14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Although the recipe sounds delicious, this is a cottage pie. Made from beef mince. A shepherd's pie is made from minced lamb. (sheep herd)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fliss_c December 11, 2010

I bragged about this recipe on FB! Was wonderful. I did add a bag of shredded carrots to the celery and onion saute mix and used more Thyme and Rosemary. Definately a keeper!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Warm_Sunshine April 15, 2010

I made it with ground lamb and it was super delicious! I always make mashed potatoes with buttermilk instead of butter/sour cream/milk - it tastes really good and is healthier - I still added the cheese in this recipe though!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
koeksister January 23, 2008

Awful, Don't make this, i tried it and could not even finish. had to throw away. not sure which spice was the culprit but it had a really powerful bad taste, and no, my meat was not spoiled. Beware of this recipe!!!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pavel B. February 19, 2014

Amazing Pie. Thank you for sharing! My husband couldn t stop himself eating. definetelly the best Shepherd Pie we ever had!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jalicet November 17, 2010

I have always loved Shepherd's Pie. However I have never tried it with the beef broth or tomatoes, so I left those out. But with the rest of the ingredients it was great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spika1886 August 10, 2009

This was very promising on paper but did not turn out very good, let alone the best shepherd's pie in the world. When I need to make an authentic italian casserole (with all the tomatoes and cheese at the top) I'll make one thank you, but do not ruin an age old recipe with modifications that try to make it something it isn't. Shepherd's pie, as the name denotes is simple with minimal ingredients (think what a shepherd would have on hand) but a wonderful, wholesome flavour. All I can say is I am disappointed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mulan400 May 09, 2009

My family just loved it!! Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myriammaciver December 20, 2008

I've had this recipe for a while, and finally decided to give it a try...I've never had Shepherd's Pie, but I must say that 5 stars is not enough for this recipe... my family only had two things to say, first, not to lose the recipe and second, did I only make one pie? It was a big success, and will definitely make this again...thanks so much for sharing it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonP September 05, 2007

Simple, common recipe ...good, but agree with others this is cottage pie ..NOT Shepherds Pie :) true Shepherds pie is always lamb/sheep/mutton.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
efd2051 March 15, 2015
World's Best Shepherd's Pie