael August 14, 2012

Perfect soup! Classic Weight Watchers staple. I add extra seasonings (double the basil, dill, red pepper flakes), green peppers and a can of diced tomatoes. Makes it so easy to stay on program!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tenaciousb May 28, 2011

I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I swapped out the spices for something with a little more kick and more ethnic. My husband is from India, so I used some curry powder, cumin, salt, pepper and garlic. I also added lentils because I thought it would make it more filling, which it did, but I don't think I cooked them quite right, but still good! I'm not sure what this does to the point count because I'm not on WW, but I am looking to lose weight!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaceySingh October 05, 2010

And I don't even like cabbage! But it was wonderful!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
begirl55 February 15, 2014

I took the suggestion from another reviewer to saute the onion, carrots, and celery (I always include celery in my soups) in olive oil for heart healthy fat. This soup looked very pretty with the green cabbage, red tomato, carrots, so I included some corn. Another reviewer said you can throw just about anything in it and I agree. Besides the corn I added a can of beans. Excellent, low fat, healthy, and filling.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hilltopqueen April 11, 2013

Love it. I found this recipe because I was searching for something to use leftover slaw mix for. It worked perfectly for this recipe. Changes I made: I used slaw mix, and leftover bag of frozen onion/peppers mix. Added celery and a little more carrots.

For spices, I doubled the oregano and basil (1tsp. each) and added a small bay leaf and some black pepper.

This was quick and delicious! :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Venia101 May 30, 2012

Chances are my review is just a synopsis of everyone else's but just in case...I loved this soup. I was skeptical at first it would be satisfying and not slimy, but it was really, really great. Yeah, I had to actually move and make this and cut some veggies and clean a couple of utensils after (yeah, I'm just THAT lazy) but it was totally worth the effort. Thanks :)!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Funkymunky613 February 13, 2012

Thank you for posting this recipe dageret, we really enjoyed this soup. I followed the recipe but used chicken broth and increased the amount to 4 C and I had about 3/4 C of passata I needed to use so I added that too. I also added about 1/2 - 3/4 C of dried lentils to increase the fiber content and make this a main course soup. Aside from these changes, I followed the rest of the recipe as written. This soup will be on a regular rotation in our house.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldeevee October 25, 2011
Ww 0 Point Weight Watchers Cabbage Soup