Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / World's Best Shepherd's Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    World's Best Shepherd's Pie

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2010

      I bragged about this recipe on FB! Was wonderful. I did add a bag of shredded carrots to the celery and onion saute mix and used more Thyme and Rosemary. Definately a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      Although the recipe sounds delicious, this is a cottage pie. Made from beef mince. A shepherd's pie is made from minced lamb. (sheep herd)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      Amazing Pie. Thank you for sharing! My husband couldn t stop himself eating. definetelly the best Shepherd Pie we ever had!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      I have always loved Shepherd's Pie. However I have never tried it with the beef broth or tomatoes, so I left those out. But with the rest of the ingredients it was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      My family just loved it!! Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I made it with ground lamb and it was super delicious! I always make mashed potatoes with buttermilk instead of butter/sour cream/milk - it tastes really good and is healthier - I still added the cheese in this recipe though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      I've had this recipe for a while, and finally decided to give it a try...I've never had Shepherd's Pie, but I must say that 5 stars is not enough for this recipe... my family only had two things to say, first, not to lose the recipe and second, did I only make one pie? It was a big success, and will definitely make this again...thanks so much for sharing it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2014

      Awful, Don't make this, i tried it and could not even finish. had to throw away. not sure which spice was the culprit but it had a really powerful bad taste, and no, my meat was not spoiled. Beware of this recipe!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      Wow?I decided to make a do- over super healthy veggie version for a friend and it turned out amazing! The meat eaters actually prefered this one and the savings on fat and calories is astronomical?!---feel free to try?**super delish**! Peace--<br/><br/> Healthy Shepherd's Pie<br/><br/>By looneytunesfan on January 13, 2006, with modifications by H<br/><br/>Ingredients:<br/><br/>Filling:<br/>? 1 1/2 cups frozen corn kernels ?or canned and drained?best brand you can buy<br/>? 2 tablespoons butter <br/>? 1 large onion, chopped <br/>? 1 stalk celery, chopped <br/><br/>1 package meatless crumbles, such as Boca Ground Crumbles, or MorningStar Farms® Meal Starters® Grillers® Recipe Crumbles?<br/>Optional: Rec?d mixing with --- MorningStar Farms® Original Sausage Patties?cooked, cooled and crumbled.<br/><br/>? 1 garlic clove, minced <br/>? 2 tablespoons flour <br/>1 cup Better Than Bouillon<br/>No Beef Base*<br/>? 1 cup diced canned tomatoes or 1 cup crushed tomatoes in puree <br/>? 1 teaspoon dried thyme <br/>? 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary <br/>? 1 1/2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce ?or more to taste<br/>? salt and pepper <br/><br/>*Better Than Bouillon<br/>No Beef Base<br/>http://www.superiortouch.com/retail/products/better-than-bouillon/vegetarian-bases/44/no-beef-base<br/><br/>Description<br/>A paste that produces a standard base with beef flavor that can be used in soups, gravies, and meat stocks.<br/>? <br/>Mashed Potato Topping<br/><br/>1. 6 cups peeled and chopped potatoes <br/>2. 2 teaspoons salt, plus salt to taste <br/>3. 4 tablespoons butter <br/>4. 1/2 cup sour cream <br/>5. 1/4-1/2 cup milk <br/>6. 1 -1 1/2 cup grated white cheddar cheese <br/>7. paprika <br/>Directions<br/><br/>1. Cook the corn according to the package instructions. Drain and set aside. Or just drain canned corn and set aside.<br/><br/>2. Start the potatoes for the topping. Put them in a large pot with enough water to cover them by a couple of inches. Add about 2 teaspoons of salt to the water. Bring the potatoes to a boil, uncovered, over high heat. Cook them for 10 to 13 minutes. Meanwhile, make the veggie meat filling. <br/>3. Melt the butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Sauté the onion and celery in the butter, stirring often, for about 5 to 6 minutes. <br/>4. Add the veggie meat to the pan and break it up with a wooden spoon as it browns. Stir the garlic and flour into the veggie meat mixture. Stir in the No Beef Base, then the canned tomatoes, then the herbs, reserved corn, and Worcestershire sauce. <br/><br/>5. Gently simmer the mixture for several minutes, partially covered, then add salt (1/4 teaspoon, give or take a little) and pepper to taste. Transfer the mixture to a large buttered casserole. Set the oven to 400°, and while it heats, check to see if your boiling potatoes are done. <br/>6. To test the potatoes, use a slotted spoon to transfer a cube from the water to a cutting board and allow it to cool for 30 seconds or so. If you can slice through the chunk easily with a butter knife, the potatoes are done. <br/><br/>7. Set a large colander in the sink and drain the potatoes in it (this job can generate a lot of steam, so it is best done by an adult or under adult supervision). Transfer the drained potatoes to a large mixing bowl and scatter the butter pieces over them. Spoon the sour cream here and there over the hot potatoes as well. Wait a bit for the butter to melt and the sour cream to warm so the ingredients will be easier to blend, then partially mash the potatoes with a hand masher. <br/><br/>8. Switch to an electric mixer set at medium speed and continue to mash, adding enough milk ?or cream--to make medium-soft mashed potatoes. Don't make them too soft, however; you want them to have some body. <br/>9. Salt the potatoes to taste and spoon them evenly over the filling. Sprinkle the cheese over the top, then sprinkle on some paprika (be sure to wash your hands right afterward so you don't accidentally rub any of the spice in your eyes). Bake the pie on the center oven rack for about 20 minutes, until the top is golden brown. Cool for several minutes before serving.<br/><br/>Notes: add shredded carrots [to the celery and onion part]; A1sauce as well or instead of Worcestershire

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

      I too added carrots in the onion and garlic, and celery mixture, also subbed french style green beans for corn , and also used a1 steak instead of worchestire, , otherwise all the same, and I got RAVE reviews from the fam bam! My kid even wanted a snack of it for later in the evening, and that NEVER happens with dinner! Very picky kids! Plus the dish is loaded with veggies, and they never even realized it, and come to think of it , neither did I!! thanks for this recipe! IT ROCKS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      I am savouring this dish as we speak...Excellent combinations of flavours...I am not a fan of Shepherd's Pie, but I would recommend this one regardless of the lack of lamb...Can't miss!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      Definately one of the world's best shepherd's pie. Thanks for the recipe and others would love to share it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      This was very promising on paper but did not turn out very good, let alone the best shepherd's pie in the world. When I need to make an authentic italian casserole (with all the tomatoes and cheese at the top) I'll make one thank you, but do not ruin an age old recipe with modifications that try to make it something it isn't. Shepherd's pie, as the name denotes is simple with minimal ingredients (think what a shepherd would have on hand) but a wonderful, wholesome flavour. All I can say is I am disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for World's Best Shepherd's Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (511 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 795.7
     
    Calories from Fat 411
    51%
    Total Fat 45.7 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 24.1 g
    120%
    Cholesterol 155.1 mg
    51%
    Sodium 1601.6 mg
    66%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.2 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 37.0 g
    74%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes