9 Reviews

Great base for the roux! I added sharp & mild cheddar, an Italian blend, a tad bit of Monterrey Jack, cajun seasoning, some andouille and caramelized onions. Turned out amazing, the kids licked the cheese from their plates! It would also be great with a milder blend of cheeses, chicken and broccoli. Such a versatile recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tonia R. August 19, 2015

I made this dish about two months ago for a Kickoff Summer BBQ. It got RAVE reviews. It was more decadent than most macaroni and cheese recipes. It is delicious. I would follow the recipe to the "T" the first time, then I would do variations (if you'd like). to the people who change this recipe and then state that it is not the best or not good...you're an idiot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brittrgib November 05, 2015

I feel badly writing this but I really didn't like this macaroni and cheese. The only thing I did differently was double the recipe. I liked the combination of cheeses and the garlic powder but there was not enough salt for me. In all honesty I rarely use much salt so putting in a whole teaspoon full made me worry but it simply wasn't enough. I disliked the texture as well. It wasn't grainy like some recipes but it wasn't really creamy either. This may be a good base to start off and adventure from, but I was looking for top notch right off the bat this time. It wasn't terrible, but it was far from the best.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DonnaMWHV October 24, 2015

I hate to be a Debbie Downer but I didn't love the recipe. The gruyere really took away from the taste to me, not added. The texture was okay but I wouldn't say this is the best macaroni and cheese I've ever had. I have to admit I didn't have mozza so I double the asiago in it's place.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simply.gould July 04, 2015

I didn't have all the various cheeses so I had to use a cheap old cheddar (2 cups) and half a small tub of cream cheese. The recipe is flexible and like a previous poster I had to use cajun seasonings, & powdered garlic. I like adding cauliflower to mine -- cooked and then shredded. This was very creamy and everything cooked up very nice. just what I wanted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heatherhealth2000 December 18, 2014

For some reason my husband doesn't like mac n cheese of any kind, but he actually said he really liked this! I used the cheeses that I had on hand, and used creole seasoning, but the consistency was perfect. I will definitely make this again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruth G. October 31, 2013

This was the best recipe! I took it to a family Easter get together. I tripled the recipe and there was not a bite left. I was worried when I put it in the oven because it was soupy. However, as the recipe state, it baked to perfection. It was so tasty and creamy. Numerous people wanted the recipe. So less than 3 days later, I am making it again to use my left over cheese. 5 Stars all the way!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dadkins8 April 01, 2013

Mac and Cheese kicked up a notch! Loved all the different cheeses! This one is right up there with the best for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Nataly* July 10, 2010

This is the kind of mac-n-cheese you want to be alone with. Nice little tomato on the side. Maybe you won't share it with anyone. Serves 8 people. I don't think so. It's mine, all MINE! So back off, sister....... PS go ahead, use full fat milk and cheese, I won't tell.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Secret Agent December 29, 2009
"world's Best" Macaroni & Cheese