30 Reviews

Very very nice!! I despise turkey--don't even like it at holiday dinners--but this was a great way to add a healthy alternative to a weeknight meal. I halved the recipe and use 1 egg instead of the ricotta. This made for a very mushy meat mixture when forming patties, but it cooked up nicely in my Foreman grill (around 7-8 minutes in the preheated grill). Will definitely make again!!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
firealarmqueen January 26, 2010

Thanks for the WONDERFUL recipe!! I doubled the recipe and used cottage cheese in place of the ricotta and onion powder in place of the rosemary and they were definitely a crowd pleaser! They will be made again and again in this house for sure. (-:

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura_Ozz August 12, 2010

Added onion powder, used an egg instead of ricotta and italian seasoning instead of rosemary. Used 1lb meat since it's what we had but so good could've used the 2lb. Toddlers ate it all up! Tasty, moist...yum!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Amaze-Ing Me May 31, 2009

Wonderful burger!! I followed the other reviewers suggestions and used an egg as a substitute for ricotta cheese because I didn't have any on hand - but otherwise I followed the recipe as written. The burgers were so flavorful! Thanks for a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShellSkips June 07, 2010

Excellent turkey burger. I made this recipe exactly as written. I charred the outside a litte, as sugested, and it made the texture perfect...crisp on the outside and moist on the inside. Very flavorful burger. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bowheme126 June 03, 2010

Excellent! My DW loves this recipe and it has become part of our rotation. When cooking these, you do have to watch the color and ensure no burning. I use a instant read thermometer until it is 165 degrees. Rest it for 5 minutes and it comes to 170 degrees. They are moist and perfect. Thanks for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Londonsbk December 01, 2009

This is a delicious burger. My family really enjoys this meal. Have already made it a few times, it's a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OLJ July 27, 2009

Beautiful!!! Thank you for this recipe! Finally a turkey burger with some taste - and without adding a lot of fat and calories. Lovely color when done and not too dry. I used Mrs. Dash Roasted Garlic instead of the garlic powder and only used about a quarter of the salt. My only changes just because I'm watching sodium right now. Perfect! Can't wait to make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dutchgirl1966 May 19, 2016

I have not made a turkey burger any other way since finding this recipe. However, I make each one of my burgers in a 6 cup muffin/cupcake pan and bake them in the oven at 350 for about 25-30 minutes. Depending on your muffin pan size it makes smaller burgers that I then put on those Hawaiian Bread buns. A grilled bun, a little mayo and ketchup is all I use.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
russ.kibler May 19, 2016

Wow! I love this! It's so flavorful and will definitely make it again. I didn't have ricotta cheese so followed a few reviews and used and egg. I only had 1 lb of ground turkey so halved everything and it turned out great. As suggested, I added onion powder for more flavor. As one said, it's mushy but cooks up just right. :) I used my cast iron skillet as per recipe instructions. Great recipe! Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjp2363 April 27, 2016
World's Best Turkey Burger