Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / World's Easiest Pie Crust - Vegan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    World's Easiest Pie Crust - Vegan

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2012

      My husband loved this pie crust. I made it with Olive Oil. I made an apple pie filling with green apples and very little sugar. Tastes great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      this was a great recipe as is, baked up nicely. i also made it using graham cracker crumbs (instead of flour) and substituted applesauce for about half of the oil which worked well. very versatile, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      This was a great crust for my nectarine pie. I used some apple sauce instead of about a third of the oil, which worked fine, and I added orange zest for extra citrus flavor. I used one making to make a closed-faced pie (I used about two-thirds the dough for the bottom and one-third for the top). I would decrease the amounts if I was making an open-faced pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2012

      It's not 5 stars compared to regular pie crust, but knowing that it is nearly fat free, I rounded up. I used 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil. I made very, very low fat and no cholesterol vegetarian chicken pot pie using TVP chunks and no butter for the filler. I recommend using less sugar unless you're making a fruit pie. The crust, surprisingly, was not doughy. I doubled the recipe so I could make a top crust. For the top crust, I rolled it on lightly floured plastic wrap, then turned it over onto the filled pie. I did brush it with egg beaters as I'm not vegan, just trying to lower dh's cholesterol and eat less saturated fats. I also sliced a few vents (see pic). DH had 2 pieces but didn't love the crust, saying it was too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2013

      I used this recipe for both a vegan pot pie and a pumpkin pie, and it was fantastic for both! As per another review, I used half the amount of sugar and a dash more salt for the pot pie crust, and made it as written for the pumpkin pie except that I didn't have OJ so I used unsweetened almond milk. I also used whole wheat pastry flour. Both pies got rave reviews from both the boyfriend (who is a renowned pie hater...I didn't know it was possible to not like pie!) and a few friends we had over for dinner. In the leftovers the crust didn't turn to mush either which was awesome! Best of all, you can't beat how easy this crust is.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

      For the fastest, easiest crust recipe imaginable, this turned out much tastier and flakier than I anticipated. I used it to make tiny 3-bite pies in cupcake tins. Just pressed about a 1-inch ball of dough into the bottom and up the sides of the tins, parbaked, filled with apple pie filling, and finished baking. Made about 8 little tartlets.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2012

      Wow! What an awesome recipe! It was so easy and worked SO well. I made a chocolate fruit pie and it turned out great! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      It wasn't what I wanted it to turn out (for cheesecake-like), but it tasted good, I could use it for pies like stated in the title. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2014

      Not a fan here! Tasted oily yet crumbly, really unpleasant all round.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2013

      The simplicity and easiness of this recipe can not be beat. I cook and bake frequently but find that making dough from scratch is intimidating. Anyway, I used whole wheat pastry flour, 1/2 avocado oil and 1/2 homemade unsweetened applesauce, unsweetened almond milk and omitted the sugar because I made this for a vegetable pot pie. It came out great. Thank you B.B. Grimm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for World's Easiest Pie Crust - Vegan

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 219.6
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    56%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 145.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites